Home > Jeep Cherokee > Jeep Grand Cherokee

Jeep Grand Cherokee Photo

Jeep Grand Cherokee

The Jeep Grand Cherokee mid-sized sport utility vehicle (SUV) has been produced for over a decade and exists in a variety of models such as the ZJ, WJ, and WK.

Owner Reviews

Jeep Grand Cherokee

Avg. Owner Rating: (6.4 Stars)
Number of Reviews: 8 reviews

Write a review and share your thoughts with other Jeepers.

Jeep Grand Cherokee - Reviews

First Jeep and Last Jeep
Date: Dec 18, 2012
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Chicago, IL)
Vehicle: 2010 Jeep Grand Cherokee
Summary:
I purchased a new $47,000 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland. The car is awesome and I love it but when it comes to corporate customer service is working with the dinosaurs. Jeep sent out a complimentry upgrade for my nav system. The system would not accept the upgrade because the nav would not recognize the vehicle vin. Ok no big problem right, NO! Huge problem! No dealer has experience in fixing this proble and after a week of talking with Jeep customer care I would have benn better off beating my head against the wall. Just remember the warranty of your Jeep is worth about the vaule of the paper written on. Read page 4 and you will see Jeep corporate is not responsible for just about anything. And they really dont care! All dealers are independent businesses and get little if any support from Jeep. The nav map company helped me more than Jeep did or will. All they know is that they have their protocals and they have to follow them. The solutions to my simple problem was to bring my Jeep to a dealer and let them experiment to see if they could fix it and if not leave it there with no loaner until they do! Wow! Yeah Chrysler is born in Detroit and you get Detroit like service!

Strengths:
Everything it's awesome.

Weaknesses:
There is no cutomer service support! Your on your own!!
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Great purchase & traded for newer jeep grand Cherokee
Date: Nov 03, 2011
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Alexandria, VA)
Vehicle: 1999 Jeep Grand Cherokee
Summary:
Great for long trips from CA to VA! very comfortable ride, durable interior endured the messes of baby milk & food, mud, you name it, interior cleans up easily, seats fold down for space enough to get a trencher in back. Multifunctional. Exterior paint very durable, shines like a charm still. Don't get it if you cannot afford the gas & maintenance. Had short in brake light circuitry. Replaced fuel pump once in eleven years of ownership. Other stuff was wear & tear stuff. Keeping up with maintenance has been key. Running great at over177k miles. Overall, very satisfied!

Strengths:
Great for long trips, very comfortable with plush leather seating, very durable interior, drives well in snow, off road, seats fold down for space enough to get a trencher in back. Multifunctional

Weaknesses:
Labor, Maintenance & replacement parts can be quite expensive.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Just some electrical problems...
Date: Aug 18, 2011
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Troutdale, VA)
Vehicle: 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee
Summary:
We bought this back in Sept. '09. It was used with 47K miles on it. No problems for a good while, probably 1+ yr. We have only one problem with it now which seems to be electrical. Sometimes the radio locks up and you can't adjust it. The air bag light won't go off even though I've had it looked at and no one can find out why. Few other weird electrical snafus have happened. Other than that we are 100% satisfied.

Strengths:
Does GREAT in snowy conditions. We live in the mountains and love the way it handles. Super quiet and comfortable. Lots of room. LOVE the headlights.

Weaknesses:
Electric stuff. Wish the gas mileage was a little better - getting 19.5 miles/gallon.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
1995 ZJ Grand Cherokee
Date: Jan 19, 2011
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Scottville, MI)
Vehicle: 1995 Jeep Grand Cherokee
Summary:
The jeep that I currently drive is a 1995 Grand Cherokee ZJ with the 5.2L V-8. I bought this vehicle used with your typical dings and a few small dents and a little rust on the back hatch with about 180,000 miles on it. Iíll be honest i really didnít want the V-8 because of the gas millage but for the $1500 I paid and the condition it was in, it was hard to pass it up since i was in need of a jeep. The deer around where i live think itís funny to stand in the road and smash my XJ that had the IL-6 motor equipped. I felt that the IL-6 motor was way more reliable for the amount of miles i had put on it and thatís the way I wanted to go. Now about 4 years later Iím up to over 225,000 miles (itís a long drive to school and college from where i live in the country) and i couldn't be happier with how the thing runs and drives. Donít get me wrong i have had to spend a little money here and there on minor stuff such as brakes, rotors, plug wires, cap and rotor, oil change etc. to keep it running where it needs to be. The only major thing that needed to get replaced on it was the rear main seal because it stared leaking a little oil. For being 16 years old and that high in millage i didnít think that getting that replaced was a big deal. Being in Michigan the motor and all-wheel drive has helped a lot although since again i live out in the country and my roads are the last to get plowed during the winter. My only wish is that it came with lockers from the factory. Other than that this vehicle has been able to handle everything that a daily driver jeep would encounter on the road. I would definitely recommend this jeep as a vehicle to someone who is just starting out driving or a jeep like this from the years 1993 to 1998 with either the IL-6 or The V-8.

Strengths:
All-Wheel Drive
V-8 Motor
Good Stock Suspension

Weaknesses:
Needs To Have a Reese Hitch Form Factory
Lockers from Factory
Every now And Then When It Gets Really Cold In the Winter Time the Speedometer Doesnít Work Till It Gets Warmed Up
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Third Jeep, first Grand Cherokee 4.7L, 5spd auto, 4WD
Date: Sep 24, 2010
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Raleigh, NC)
Vehicle: 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee
Summary:
I have owned a Cherokee, which now has 160K+ and is still trucking, a Liberty, which has 88k+ and my son drives now, and now a Grand Cherokee. I love this vehicle. It is smooth, capable and comfortable. I have the 5 speed auto trans and the quadradrive II. It is very stable in all conditions, gets very good mileage for a V8 with full time 4WD (I average 18mpg). I have not yet taken it out onto the sand beaches, so I don't know how it will do in the soft sand, but plan to try it out soon. I also use it to pull my boat, which it does quite handily.

Strengths:
style, ride, capability

Weaknesses:
I wish they used less plastic in the interior. I know others on here have had issues with their GCs, but I have had none of them (even at 55k miles). Just want people to know that a lot of us Grand Cherokee owners love our Jeeps.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
GC Laredo - WJ, 4.7L V8, 4x4
Date: Apr 21, 2010
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Chicago)
Vehicle: 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee
Summary:
This is the second WJ I have owned. The only issue I have had with either is the brake rotor warpage issue. This is a standard recall that all the GC's were faced with. Had the rotors fixed once and haven't had any issue since then. After this was fixed I threw the 2" BB lift on and have run 265's and now 255's on it (MTs & ATs). Ride quality with MTs and ATs combined with the lift and offroad shocks changed the ride quality to more of a truck. Someplace in between a rattle-can pick up and the stock GC (more to the stock GC ride). Very capable offroad as I have had them in mud up to the rockers, rocks, sand, snow and never gotten stuck.

My parents also have owned two GC's with zero issue and now my wife is on her first one, but the WK model.

The big weakness on them is mpg. They are possibly one of the worse designed engines by detroit when it comes to fuel efficiency. Expect an avg mpg of 12-16. 12 if your drive more city, 16 if almost all open road.

Overall I would recommend these if you come across one for a good market price, in good shape and have accurate maintenance records to know what your getting.

Strengths:
strong, sturdy, capable suv....one of the best ones out of the slew that exist. imo the only ones that measure up to the jeeps are the rovers, but why pay the extra (and likely have more mechanical issues).

Weaknesses:
mpg, brake rotor warpage (recall)
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Lemon
Date: Apr 06, 2010
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Cincinnati, Ohio)
Vehicle: 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee
Summary:
The worst purchase ever when buying a vehicle. Brakes have never worked properly, deferential has gone out twice, 5 window controls replaced with 2 windows currently not working. Heater core has gone out twice and the master cylinder has been replaced. My parents have the same vehicle that is 2 years older and they have had all of the same problems with the automatic locks also not working. I guess we are one up on them because our locks still work.

Strengths:
I can't think of any.

Weaknesses:
It is just a lemon.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Problem brakes, problem transmission, poor gas....
Date: Jan 13, 2009
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Atlanta, GA)
Vehicle: 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee
Summary:
Second jeep grand cherokee that was purchased with less than ten miles on each. First jeep had brake issues with rotors and in shop several times until finally a recall, then we traded. Love the style, love the size, hate the problems. Second Jeep in shop several times for brake rotors, two times for transmission problems, still jumps when you put in gear and sometimes just doesn't go in gear. Stuck in 3rd gear one time and spent two days in shop. I don't think I will give Jeep another try. I've been driving thirty two years and had many new cars over time no other issues with brakes... driving style not the problem.

Strengths:
love the size, love the style of jeep cherokee, love the ride, love the up-grades.

Weaknesses:
gas, brakes, transmission, plastic front panel.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited - 1 OWNER NAVI BACKUP CAM KEYLESS GO HEATE 2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited - 1 OWNER NAVI BACKUP CAM KEYLESS GO HEATE 98,0
2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited - 1 OWNER NAVI BACKUP CAM KEYLESS GO HEATE 2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited - 1 OWNER NAVI BACKUP CAM KEYLESS GO HEATE 98,0
   $21,444.00
2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland Summit - 1 OWNER NAVI BACKUP CAM HEATED/V 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland Summit - 1 OWNER NAVI BACKUP CAM HEATED/V 117,
2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland Summit - 1 OWNER NAVI BACKUP CAM HEATED/V 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland Summit - 1 OWNER NAVI BACKUP CAM HEATED/V 117,
   $17,444.00
2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee  2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo
2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo
   $5,700.00
2010 Jeep Grand Cherokee LAREDO 2010 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE LAREDO
2010 Jeep Grand Cherokee LAREDO 2010 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE LAREDO
   $6,500.00
2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee  2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo E 4X4
2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee 2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo E 4X4
   $18,000.00
2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee 4WD 4dr Laredo 2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee
2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee 4WD 4dr Laredo 2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee
   $26,232.00