Home > Jeep Wrangler > Jeep Wrangler Unlimited JK

Jeep Wrangler Unlimited JK Photo

Jeep Wrangler Unlimited JK

The Jeep Wrangler Unlimited was originally launched in 2004. It started out as a two-door Jeep with a wheelbase 10 inches longer than a typical Wrangler. The original two-door Unlimited was dubbed the "LJ." In 2007, Jeep revised the Unlimited and turned it into a four-door. This 4-door Jeep was dubbed the "JK." The longer wheelbase on the Jeep Unlimited provides more room for your passengers/cargo and a smoother ride (when compared to the shorter Wranglers).

Owner Reviews

Jeep Wrangler Unlimited JK

Avg. Owner Rating: (4.7 Stars)
Number of Reviews: 52 reviews

Write a review and share your thoughts with other Jeepers.

Jeep Wrangler Unlimited JK - Reviews

08 JKU worst Jeep
Date: Dec 09, 2018
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (California)
Vehicle: 2008 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited JK
Summary:
To start with the 3.8 us gutless and sucks gas, Trans was tolerable with a programmer, Death Wobble fixed with an adjustable Track Bar, The body is about as thin as a Suzuki Samurai, I traded for an 04 Rubicon didn't care for it but it had a sturdy body just to much electronic junk sold it now have a 92 YJ I love the simplicity , not for everyone I don't find the ride any different from the TJ with coils they are both lifted and short wheel base. both rides are rough, The JKU was smoother on the road , wider , longer wheelbase made for Soccer Moms and Mall Crawlers want a real Jeep get an older model

Strengths:
Rides on the highway better than my YJ

Weaknesses:
Weak body, gutless motor , sucks gas, prone to death wobble, thin weak body, Stability Control
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Typical Chrysler junk
Date: May 08, 2018
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Sarnia, Canada)
Vehicle: 2011 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited JK
Summary:
Bought new awlays babied.,at 45k needed pinion seal,rotors,pads,tires,,battery,2 radios. At 70k door wouldnt signal to computer so no interior lights it thought door was off.water leaks,wind leaks, ,gas pig,terrible handling,not much better than my rav4 offroad but can tow a bit more . No power,shakes rattle and rolls right to the service department. engine rattle every startup. eats rotors and tires. Handles like a yacht without any of the comfort. high insurance. In any wind its like a feather,never tracks straight always correcting the wheel. topless its even more irritating. It became my expensive to purchase and own enemy. I dumped the junkiest vehicle Ive ever had and although everything broken was repaired except wind,water leaks I still feel like I ripped the dealership off.

Strengths:
resale value,made chrsyler lots of money,looks tough,ground clearance,

Weaknesses:
dont know where to start,a deathtrap money pit.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Do not buy this vehicle
Date: Aug 21, 2016
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Wheeling, WV)
Vehicle: 2009 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited JK
Summary:
We bought this jeep in july 2009, it lives in the shop. We have replaced about everything on it. It wobbles, it stalls, it takes for ever to stop if you need to stop suddenly. It had to have a new transmission before I hit 80,000 miles. It is leaking something that 4 mechanics can't seem to find. It leaks water in the car at times from the air conditioner. The check engine lights been on forever, we've changed everything and its still on. it eats rotors. It's uncomfortable, and loud. it's had a few recalls. It oversteers, even after an alignment. Today the hot oil light came on. Then went off, who knows? The cd player screws up, and ejects disks. The dash lights all light up, then just go off. Oh' a can push the thing around in park, has a hard time shifting and there's so much more but to wrap it up, this is the worst peice of sh*t, I have ever owned, and payed so much for. I will NEVER buy another Jeep anything again!!!! Do not waste your time, the service after the sale is as wonderful as their vehicle.

Strengths:
has a lot of hype

Weaknesses:
everything
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Problems are Operator Error...
Date: Mar 08, 2015
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Oahu)
Vehicle: 2007 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited JK
Summary:
The whole lot of you like to complain about "why my Jeep is bad, and it's not my fault." Well read on.... I have owned many cars, in my days. And all cars are the same. Treat them nice, and they treat you nice. Screw around with it (new car), or if you don't do your homework on the used one that you buy, then....shame on yourself. If you do more complaining about a Jeep, than driving it....then you have no business driving a Jeep, or maybe even a car. You have to take responsibility for it. Death wobble, on a 2007 Jeep Wrangler Sahara....ok. Rotate your tires every 5K miles, and replace the Steering stabilizer, and replace your rotors (or shave them down) when getting your brakes done. Done deal. If you don't stay on top of your particular car (Jeep Wrangler) for servicing, it will eat you up. Jeeps are needy for attention, like most other cars. They just have needs in special areas, like most cars do. It's on the owner to know what they are. So....do your homework. I did. I had issues. I did my homework, and I fixed it, all by myself. Transmission problems? You're probably towing things too heavy, or going in and out of the Mexican border wayyyy too much, like I used to do. So....get it fixed. All cars have issues. AND, usually when owners have issues with their cars, they actually have ALOT more issues with themselves. So....look in the mirror. Duh!

Strengths:
2007 Jeep Wrangler Sahara Unlimited....tough, reliable, better gas mileage than every year before it. 22 mpg: highway; 17 mpg: city. saved me in two cars wrecks. Tough as hell. Tows RV Winnebagos out of soft sand, like it's cool. Looks great, if you take care of it.

Weaknesses:
Sensitive in the clutch, so don't ride the clutch pedal, a lot. Keep on top of your areas of service. Do your own home work. If you don't have the time or money....then don't buy a car. Your are not responsible to drive on the road, if you can't take responsibility for ALL actions that you do.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Great Vehicle
Date: Sep 06, 2014
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Windsor,Ontario, Canada)
Vehicle: 2009 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited JK
Summary:
I have 65000 km on my JK and I also had the wobble and I replaced both rotors and the steering damper and all is good. I love driving through big puddles but when those rotors are about one thousand degrees and you go through a puddle BAM they warp and I mean both of them so no more puddle jumping for me unless the rotors are cold. Oil consumption is not what I would like but I can't complain. Hope this helps anybody.

Strengths:
I go moose hunting north of Thunder Bay in Ontario, Canada and the logging roads there are pot hole ridden and my Jeep goes through them like butter.

Weaknesses:
I gave a 9 star rating because the motor could be a little more powerful.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
DEATH WABBLE
Date: Nov 24, 2012
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Maine)
Vehicle: 2008 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited JK
Summary:
I loved the design,the looks and room.
But the car is a DEATH trap waiting to happen!!!
Bought the car new. By 20.000 miles it started. Doing 65 on interstate 95 in the center lane. Drove over an expansion joint and the front end started shaking back and forth, wheels bouncing out of control. Stepped on the brakes to slow down and it GOT WORSE. Had to coast to 5mph before it stopped.
Since then the dealer has replaced the steering damper 3 times. My wife will not drive it. IT STILL HAPPENS!!
Chrysler cant fix it because it is a BAD design. They are just guessing.
Have to get rid of the car before it kills some one. Winter is coming and icy roads. Will not be able to control the car.

Strengths:
Seat belts

Weaknesses:
The front end.
DEATH WABBLE
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
chrysler quality is not there
Date: Aug 19, 2012
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (cudhay wi)
Vehicle: 2008 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited JK
Summary:
Got new in 2009 have been in the shop every 2 two months thank god for lifetime warranty 10 radios bad transfer case no heat sucks in wi. lots of electrical problems

Strengths:
lifetime warranty

Weaknesses:
bad repair technicians can not fix
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
worst vehicle ever bought
Date: Jul 09, 2012
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (puerto rico)
Vehicle: 2009 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited JK
Summary:
I bought a 2009jeep wrangler and its the worst i bought it because i though they were strong but i got trick all right all front end power steering shaft upper sterring shaft all you can mention this jeep has and bought it brand new i had it take to court so they can replace all problem that came from manufacture if chrysler nows about this problems do some thing about it dont make us pay for what you create WRONG.

Strengths:
Dont waste my time in jeep any more

Weaknesses:
Dont want to know about jeep.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
JEEP JK Un Rubicon
Date: May 07, 2012
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Baltimore,MD)
Vehicle: 2008 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited JK
Summary:
By far the Best SUV I've ever owned. I have 70,000 mi on my 08 Rubi with no issues to report. I've taken my Tank to Outer Banks,Florida,Jersey Shore,Adrondack Mts trails and Virginia trails with not a single issue!
I think alot depends on how the vehicle is being used by the person. I'm ex military and I was trained to love my vehicles as it was my spouse. My tank is PMCS every road trip and ready to Roll out when I alert her!!

It's a Jeep not a Escalade folks!!
Enjoy this summer and TOP Down 2012 is arounf the corner!!!
Enjoy!

Strengths:
Off Road capabilities- Sharp looks- Easy top breakdown -Surrond Sound is kiler!! Great 4 door for road trips or camping out!!
After market parts are everywhere!

Weaknesses:
Not for road trips through NYC or Wahington DC but My baby maintains and keeps up at 70,000mi
After maket prices could come down(A little)
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Uses too much oil!
Date: Mar 23, 2012
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Columbus, Ohio)
Vehicle: 2007 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited JK
Summary:
Bought this Jeep Sahara used 6 months ago. It has the V6 with a 6 speed manual trans. Only 23000 miles. Looked and drove like new. Although it is a beautiful vehicle, and is alot of fun in the summer with the top off, I have found that I am putting a quart of oil in the engine nearly ever 2 weeks. I am diligent about keeping oil changes current, so why is this nearly new vehicle eating oil like a car with 300000 miles.

Strengths:
Pretty to look at. Fun to drive on the beach on the Outer Banks.

Weaknesses:
Uses waaaaay too much oil. Engine is very underpowered for a V6!
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Don't waste your cash on this POS Chrysler
Date: Mar 06, 2012
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Colorado)
Vehicle: 2007 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited JK
Summary:
I purchased my JK Rubi in 2007. First sign that I made a mistake is the Jeep drowned from deflected water off the axle. The air box is in a position where water is channeled along the fender and directly into the box and then the engine. The Jeep has always had a shimmy at around 40 mph. At 39k miles the shimmy turned into death wobble. Now all my bushings are ruined, my ball joints are bad, and every suspension bolt hole is ovaled out (this is due to Chrysler putting 14mm bolts in 9/16 holes). So bottom line dont waste your money on these POSs avoid them like the plague!

Strengths:
Anything you can replace with aftermarket beefed up parts.

Weaknesses:
Everything with a Chrysler stamp on it. Incorrectly sized bolts on suspension components. Weak ball joints off of a passenger car. Poorly designed air intake. You will get death wobble!
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Too Much Oil
Date: Feb 01, 2012
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Kent, WA)
Vehicle: 2008 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited JK
Summary:
I've always loved Jeeps (well, wranglers and cherokee sports - old style). My 2008 JK Rubicon eats oil like I have a rig in my back yard. It started around 22,000 miles. Consuming/burning/pissing (noone knows where it goes) no smoke or build up around tail pipe. Using 0.95-1 qt per 1000 miles. I know, it's acceptable to Chrysler (and all manufacturers) to consume up to a qt per 1000 miles. My wallet says otherwise. Service every 5k, follow all dealership requests but they cannot tell me anything.

I'm surprised at all the complaints here but didn't see one complaint about that. Death wobble, sounds scary but don't have that problem. Someone mentioned the rear seat without a slight recline....oh my! I'm glad I don't have to ride back there. I hated school chairs when in school, I still hate them today. Otherwise, yeah, maybe not the toughest Jeep but still fun to drive.

Strengths:
It's a JEEP

Weaknesses:
OIl consumption.
Rear seat with NO adjustments
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Cheap junk, all looks and no substance.
Date: Dec 15, 2011
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Kelowna, BC, Canada)
Vehicle: 2009 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited JK
Summary:
I went from a 1990 Wrangler YJ to a 2009 Rocky Mountain Wrangler JK and what a big dissapointment. The 1990 Jeep was 10 times the quality and strength. The JK is a piece of junk. It is confining and claustrophobic, hard to get in and out of and almost impossible to get into the back seat or even reach to get things there.There is hardly any room in it to keep things. It shudders when idling and is very tiring to drive on the road since it seems to wander and over steer. I just had the alignment done and no change to that problem. The steering still feel loose and a worn tie road was just replaced The YJ was solid and easy to keep going straight down the road. Mine has 17 inch tires and that size for the Jeep is apparently uncommon and expensive to replace. I had to remove the back seat headrests so I could actually see out the rear window. Whenever I skid when coming to a sudden stop on gravel or ice, the vibrations come through the floor and gas pedal and it feels like the suspension is coming apart. The roof is noisy(hard top). If you come to a quick stop, the front end "snowplows" down and it takes a long distance to actually stop. Chrysler has pretty well destroyed the Jeep name with this garbage. You are wasting your money if you buy one of these vehicles and you will be very sad and disappointed like me.

Strengths:
Fair performance off road.

Weaknesses:
Claustrophobic, poor idle, poor handling, poor steering, poor braking, poor visibility, no room, poor fuel economy, uncomfortable, lousy tire size, poor servicing, no power.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
First year model JK, be ware...
Date: Nov 27, 2011
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Ft Meade, MD)
Vehicle: 2007 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited JK
Summary:
I had purchased the 2007 Jeep JK, Sahara in early 2007, when they first came out. I got the two wheel drive automatic, hard/soft top combo. I wasnt looking at off road. I simply wanted an easy convertible. (My go to meeting vehicle) (My Polaris 500 Sportsman was for off road)

I was excited to get this Jeep, since I passed up getting a TJ in 2003.

Mods:
(1) Cold Air Intake, don't remember the brand.
(2) Jet Power Module
(3) Nitrogen in the tires
(4) AMSOIL syn oil and diff oil.

I got 17/18 in the city and 22/24 on the highway.

Strengths:
(1) Appearance
(2) Hard/Soft top - convertible
(3) Fun driving

Weaknesses:
(1) Automatic transmission slipping at 15k miles, no codes popped and after the third time in a week I traded it in for a 2007 GMC 2500 Ext Cab.
(2) Roll Bar paint - not complete
(3) Dash and panes to hard and easy to scratch.
(4) Carpet cut short in area of floor board, so it showed cut carpet.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
I thought these things were supposed to be tough!!
Date: Nov 23, 2011
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Erie, PA)
Vehicle: 2008 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited JK
Summary:
I bought a 2008 Unlimited Rubicon. It's been off road twice, but not on tough trails or rocks, but on very gentle 4-wheel trails, which were really just narrow dirt roads. I have less than 50K on the odometer and I have already needed the tranny rebuilt, my stabilizer bar is bent and the vehicle can't be aligned, and it won't go into 4-wheel. What a piece of crap!!! And for all those posts that say stop crying and that this is a man's vehicle, that's total BS. I understand it's not a luxury SUV, but man, shouldn't I at least be able to drive it past 50,000 miles, or is that one of the "real man" things I don't understand?? You want to know what's not manly, having to drive my girlfriends bright orange VW Beetle while my "tough" Jeep is being worked on, again!!!

Strengths:
Fun to drive, when it is not in the shop

Weaknesses:
It's so called "toughness"
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
P.O.S
Date: Sep 14, 2011
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Winnipeg mb Canada )
Vehicle: 2010 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited JK
Summary:
Hello I'm a licensed auto technician and I got a 2010 jeep wrangler unlimited rubicon brand new with 3 km on the dial and I have had nothing but problems, for start I get the rubicon with the Dana 44 front axle but whey don't tell u is the axle tubes/housing is a Dana 33 and commonly brake because of that and comes out of ur pocket to fix. I have had the STD trans pop out of gear (fixed at the dealer but still happens),slave for the cluch blow, a left front axle blow on me (at the u/joint) causing a ball joint come out of the spindle and bending my spindle, (declined warranty due to a few scratches on a skid plate). I have the Leakey roof on the hard and soft top that they can't fix (took out the carpet so it docent mold up). Now I have a clicking coming from my transfer case (bad bearing internally witch I have diagnosed but the dealer refuses to see the problem, All with in 20000 km and 1 year. I paid 42000 with tax and got a caviler with 4x4, I would have been better with a caviler (parts are cheaper). As a experienced auto tech and a jk owner I STRONGLY suggest staying away from the suv. I want to love this jeep considering how much they are but I/you would have to be stupid too do so. I will argue my point to any jeep lover out there and win. The only thing to say is: they don't make them like they use too!!!!!!

Strengths:
Nice options when there working

Weaknesses:
Always in the shop, always a fight for warranty, bad customer relations, brand new suv but vary unreliable,
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
2011 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited - Rear Windshield blew up!
Date: Aug 15, 2011
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Ottawa, Ontario, Canada)
Vehicle: 2010 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited JK
Summary:
Overall a lovely vehicle.

First big rain... hard top started leaking!

Tonight the jeep was parked in the driveway and my husband was closing the rear window, half way down the rear window blew up! It totally shattered and it exploded over 15-20 feet either side. Pieces of glass ended up in my husband's fingers. By chance he was wearing sunglasses. This is a brand new vehicle. Purchased a few months ago only, never had the hard top removed. Starting to question its safety.

Strengths:
Look great and more stability than the 2-door.

Weaknesses:
Window's safety!
Leaking problems (hard top)
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
no prob
Date: Aug 08, 2011
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Texas)
Vehicle: 2008 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited JK
Summary:
perfect 08 no wobble 60000 mi 3" lift 33" km2 ,hardtop auto hd steering stabil. lower front rear track bar rx9000 shocks front rear xdm bumpers, winch

Strengths:
gets me every ware i want to go

Weaknesses:
needs more power
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Blown Engine/ Death wobble/ Crappy Customer Service
Date: Jun 26, 2011
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Paso Robles, CA)
Vehicle: 2007 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited JK
Summary:
I bought this Jeep for my family for daily driving not offroading and its been nothing but issues from about a month after i bought it. I've had electrical issue, death wobble caused by bad track bar bushing and it walloed out the holes in the brackets at 39,000 miles. Now at about 55,000 miles the motor went. After researching online i had found multiple cases similar to mine. All maintenance was always perfomed on time never missed an oil change. When i called chrysler about my engine i talked to multiple people and one of them even admitted that they knew of engine issues, and then the next guy told me that the previous guy didnt know what he was talking about and they havnt had any cases of people engines going prematurely, and that i was on my own for engine replacement.

Thats pretty awesome considering I have a 1987 Jeep YJ with almost 200,000 miles on it and never had an issue. When i bought the 2007 I was expecting a reliable vehicle that i could drive my family around in. Now im just gonna throw a chevy engine in there and never buy a Jeep again until they start caring about their customer service and quality control of their vehicles.

I deffinately do not reccomend any one to buy this vehicle until chrsyler figures their sh*t out.

STOP OUTSOURCING YOUR PRODUCTS CHRYSLER KEEP OUR PARTS IN THE USA YOU CHEAP BASTARDS

Strengths:
The looks and thats about it.

Weaknesses:
Crappy underpowered drivetrain meant for a minivan
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Worst built vehicle I have ever owned. DEATH WOBBLE!
Date: Jun 03, 2011
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Westchester, NY)
Vehicle: 2008 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited JK
Summary:
I wanted a Jeep for a long time and was stoked to finally get one. Things were okay for awhile, but soon I experienced death wobble and the steering also became loose, sloppy and clunky. I have literally replaced everything in the front end to no avail. Also tried multiple tire rotations, balance and alignments and still steers and rides horrid. Its so bad you don't want to take it anywhere. Come to find out Chrysler used very cheap parts in the front end. My ball joints were shot with just 10,000 miles of street driving! The vehicle no longer feels safe. Ive never owned a vehicle with such a bad front end. This will be my last Jeep/Chrysler product.

Strengths:
Looks great
Good off road

Weaknesses:
Death Wobble
Leaky top
Cheap quality
Poor engine/transmission
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Nothing but issues
Date: May 31, 2011
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (CT)
Vehicle: 2007 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited JK
Summary:
I always wanted a Jeep. The 4 door made it easy with a family. After 60,000 miles the engine went. Jeep wanted nothing to do with it. Have a friend that works there and said it was a known issue but they are not standing by it. A week after I put new engine in the transfer case went. I am very disappointed. Wanted to love car but I hate it.

Strengths:
Looks nice.

Weaknesses:
Always in the shop.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Best jeep I have ever had
Date: Apr 25, 2011
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Cali)
Vehicle: 2007 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited JK
Summary:
Best jeep I ever had no problems, has 30,000mi and never been in the shop except for regular maintenance no death wobble (because I get it realigned every 6 months), no leak in the hard top or soft top. The only thing that I hate is the seat always goes back down after a couple days of driving( no big deal).

Now has has 4 inch lift and 35 tires, had a small wobble only because a weight fell off the rim off roading.

Strengths:
Awesome at off roading, good styling

Weaknesses:
Seat goes down after a couple of days... That's it
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Very Pleased
Date: Apr 20, 2011
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Marion, MS)
Vehicle: 2007 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited JK
Summary:
I purchased my Jeep Wrangler Unlimited 4 door in early 2007. To this day I am still very much enjoying it. I have only put 600.00 in repairs into it and most of that was for labor. Sorry to read that others haven't had close to the great experiences that I have had with my jeep. I love this Jeep and it has never let me down or stranded. It does everything that I could ever want it to do.

Strengths:
Looks good and rides smoothly (with highway rated tires). Has just the right amount of power.

Weaknesses:
The only weakness I can think of is the straight up and down rear seat. Why doesn't it have the ability to recline somewhat. I noticed that there is plenty of clearance to allow it to recline. It is so uncomfortable for passengers. Maybe there is a reclining mechanism that can be purchased somewhere but I haven't been able to find it.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Biggest Mistake I Ever Made!!!!!!!
Date: Feb 28, 2011
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Shoemakersville, PA)
Vehicle: 2009 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited JK
Summary:
2009 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited X 4x4

There have been nothing but problems with this vehicle. Not even 2 months into having this brand new vehicle the problems started.

*Pops out of gear then grinds
*Total loss of clutch
*Death wobble
*Seat won't lock
*Roof zipper skips

The first time I took it in for the shifting problems, the fine men at Outten County Crysler in Hamberg PA told me that it was the way I was driving and that is why it pops out of gear. I may be a woman, but I have been driving stick shift since I was 13 years old! I know how to flippin shift right! So the problem persisted and got worse, getting to the point where it would SLAM out of gear and then loudly grind while immobilizing me in the middle of the road. I escaped with my life countless times, almost getting rear ended. This went on for months, but everytime I brought it in the men told me that nothing was wrong and blamed it on me.

Fast forward 7 months later to my birthday road trip. We were 12 hours away on a road trip when the Jeep decided to completely stop working- I could not get the clutch to engage at all, stranding us on an island that was only accessable by ferry! The huge flat bed tow truck had to ride the 3 1/2 hr ferry ride to get us! Nice birthday present! The dealership had to replace the entire clutch.

The gear problem still went unfixed. Two months later The gear problems got even worse and I took it to Outten again. They yet again tried to tell me nothing was wrong, but I flipped out and told them if I died from someone hitting me because of this faulty vehicle my blood will be on teir hands. I guess that woke them up because they actually looked at it. Turns out it was the shifter fork.

Next, I started getting the death wobble, again putting my life in danger. It happens all the time, sometimes on the highway going 75 mph.

This thing is a death trap!!!!!

Strengths:
Uhhh... I'm at a loss. Biggest mistake of my life purchasing this vehicle.

Weaknesses:
*SLAMS out of gear then grinds- faulty shifter fork
*Total loss of clutch engagement ability- bad clutch
*DEATH wobble- faulty steering damper

This vehicle is a DEATH TRAP! If you value your life and te life of the people who ride with you stay far far far away!!!!!!

The reason why you purchase a new vehicle is so that you do not have mechanical issues, right? Not the case here.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Its a Jeep
Date: Feb 22, 2011
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Sarasota, FL)
Vehicle: 2010 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited JK
Summary:
Anyone who expects a luxury car ride, a quiet cabin, and a race car engine should not even bother looking at a Jeep. If you want a fun SUV that can go anywhere with the top down and doors off then this is your ride. The JK is a fantastic vehicle for its purpose. It can get through thick mud, trails, dirt, and sand with no problem; but on the road it is still a darn Jeep Wrangler. The Wrangler hasn't changed in what it was meant to do, it just improved its capabilities with a longer wheel base, stronger axles, and greater articulation. To the people that complain about the steering stabilizer, death wobble, bump stops, seals, etc etc...get over it and go buy a prius. All the problems experienced can be fixed with no problem if you ask nicely at the dealership. If you want to eliminate the death wobble, get a dual steering stabilizer...not expensive. If you want a better AC; drop the top. If you want anything else; someone sells it.

Strengths:
It is an offroad beast even in its stock form. The 6 speed is easy to control through terrain. The ride is smooth for a wrangler. Bulletproof drivetrain.

Weaknesses:
Ummmm....I should've gotten power locks. It is annoying to slide my hand between the seat and the pillar to reach the rear lock. Other than my foresight, none!!!!
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
It's a Jeep
Date: Jan 09, 2011
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Texas)
Vehicle: 2010 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited JK
Summary:
I just bought a brand new Rubicon unlimited hard top in december 2010 and love it. This is my second Jeep wrangler. My last Jeep was a 2008 Rubicon 2 door and i did have problems like seat would not stay up,rear axle bent, water pump went out at 15k and the hard top leaked but liked it anyway. I come to a point that Jeep is crude but tough. The new Rubicon is full of plastic and cheap parts but the drive train is rock solid and that"s why i like it so much. You got to be a outdoors type person to own a Jeep and be prepared to replace almost everything with the aftermarket to make it your own special ride. Also you will get stared at by other people while you drive it and other Jeep owners will notice every new part you put on it so be friends and talk upgrades and where to go off roading..yes, you got to take your Jeep off the highway to experiance it"s real call.

Strengths:
Strong resell value.
Will take you anywhere and in any weather.
Rubicon model has dana44 front axle, 4 to 1 transfer case,locking front and rear axles.
Tons and tons of upgraded aftermarket parts.
Tops come off very easy..Three pieces.

Weaknesses:
Expensive for what you get. resell value makes up for it.
When parts break, replace it with stronger aftermarket parts.
Gas mileage is fair. average 19 mpg if kelp under 60 mph. I do.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
STOP CRYIN!!!
Date: Jan 04, 2011
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Tempe, AZ)
Vehicle: 2010 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited JK
Summary:
Sorry all you cry babies who should be drivin subaru's. A "jeep thing" is for real men who understand what that means. Remember what the jeep was designed to do? No jeep in history has ever been quiet or comfy AND good offroad. The new jk is as close as jeep needs to come to both worlds. I have been an avid off roader for the last 25 years and this vehicle is my favorite! I can bring my whole family and all our gear for the day! It is incredible where it will go offroad stock! My guess is most of these bad reviews are from people who consider a gravel driveway, offroad. Please refrain from staining an american icon with your ignorant lack of experience. Jeep makes an awsome vehicle. Please stop complaining, just understand what its purpose is.

Strengths:
Unsurpassed offroad capabilities. Stock this one will scare an experienced offroader.

Weaknesses:
Accessories are too expensive! Lets make a deal folks. Dont want to give more money to China!!
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Wish I had never bought this vehicle
Date: Dec 31, 2010
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Colorado)
Vehicle: 2008 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited JK
Summary:
Bought a 2008 four door and have had nothing but trouble with it. The drivers seat has the handle to raise and lower the height setting it never stays where I set it, constantly having to reset it. I've had it in threet imes and it still isn't fixed, they can't even tell me if it operates on air , tooth and gear or fluid. Next probem the drivers side top sticks up about a 1/2 an inch higher than it should, making the nosie level high. the seal between the roof and windshield melted and they had to replace it now the noise level is so bad I have to turn down the radio so I can hear the wife talking. It's still not fixed supossedly the parts are on order it's been two months.

Strengths:
I like the looks of the vehicle and the room and the way it handles the snow and off road. Bought it because they sell and service in mexico where I plan on retiring so I would have acar I can service there

Weaknesses:
Lousy customer service from the dealership one of them actually told me "it's a jeep thing get used to it." WTF does that mean jeep is s&$% and can't be fixed. Time to but a Toyota Landcruiser
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
shoot the engineers
Date: Dec 10, 2010
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Texas)
Vehicle: 2007 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited JK
Summary:
Ive owned my jeep jk x for a year now and its been a constant pain trying to figure out the front vibration. I have replaced the stabalyzer and i have rotated and balanced my tires multiple times. I have been replacing stock parts with after market parts trying to fix the problem. I like going off roading on the jeep but when I hit the hwy and I hit a bump it vibrates bad. The driver side door seal leaks water inside to the carpet. Dont buy a soft top they are loud, I had to buy an audio system to combat the sound. I have always wanted a jeep and I have driven Hummers around the globe so when i got out of the service I bought my Jeep. Bad mistake now I am paying piece by peace just trying to fix the front suspension. The engine does not have much power I replaced the air intake system with an after market one it helped out a little bit. The front bumper is plastic and so is the rear one so dont try to push a gate open with it, I found out the hard way.

Strengths:
Looks nice from the outside. it has good driving lights, works well of road.

Weaknesses:
leaks water in through the front door seals. it wobbles when u hit bumps at high speeds. doesn't have enough power. watch your self when you buy this vehicle it will be a project trying to fix it, and an expensive one too.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Death Wobble
Date: Dec 03, 2010
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Culpepr, Va)
Vehicle: 2008 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited JK
Summary:
I began to have the wobble at 36000 miles after I had the tires rotated. I was told that it was the belt in the tires and had to pay 650 to fix it. I told the Jeep dealer I didnt think it was the tires and had another tire place rotate , balance and change the so called badf tire out with the spare. Since that I was able to drive an additional 15000 more miles with out the wobble during this time I had tires rotated 2x andnow at 60.000 the wobble is back. I called Crysler( no help) they said they would trimburse me ( we all know how that will go). Instead I have ordered an upgrade to the steering damper for 140 dollars because after taking ir back for the second time they said it would cost 250 to do it at jeep. No help anywhere, as usuall the car industry sold it but wont back there product. I have since talked to 2 other people having the same problem, called NHTSA and reported , called attorney general as well as Goodyear. I feel we have to all speak up because Crysler is stealing once again from good people. I will never buy another product made by Crysler. Horrible experience from the beginning

Strengths:
Its supposedly a JEEP

Weaknesses:
just about everything poor design crappy parts
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Jeep JK Death Wobble
Date: Oct 25, 2010
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Parkersburg, WV)
Vehicle: 2007 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited JK
Summary:
Love my Jeep Wrangler Unlimited X, not a power house but has always got me to where I have needed to go. Have had a few minimal problems, but easily corrected.

Strengths:
Goes great in the snow even in 2WD. Plenty of room for the wife and 2 kids. Has been an all around good vehicle.

Weaknesses:
Had Death Wobble on my 07 JK around 12000 miles, purchased new steering stabilizer but it just masked the real problem. Found out alot of cases of this is caused by the front lower trac bar bolt becoming loose. Check for play in the trac bar by having someone turn the stearing wheel and watch for play. Torque bolts to 125-130 ft pounds. The factory steering stabilizer did suck though!! Also the door hinges is made of an alloy which oxidizes and makes the paint on them bubble. Expect to get zero help from the dealer on most issues unless your jeep is out of warrantee and they can make money. IMO when you have to replace a part, go with a good aftermarket upgrade instead of a cheaply made overpriced factory part, and install the part yourself.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
One of the first JK's
Date: Sep 14, 2010
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Lawrence, KS)
Veh 500 Internal Server Error

Internal Server Error

The server encountered an internal error or misconfiguration and was unable to complete your request.

Please contact the server administrator to inform of the time the error occurred and of anything you might have done that may have caused the error.

More information about this error may be available in the server error log.


Web Server at jeepreviews.com