Home > Jeep Cherokee > Jeep Cherokee XJ

Jeep Cherokee XJ Photo

Jeep Cherokee XJ

The Jeep Cherokee XJ mid-sized sport utility vehicle (SUV) was produced from 1984-2001. In 2002, the Jeep Cherokee XJ was discontinued to make room for the introduction of the Jeep Liberty.

Owner Reviews

Jeep Cherokee XJ

Avg. Owner Rating: (9.4 Stars)
Number of Reviews: 28 reviews

Write a review and share your thoughts with other Jeepers.

Jeep Cherokee XJ - Reviews

XJ Sport
Date: Mar 03, 2012
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Richland Center, WI)
Vehicle: 1993 Jeep Cherokee XJ
Summary:
I've had my 93 XJ for 4 years now, just one of 4 I've owned. It has the AX-15 5 speed and 4.0L H.O that will get 1st, 2nd, and bark 3rd. It's the most powerful vehicle I've ever owned. It's a rust bucket, but that's the best thing. People say "what a pos" but when I go to challenge them offroad or in a race (private road) I can make them wish they never said it was a pos. It's stock everything and will go places that you wouldn't even believe are possible. It's got a very tight turning radius, which is amazing for turning around after you realize you've missed your turn on a small county road. I could go on forever talking about how amazing these things are, but I'd rather go outside and make some new trails.

Strengths:
It has the best motor/trans combo ever. It's easy on fuel. It'll go anywhere, and you can even get some respect by pulling others out that are modded to the max. These vehicles are so easy to work on.

Weaknesses:
Front end suspension; every jeep I've owned has had the deathshake at some point. Cheap brake lines that rust quickly.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Police Auction Jeep 6cyl
Date: Dec 13, 2011
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (New London, CT)
Vehicle: 1995 Jeep Cherokee XJ
Summary:
Second jeep I bought (Completely obliterated the first). Awesome truck. When you think of a Cherokee, you think of a big fat SUV, but really it's quite small. It's about the length of my old camry, and about half a head shorter than me (I'm 5'10"). But it's roomy inside, enough to comfortably fold the seat down and sleep in, and it still gives you that high-up feeling that people like when driving a truck.

See, the Cherokee is what I think of as one of the one of the only real Sport Utility Vehicles. The design is very simple and minimalistic, the 4x4 shifter is actually a shifter that takes a good amount of arm-strength to force into gear, and it's a straight 6 (at least mine is) which gives you that tire-spinning low-end torque. It makes strange whining noises like old factory machinery and handles more like a giant ATV than an actual car, which at first makes you think there's something wrong with it but after awhile driving anything else is extremely disappointing.

That all said, you definitely have to know how to turn a wrench to hold onto a Cherokee. The engines and automatic transmissions are solid, never have to really worry about them. More abused ones tend to rust in strange areas though (product of hard 4-wheeling in wet areas), the cooling systems are problematic, and a front end job after 15 years isn't a bad idea. The front end is built sort of as the minimal about to get by. Nice for servicing and if you want to do a lift, but at some point they'll all need a bit of maintenance.

Strengths:
Simple. Very generic style truck.
Built to actually 4x4 and lift and tow stuff
Easy to work on and create your own stuff rather than rely on obtaining OEM parts
Ridiculous amount of low-end power. Awesome to drive in-town.
People will buy them in almost any condition whole
Parts are stupid easy to find, and tutorials to do almost anything are online.
At least one employee at your local autoparts store will own one. Seriously, there's always one parked out front of every store.
Fun to customize. Enough aftermarket parts to make them appear unique.
Rear hatch & fold-down seats
Top-post batteries, no side-post bolt-stripping BS.
You can fit under it without jacking it up
Jacks won't dent up/destroy the unibody frame-ish rails
REAL 4-wheel drive. Ability to muscle it into 2wd or 4wd unlike electric switches which can get stuck in one or the other
Auto trans lasts forever, even when I'm behind the wheel
That distinct Cherokee engine starting & running noise.
Cherokee only has 2 letters in it. "XJ". Makes finding stuff online really easy.
Has 8 places to install speakers into, though it only comes with 4 usually.
SINGLE DIM STEREO DECK. No special-ordering stereo decks or installing finicky plastic adapters that make it look... stupid.
Rear wiper option, and easy to add-on if yours didn't come with it
Probably about 90% of the parts from models 1984-1996 are interchangeable, and later years aren't really that different either.
Total chick magnet. All girls love Jeeps.
If you hear a bad noise, it's not actually broken. It just does that.
Old-school armrests with the handles you can actually hold onto when you think you're about to die.
It looks better dirty

Weaknesses:
Older front end can have death wobble, but they're extremely easy to work on compared to other trucks. Lots of room and minimal specialty tools.

Gas mileage, I get around 15 but I'm an extremely obnoxious driver

Cup holders have to be ordered from dealership or online. You can, however, get up to 4 mounted to the center console (above e-brake and right side of shifter).

No full-size spare, at least in either of mine. It's also not a bad idea to re-locate the spare to outside the hatch because it takes up a lot of room in the cargo area.

Odd stock tire size. Hard to find used ones in salvage yards when you're broke, but you shouldn't be putting used tires on 4wd vehicles anyway.

Not something they could anticipate in 1995, but there's not much room between the dash and the windshield. Difficult to find a good place for a GPS

The differentials don't have much room from the ground stock. Needs to be lifted for serious 4x4-ing, but for some (like me) that's just a good excuse to start a project.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Jeep love
Date: Sep 03, 2011
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Rogers, KY)
Vehicle: 1997 Jeep Cherokee XJ
Summary:
I've got 3000000 + miles on her an she just dont quit shes about all stock iv put it through mud up ta the doorhandles. Its went up almost virtical hills iv had it sence i was 15 so i have put a couple dents in her but still no RUST it is the best an i will have it for the rest of my life i might put a 3 in lit on her one day tho

Strengths:
i just wont stop great power, performance, handling, it would be the best starter vehicle for a new offroader.

Weaknesses:
the rear springs hav sagged a bit. i cant keep a un cracked grill in it but the only two weaknesses it has is trees and dear
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Jeep Cherokee XJ forever
Date: Aug 31, 2011
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Surrey, B.C. Canada)
Vehicle: 1993 Jeep Cherokee XJ
Summary:
I have owned my 1993 Jeep Cherokee Sport,since new,took it right out of the showroom,4.0 litre high output 6 cylinder,215,000 kms,never any rust problems,still the shiny white paint,mint grey interior,automatic,4x4 of course,good on gas,just takes regular service,and care,and this is my third Cherokee that I have owned,and if they still made the 1993 XJ stle,I would buy one in an instant.It has never given me any problems,other than brakes,shocks,and that is it.I love my four door XJ,and I will never part with it,and I get comments,and offers to sell it all the time.I always go on holidays down to California,and Arizona,and my Cherokee has never let me down.***Long live the Cherokee XJ!!!

Strengths:
Well bulit,never any rust problems,good gas economy,good torque,a very safe,reliable SUV,and I only wish they still made the Cherokee XJ,more so,the 1993 style.I will never part with my 1993 Cherokee Sport!!!

Weaknesses:
I can not think of any form of a weakness at this time,as my Cherokee has never given me any concerns,and has never cost me any big repair bills,it just takes regular service,and look after it,and it will look after you.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
84 XJ
Date: Aug 11, 2011
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Lewistown, Pennsylvania)
Vehicle: 1984 Jeep Cherokee XJ
Summary:
i bought my 84 xj last year with 132k miles. pretty good miles for the year of it. im currently thinking of a 4 1/2" lift, bigger tires, bigger engine, better axles. but i would like to kno wat all vehicles i can get an axle out of and which is the best axle. for offroad use.

Strengths:
not to many anymore, shes getting old

Weaknesses:
2.5 I4
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
1995 xj country, pristine condition
Date: Mar 06, 2011
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Murray, Kentucky)
Vehicle: 1995 Jeep Cherokee XJ
Summary:
My parents just let me have the '95 xj country white /gold 4l i6 88k, pristine condition, garage kept, non smoker, no stains, cloth seats, power everything. I was never allowed to play around it as a kid. I remember the 'rents were on their way to the dealership to trade the jag for a bonneville but my mom saw the jeep and fell in love, she drove it for years. and not being a very tall woman, she felt very high up and safe driving it....... but now its mine, and im 6'4 and am adjusting to the conditions. (just sold my 01 crown vicky).

I'm wanting to add a 2" lift using shock spacers and leaf spacers. I dont plan to do any offroading but I do like the lift, probably even keep stock wheels.

Strengths:
lots of cargo room!, maybe even an xr100r minus front tire!.

Weaknesses:
its so tempting to go offroading.( seriously,)
only one cigg lighter
hard to remove rear rack speaker housing and dome light.
ive seen these things roll down 50ft hills on every axis, and after a few minutes, be up and running again.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Best truck ever...
Date: Jan 07, 2011
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (New Fairfield, CT)
Vehicle: 1994 Jeep Cherokee XJ
Summary:
Bought her for $850, best money I ever spent. I bought her with 129K and had to replace clutch, but otherwise she impresses me more and more each day. Wow. I just got in from killer snow and passed several all wheel drive vehicles that I know were worth way more than my rust bucket that managed along without any trouble whatsoever.

Strengths:
Duuuuuuuuuurable Engine
Vehicle Size
Off-road Handling
5 Speed
No Power anything! So no electrical problems, ever!
2Dr, So the extended rear glass is very awesome for my Jurassic trip with my mutt :)

Weaknesses:
Ancient Design
No Cupholder, I got good at holding the cup and operating stick with same hand, part of charm of driving her I guess...
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
2.5 Liter Review
Date: Oct 27, 2010
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Yale, MI)
Vehicle: 1997 Jeep Cherokee XJ
Summary:
The Jeep Cherokee I own is the very first car I have ever owned. (I'm 16.) It is a very reliable vehicle, and I have never had an issue with it starting. I bought it out of a repo lot, and it barely ran. Later, on tearing into the engine, I found that it had snapped a push rod, so only three of the four cylinders were really running at top condition. I had compression tested it (we thought it might have a hole in one of the pistons) so i had to take the spark plugs out and turn over the engine. Even with only one of the four spark plugs in, she started and RAN! The 2.5L engine is a BEAST! The only real problem I have noticed with it is that it doesn't have a lot of get up and go, but I am in the process of getting an electric fan, new air intake, and a performance exhaust that promises to give it the power that it is currently lacking.

Strengths:
Unstoppable.
Comfortable ride.
Easy to work on.
CHEAP!

Weaknesses:
2.5L doesn't provide enough power stock.
Factory suspension definately needs to be replaced.
Stock lights can definately use some improvements(buy aftermarket stuff!)
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Never knew what I was missing
Date: Oct 19, 2010
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Nashville, TN)
Vehicle: 1995 Jeep Cherokee XJ
Summary:
This is by far the best vehicle I have ever owned. I bought it from a friend to help them out. I have put some money in minor repairs to it because it had been neglected from previous owner. Since then I have fell in love with my jeep and would not trade it for anything in the world.

Strengths:
Reliable, runs great, excellent on gas, good personal or family vehicle and the things you can do with it are endless. It is a total investment fixing one up instead of a liability.

Weaknesses:
Need's a cup holder
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Breaking but not broken
Date: Oct 16, 2010
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Haven Kansas )
Vehicle: 1995 Jeep Cherokee XJ
Summary:
I got my xj last year after selling my Malibu maxi. Great car too by the way. Anywho. I had an 01 yj v8 but no 4x4 and had a blast. Honestly my fav out of all my cars and trucks I've had until now. I got my 95 xj with 215k and with only replacing a few minor things she runs good as new. She is how ever turning into a rust heap. My radiator is leaking and it still is running. My brake lines are rusted and leak but it still stops. It has a few needed repairs as of right now. The leafs need changing the radiator needs replacing and the brake lines are honestly just about it. It still will turn the tires over if I want it to and will go thru anything I've put it against here in rural kansas

Strengths:
4.0 is stout. Amazing get up and go. Surprisingly fuel efficient (20-23). Can not brake it. Takes what you can dish out and begs for more

Weaknesses:
Creature comforts are lacking (cup holders power windows but it's a jeep who needs it). Rust is a growing issue.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
1998 Jeep XJ Sport
Date: Oct 07, 2010
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (New Haven, CT)
Vehicle: 1998 Jeep Cherokee XJ
Summary:
I bought my 1998 XJ Sport (Forest Green) in August of 2000 and it was THEE best vehicle I have ever owned. I live in southern New England where the weather is, shall we say, ever changing - hot, cold, humid, rainy, snowy, icy - you name it, we see it. I have driven a number of SUVs for comparison and came to the same conclusion over and over - The Jeep XJ design, while utilitarian, is one of the best all around vehicles that Chrysler has ever put out - specifically the 4.0L Inline 6 cylinder engine. While it is common misnomer to call it a "straight 6", it is actually an "inline 6" that puts out an incredible amount of low-end torque. The engine was easy to work on and parts were readily available. The gas mileage for a 6 cylinder "truck" was not bad - I used to get about 19 around town and 22 highway commuting back and forth to Hartford. The handling was adequate and the turning radius fantastic. The interior room was bigger than my first apartment .

I had only 2 gripes about my Cherokee - 1) The back seat not having a "split" (50/50 or 60/40) when folding down and 2) the SEVERE lack of interior storage space of any kind - You got the center console and that was about it. No pockets, no compartments, no trays, no integrated door slots - I found that odd for an automobile built for both "grocery getting" and outdoor people.

As you probably noticed, I have said "had" and "was" in my post. Sadly, I had to give my old girl up in March of 2010. I drove her for almost 10 years with nary a problem - I believe in that time I changed a water pump which are known to go. Other than routine maintenance - greasing joints, oil/air/filter changes, spark plugs and rotor/cap replacement, brake pads and 1 set of shocks, she was good to go.

My wife wanted a truck after our horrible experience with a Chrysler Pacifica - (garbage, don't even think of getting one) - And we picked up a 2006 Grand Cherokee Laredo. Decent, has the nice styling - but the 3.7L 6 cylinder doesn't have that "feel" that the XJ had - That jump of torque when you get on the gas is lacking in the newer 3.7's.

Anybody reading this review, I can personally tell you that the 1997 - 2001 Cherokee XJ's are some of the finest automobiles ever built - tough, rugged, reliable and require just basic maintenance. You can thank Wolfgang Bernhard, former CEO of Mercedes, for killing the Cherokee line (and giving us the Liberty) when Daimler-Benz merged with Chrysler back in 2000.

Long live the XJ!

Strengths:
Engine
Versatility
Interior Space
Functionality
Quality
Design

Weaknesses:
Interior Compartments Lacking
No Bench Seat Split
Braking could be improved
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
16 Years, Still Kicking Ass!
Date: Sep 09, 2010
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Warwick, RI)
Vehicle: 1994 Jeep Cherokee XJ
Summary:
We bought our 1994 Jeep Cherokee XJ in 2003. My mom 53, Loves it. Sadly we can't get it over from California to Rhode Island. But with 2 Wheel Drive we used to have fun on the freeway. My mom loves our Jeep, Which is a standard. So she loves to piss guys off weavng in and out of traffic. All she had to do is put her foot o the gas and we were like a freaking time machine. One guy stopped wit his mouth open looking amazed. And I just laughed, There is much more to alot of the stories but I will cut it here. Jeeps are amazing cars. A real car you drive. Not some luxury vehicle that does everything for you. Jeep should start making XJ's again. Jeep for the win!

Strengths:
4.0 Litre Engine
16 Years old and still kicking ass.
Put your foot on te gas and say bye bye to Nissans and Hondas.
Great Offroading vehicle.
Standard Trans.
Its just a tough car, That can take a beating!

Weaknesses:
No weaknesses in any way.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
XJ: A Well Rounded Off Road Vehicle
Date: Aug 26, 2010
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (South Carolina)
Vehicle: 1998 Jeep Cherokee XJ
Summary:
Due to the relatively low cost of ownership as well as legendary Jeep off road capabilities, the Jeep Cherokee, or XJ, still remains one of the most popular off road vehicles in use today.

From mild to wild the XJ has proven itself a worthy trail vehicle on all types of terrain. With minimal modifications such as a set of locking differentials and the appropriate tires, the XJ is capable of traveling far off the beaten path.

Or, if you prefer, the XJ can be a very successful rock crawler -as seen in the large number of XJs that continue to conquer Moab, and the Rubicon Trail -a Jeep namesake.

With over two million XJs produced from 1984-2001, there are many examples to be had, some good, and some bad. Be sure to do your research before settling on what appears to be a good deal. Even though the XJ is known for its resilience, it is still susceptible to owner neglect. If you are unsure, have a reputable repair shop look over your prospective Jeep before you commit to buying it. If it checks out, buy it, and enjoy!

Strengths:
-Extensive aftermarket support
-Tried and true drivetrain
-Live axle front and rear
-Four doors
-Large cargo area for gear storage
-Relatively easy to service/repair
-Repair parts are readily available
-Low cost of ownership
-Least expensive path to Jeep ownership

Weaknesses:
-Absence of locking differentials
-D44 only available in select older models
-Rear drum brakes (ZJ rear discs brakes are easily retrofitted)
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Absolute legend of a thing - Jeep Cherokee Sport
Date: Jul 21, 2010
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Doha, Qatar)
Vehicle: 1998 Jeep Cherokee XJ
Summary:
What a car just purchased it in November 2009 for 15,000 ryals (3000 pound) with only 231,000 km's on the clock and I love it. Putting my foot down it just shoots off and now it still does 185km/ph ........amazing.

I live/work in Qatar so I wanted an offroader as well and the sand here is some of the softest in the world, stuck on some dunlop and nothing can stop you people this has the go in 4-high to get through anything and 4-low can get to marshy places even fj's, pajeros and pathfinders cant get too .......here in Qatar it is rated high up there with the Patrols and Land Cruiser.......but only the Sport model, by stock the thing has 100bhp more than the classics!!!

Strengths:
can go anywhere
air-conditioning
the fun you can have in 2-wheel drive round corners
putting your foot down and waving goodbye to brand new cars

Weaknesses:
only thing ive had to change was the brake pads and have the brake discs skimmed
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Kick ass!
Date: Jun 27, 2010
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (WI)
Vehicle: 1999 Jeep Cherokee XJ
Summary:
Bought mine brand new in 99. have had only had to replace a fuel pump. Thing runs great. Goes through more stock than most lifted and modded trucks could and the 4.0 is a big ol ball of torque. great vehicle

Strengths:
Strong body
4.0
lots of torque
suspension
everything else

Weaknesses:
very little door rust
electrical is kind of bleh
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
12 years and still just like new
Date: Jun 07, 2010
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (PEI, Canada)
Vehicle: 1998 Jeep Cherokee XJ
Summary:
I bought my XJ new in 1998. I still have it because there's nothing out there to replace it with. It has less rust than many three year old cars and the gorgeous 4.0 straight six humms like new - I change the oil once a year and just got a new starter, but that's about all. The new Cherokee is nothing at all like the old XJ. Would buy a new XJ if they were made today.

Strengths:
Tows 5000lbs (I pulled 9000 with it once), torquey engine, loads of cargo space, nothing has broken in 12 years, almost no rust.

Weaknesses:
They don't make them any more!
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
A Cherokee never dies
Date: Nov 28, 2009
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Auburn, Maine)
Vehicle: 1991 Jeep Cherokee XJ
Summary:
The wife and I bought our 91 five years ago for $250.00! The guy that had it got it from our local high school shop they had the 4.0 proffesionally rebuilt from Napa! The down falls are our suspension is crap and I'm constatly repairing the rust!

Strengths:
our 4.0 high output / the 4 speed automatic aw-4

Weaknesses:
rust
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Jeep cherokee
Date: Aug 23, 2009
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Waconia, MN)
Vehicle: 1991 Jeep Cherokee XJ
Summary:
I love my jeep. I got mine for free because it wasnt running. Spent one summer on it and now is my daily driver. It has over 300,000 miles and still runs great. I am a teenage boy and pound the pedal and go off road whenever I can, but it never quits. It is truely amazing off road. I have gone through mud holes with ease that lifted trucks get stuck in. My stock cherokee which I have 1000 bucks in puts the expensive 4x4s to shame. I havent gotten it stuck yet! and it still gets almost 20mpg. Next step a lift kit and bigger tires.

Strengths:
strong, torky engine that cant die
good mpg
awesome in mud and off road.
also has good alternater, i have over 10 extra off road lights and it powers them great.
drives nice, my sister is learning how to drive with it.
i could go on for days...

Weaknesses:
mine didnt come with a cup holder. haha
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
A born sleeper
Date: Aug 04, 2009
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Richland, WA)
Vehicle: 1998 Jeep Cherokee XJ
Summary:
I always thought the Cherokee was as stupid vehicle when I was growing up. Shows you what I knew -- not much. When I heard "Jeep" I only thought "Wrangler" or "CJ."

Anyway, a few years ago, my brother had a primo chili red 98 Cherokee Sport which I drove once or twice. I think it was about that time I started realizing how good of an all-around vehicle they are. After kicking myself for not buying it from him when he sold it, I went on the hunt. There weren't too many for sale locally at the time, but I found one eventually. A 98 Forest Service surplus XJ which already had a heavy duty cargo cage, fuel tank skid plate, limited slip rear differential, radio mounts, only 90k miles, and was in very good condition. Kind of steep at $5800 for an XJ, but cheaper than the newer girlier SUV's that don't do squat off-road.

Four years and several thousand dollars of fun upgrades later, I still think it's one of the absolute best all around vehicles you can get, especially for the money. Some serious bang for your buck. Not a perfect vehicle by any means, but it's one of those things that's just zen.

Even though I love my XJ, I am usually always looking at other SUV's to see what they have to offer. So far, the only other vehicles I would even consider are the Rubicon, FJ, or Xterra Offroad. Since they are many times more than my XJ cost me, I'm holding. I even rented a new Ford Mustang for a weekend just for the heck of it, but actually missed driving my Cherokee.

In fact, a little while after I got my XJ, my brother flew all the way to Utah to buy a nice low miles 2001 XJ because he regretted selling his 98 XJ sport! And he's had more and newer vehicles of all stripes than I will ever have.

I was mad when I heard Jeep was discontinuing the XJ for the Liberty. Now the only real Jeep left in the new line-up is the Wrangler. Get a nicely used Cherokee while you still can.

Strengths:
Light weight.
Torquey, low maintenance, bulletproof motor -- better than the new Jeeps.
Solid axles.
Extremely easy to find upgrades and parts.
Clean design inside and out (3rd generation anyway).
Decent fuel economy if you don't go crazy on tire size or gear ratios.
Tight turning radius.
Very stable handling, not pitchy or tipsy like other SUV's.
Great visibility.
Nice ABS brakes, even for only having disc in front.
Plenty of room to work in engine bay.
Clean, not over-done design.
The quintessential SUV -- sport and utility, not just sport.
As-is a great all-around, a few mods turns it into a serious off-roader. Like a previous reviewer said, it's a great base vehicle.

Weaknesses:
Small rear doors
Slip-yoke drive shaft design.
Should have had Dana 44 axles.
Could have a bit stronger automatic transmission.
Needs a little bit wider wheel wells.
Rear brakes are not disc.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Best ever
Date: Aug 03, 2009
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Southern WV)
Vehicle: 2001 Jeep Cherokee XJ
Summary:
I have owned a lot of vehicles over the years but my Cherokees have been the best. A 1996, 1998, 2000, and a 2001 that I have now. I hang on to it because it is the last year they were made. 130,000 miles and it runs perfect. My son is turning 16 and I bought him a 2001 with 60,000 original miles to get him started. If all American made vehicles were as good as the Cherokee then the imports would have to worry.

Strengths:
My 5-speed gets great mileage (low to mid 20's). My sons automatic not quite that good. Reliable and versatile. Hunting, fishing, getting groceries, on road, off road, these things can do it all.

Weaknesses:
No complaints whatsoever.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Best Vehicle I Have EVER Owned
Date: May 12, 2009
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Corozal Bay Resort)
Vehicle: 1994 Jeep Cherokee XJ
Summary:
I friend let me have this Jeep along with 2 Ford Explorer to rent out for my hotel guests. I had the vehicles in use for 1 year. The Explorers were constantly broken down. The Jeep Cherokee never broke down. Anyway my buddy decided to get out of the auto rental business and sell vehicles instead. He was giving my the Explorers dirt cheap but I did not want them. I bought the Jeep Cherokee in a second. Now 4 years later it is still going. The only problem I have had was the brushes wearing out in the starter. This is one tough ride.

I will now give my Jeep a treat as a reward. New paint job, garvin roof rack, arb bull bumpers/winch, Garvin rear bumper with tire carrier, fender flares, off road lights and all the other goodies/toys to make it look even meaner.

Strengths:
LOTS of power.
Goes and goes and goes and goes.....

Weaknesses:
Back seat is tight for adults.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
XJ fan
Date: Jan 23, 2009
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Seattle, WA)
Vehicle: 1998 Jeep Cherokee XJ
Summary:
My 1998 cherokee classic is my 3rd jeep. My first was the OG 1984 2 door manual, got it for 700 dollars with 250 thousand miles, gave it to my brother for a bike, he drove it till it died. Second was a 1997 sport, bought it for 5500 in Alaska with 66000 miles drove it down the ALCAN highway in winter (crazy drive). Sold that to my brother who drove it back to the arctic circle and the top of the world highway, still runs like a dream. After 5 months without a jeep I had to get another. Got this one with 125000 miles for 3500 dollars, had to replace the exhaust and catalytic converter, still need new shock. Obviously I have a little experience with the XJ I have always kept stock jeeps (upgrade if you can) yet the only thing that has ever stopped me is snow and only certain types of snow. In my oppinion the jeep Xj is the best base vehicle available for the money. With some basic upgrades (air intake, gearing, lockers, suspension) this vehicle is the best you can buy without spending tens of thousands.

Strengths:
Visibility, small and light, cheap to fix, cheap to upgrade.

Weaknesses:
Small back seat, problems with power windows and locks
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
I want seconds.
Date: Jan 15, 2009
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Acton, ME)
Vehicle: 1995 Jeep Cherokee XJ
Summary:
I got my first jeep, a cherokee sport, for free. It was awesome and about 3 and a half years ago when i got rid of it i missed it instantly. I did alot of light wheeling with it and the only complaint i have is that its thirsty. But im currently looking for a second cherokee, and im going to look at it tomorrow. Wish me luck.

Strengths:
went everywhere i pointed it. strong motor. awesome 4 wheel drive. best cup holders ive ever had.

Weaknesses:
exhaust??? thats the only thing we had to replace.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Great ride
Date: Oct 02, 2008
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Shepherd, TX)
Vehicle: 1989 Jeep Cherokee XJ
Summary:
I have had my xj for a year now an have been stuck twice an rolled it once. It is a kick ass ride. I am hard on it a it has never let me down the first time I got stuck was cause I ran out of gas. The second time I got high centered. When I rolled it I was tryin to climb up a steep river bed an caught some roots withe the rear tires. But other than that shes got me to hell an back

Strengths:
4.0 motor has lots of power, handles tight spaces well,

Weaknesses:
needs lower gears
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
JEEPS ROCK
Date: Dec 26, 2007
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Boston,MA)
Vehicle: 1998 Jeep Cherokee XJ
Summary:
Well i've owned a Jeep Cherokee for a few years now and I can't say I have any problems with it.Its an outstanding little Jeep especially for what you pay for them, I think I paid about 4,000 for mine which looking back was a pretty good price. I have owned a JEEP wrangler and in my opinion the cherokee is much better than the wrangler simply because the cherokee has more intirior room.if anyone were to ask me wheather or not a jeep cherokee was a good investment or not i would tell them that the jeep cherokee was probly the best vehicle to get the most out of their money.

Strengths:
1.its just an awesome vehicle
2.it rides great
3.mods are on the cheap side
4.parts are easy to come by
5.its just fun to take it 4 wheeling

Weaknesses:
1.it can get pretty expensive to feedd the JEEP
2.acceloration is kind of on the slow side
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Cockroach tough jeep
Date: Jul 30, 2007
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (New Port Richey, FL)
Vehicle: 1998 Jeep Cherokee XJ
Summary:
I recently purchased a 1998 Jeep Cherokee 4x4 as my first car. It is the second Jeep Cherokee that my family has owned, The first met its end when it was side swiped by a van on my way to school. Both myself and my sister(she was the driver at the time) walked out without a single scratch and a sore backs. Said Chero suffered meeting with the back of a car, took out a large road sign before going air born into a ditch on the side of the road and glancing up against a telephone pull. Me and my sister both walked out, shaken quite a bit but the only mark recieved by either of us was a scratch from the seat belt on my sisters neck.
Needless to say, our Jeep was totaled, all four tires popped. When my father arrived he drove said jeep out of the ditch and up on the road. Now tell me that isn't a tough truck.
My sister replaced her lost ride with a Grand, and when it came time, my choice was a Cherokee, I was barely even interested in looking at any other kind of car. A cross country road trip and a 2 or 3 inch lift is in it's future.

Strengths:
Drives like a car when on the road, nice stiff steering and gas pedal.
The low compression 4.0 liter engine means that this thing will last forever.
It's a 4x4.
Parts are cheap and will be around forever.
You would have to drive it off a cliff in order the break it.
Comfy Seats
Mods are cheap

Weaknesses:
The back seat is a bit snug compared to my sister's Grand Cherokee.
Comes with the mounting gear for only a temporary tire.
I have to compress the fork on my mountain bike to get it to fit in the back.
Gas mileage isn't all the great, but comparable to any other similar vehicle out there.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Life Long Gearheads First Jeep
Date: Jan 13, 2007
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Washington PNW)
Vehicle: 1998 Jeep Cherokee XJ
Summary:
A 1998 Jeep Cherokee is my first Jeep. I am surprised at how well it performs for only being a 4.0 inline six. I don't go "wheeling" rather use it as a every day commuter. I really like the basic body lines verses all of the goofy lookig SUVs out there today. It rides and stops very well, it is small enough, that it can be parked anywhere a medium size passenger car will fit.

Strengths:
Rugged mono-beam axles, a very dependable and powerfull motor, no blind spots, comfortable seating for driver, Non-yuppy looking body lines. No cheesey looking plastic hanging on the sides of this Jeep, like the Grand Cherokee. This rig is a well kept secret.

Weaknesses:
Fuel economy is about 15 to 18 MPG at best.
It won't appeal to yuppies that want big stupid looking SUVs with 24 inch useless bling wheels.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
1997 cherokee 4 door
Date: Aug 07, 2006
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Ontario, Canada)
Vehicle: 1997 Jeep Cherokee XJ
Summary:
The 4,0 litre cherokee should have never been taken out of production. This machine is a rock solid performer, I have this and a commander, the cherokee's off-road performance is great,and the4wd system rock's. The 4 litre six is very reliable, and I have had no surprises, just regular wear and tear stuff, The body is still in a-one condition even after some pretty punishing off-road use (hunting and fishing etc).

Strengths:
If it aint broke don't fix it,the longevity of the model speak's for itself

Weaknesses:
None that I can think of.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Jeep Cherokee Classic Sport Utility 4-Door 1999 Jeep Cherokee Classic Sport Utility 4-Door 4.0L
Jeep Cherokee Classic Sport Utility 4-Door 1999 Jeep Cherokee Classic Sport Utility 4-Door 4.0L
   $50,000.00
2015 Jeep Cherokee Latitude 2015 Jeep Cherokee Latitude 51930 Miles Brilliant Black Crystal Pearlcoat SUV 2.
2015 Jeep Cherokee Latitude 2015 Jeep Cherokee Latitude 51930 Miles Brilliant Black Crystal Pearlcoat SUV 2.
   $16,900.00
2016 Jeep Cherokee Cherokee Trailhawk ilver 2016 Cherokee with 17265 Miles for sale at Carvana
2016 Jeep Cherokee Cherokee Trailhawk ilver 2016 Cherokee with 17265 Miles for sale at Carvana
   $27,250.00
2015 Jeep Cherokee Cherokee Trailhawk Orange 2015 Cherokee with 15179 Miles for sale at Carvana
2015 Jeep Cherokee Cherokee Trailhawk Orange 2015 Cherokee with 15179 Miles for sale at Carvana
   $26,750.00
2015 Jeep Cherokee Limited 2015 Jeep Cherokee
2015 Jeep Cherokee Limited 2015 Jeep Cherokee
   $24,495.00
2000 Jeep Cherokee  2000 JEEP CHEROKEE RIGHT HAND DRIVE,BLACK LTD COUNTRY ,4-DOOR FOUR -WHEEL DRIVE
2000 Jeep Cherokee 2000 JEEP CHEROKEE RIGHT HAND DRIVE,BLACK LTD COUNTRY ,4-DOOR FOUR -WHEEL DRIVE
   $16,000.00