Home > Jeep Liberty > Jeep Liberty KJ/KK

Jeep Liberty KJKK Photo

Jeep Liberty KJ/KK

The Jeep Liberty KJ compact sport utility vehicle was introduced to the market in 2002. The Jeep Liberty was the first Jeep vehicle to come equipped with an independent front suspension. In 2008, Jeep redesigned the Liberty and dubbed the 2nd generation Liberty as the KK.

Owner Reviews

Jeep Liberty KJ/KK

Avg. Owner Rating: (6.6 Stars)
Number of Reviews: 16 reviews

Write a review and share your thoughts with other Jeepers.

Jeep Liberty KJ/KK - Reviews

Cherokee KK - love my "Jeepie"
Date: May 13, 2016
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Hamburg / Gy.)
Vehicle: 2011 Jeep Liberty KJ/KK
Summary:
The good:
fairly compact, powerful 2.8 Diesel engine, 460 NM, 200 HP.
Selec Trac II full time 4WD, Good comfort on all types of roads, paved or not, and even off-road. Great Performance on sand . Low consumption if you take into account the vehicle weight and CW. 2.5 tons towing capacity. Very comfortable heated leather seats Excellent a/c.
Smooth ride.
The Pro:
no any Problem since 2011 over 82.000 k's .
The Con's :
limited trunk capacity, but sufficient.

Strengths:
a tough 4x4 , a real JEEP, not a passenger-car SUV with 4x4 hang-on System. Takes me anywhere .

Weaknesses:
no longer in production, Ugly successor KL . But since i love my KK i will Keep it as Long as possible.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
2005 Jeep Liberty Renegade 4x4 3.7L Auto
Date: Nov 09, 2015
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Queen Creek, AZ)
Vehicle: 2005 Jeep Liberty KJ/KK
Summary:
The Good
Original owner and still love this Jeep. Its been 10 years and 150,000 miles and the most reliable vehicle I've ever owned. Its fun to drive, easy to park, great turning radius, looks great and always ready to go. I'll list my repairs and issues below but also realize this has been a great vehicle and I would buy again. I didn't change trans/differential or x-fer case oil until 140,000 miles and never had any issues. Did change motor oil at every 6k with synthetic. For all the bad stuff I'll list below the repairs were made myself (I'm not a mechanic) and parts were all very reasonable, most expensive was a new radiator at $200.

The bad
I live in AZ so it needed a new battery every 2-3 yrs which is normal, I had to replace the window regulators with metal ones I bought from eBay (bad plastic design that fails) There is a recall regarding the front ball joints but its for those living in snow/wet environments as something rusts so nothing was ever done for mine. There was a recall regarding the rear gas tank, they will install a hitch to better protect it from rear collisions. Had a couple issues about 5yrs in with brake lights and fuses, have replaced same a couple times until finally fixed, was hard to troubleshoot. New Brake pads at 50,000m. Replaced original tires at 80,000 (yes 80k), Serpentine belt broke/replaced at 90,000 miles. Replaced cloth seats with leather as the cloth seats stain bad with just water. No Aux input for Stereo and factory stereo is really dated. Had to have both front speakers repaired as the foam dried and went bad. Replaced radiator and hoses at 135,000m cracked plastic tank on side. Replaced front driveline rear bearing at 140,000m.
There is an annoying plastic on plastic squeak behind the dash somewhere that I've never been able to find / fix.

Things I have wished for
Factory leather/power seats (the standard/cloth aren't very comfortable and cloth stains / looks bad too easily)
Better stereo upgrade or some kind of option
Antilock breaks and traction control (it stops good but I have locked up the wheels and came close to rear-ending someone once)
Bigger Console and/or interior storage cubbies
More ground clearance
Wish they'd move the battery to the back/trunk area to keep it cooler vehicles that do this get about 3x more life out of their batteries

Strengths:
Reliable, fun and solid transportation, love my Jeep.
AC - in AZ we use AC a lot even into winter, I've never done any maintenance on AC and it still blows ice cold.

Weaknesses:
For a Jeep/offroad vehicle the ground clearance is pretty low.
No Anti-lock breaks or traction control
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
2004 Jeep Liberty Sport manual 5 sp
Date: Mar 26, 2012
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Hartford, CT)
Vehicle: 2004 Jeep Liberty KJ/KK
Summary:
No rust ever, 120,000 miles and rolling, Connecticut road salt, Honda Civic self-distructed (totalled) on rear bumper, no damage. Best vehicle I have owned, gets 20mpg regular, I have 5sp stick, in 4th and 4wd handles like a dream in 6 inches snow, 50mph on interstate, slows by decel on engine, np, really good. Takes 4 golfers and gear on golf trip, np. Built so well, nothing is broken after 8 years, I am shocked anyone has problems. Now, i run it on synthetic oil, and carwash it with wax 2 times a year, the combo has proved wonderful, it still shines. Great engine compression, np.

Strengths:
Everything, simplicity, strength of build, reliable, runs great.

Weaknesses:
Some would view it as unrefined, clunky, not smooth, almost crude in features. But simplicity is its own reward, it works after others break. I like it simple, the zen of the thing is awesome.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Completly Satisfied
Date: Aug 22, 2011
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Abilene, TX)
Vehicle: 2002 Jeep Liberty KJ/KK
Summary:
I bought a 2002 Jeep Liberty when it was brand new and had it until 2 weeks ago when I got into an accident. It never gave me one bit of trouble the entire time, but I took care of it too. I had every service receipts for all the oil changes, rotating the tires, etc.. It just breaks my heart that it is no longer drivable because of the accident, and it feels weird looking for a replacement vehicle because I absolutely loved that car.

I would HIGHLY recommend the Jeep Liberty to anyone.

Strengths:
Everything about the 2002 Jeep Liberty makes it an excellent vehicle all the way around!!

Weaknesses:
I can't of one weakness for the 2002 Jeep Liberty.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Abandon All Hope, those who enter...
Date: Jul 27, 2011
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Cleveland, OH)
Vehicle: 2001 Jeep Liberty KJ/KK
Summary:
The Jeep Liberty is Rubbish. I wanted a cheap SUV and I ended up with a cheap, dangerous SUV. First the good things: The motor always ran well, and it performs admirably as a 4 wheel drive vehicle. The paint stayed on it

Other than that, I can't think of a good thing to say. It's not very comfortable (but it was cheap. It was a rust bucket. Except for the body panel the vehicle was a pile of rust. It's a Jeep, for heaven's sakes and the transmission pan literally dissolved and spewed its entire contents on my driveway at 75,000 miles. On a Jeep. The rest of the chassis rusted like it was on the Titanic.

The right front wheel fell off in traffic at 40,000 miles. And I mean the wheel and everything holding it to the car! Let's be fair, Chrysler fixed it, after I reported it to the NHTSA. But they didn't replace the badly damaged wheel. I sufered through 3 major recalls of front suspension parts and at only 80,000 miles the entire front steering rack and supension went pear shaped. It turned the car into an unsafe to operate vehicle.

It is the scariest motor vehicle I've ever owned, including a 60 year old Russian sidecar motorcycle I ride. If you buy one, purchase a helmet and body armor and up your insurance. You will most likely need it.

Strengths:
Good Four wheel Drive system, performed well as a 4-wheel drive vehicle. The body held up nicely

Weaknesses:
The entire suspension system is a life-threatening menace. Tried to kill me twice.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Window problem
Date: Jun 21, 2011
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (NC)
Vehicle: 2006 Jeep Liberty KJ/KK
Summary:
The window problem is very bothersome but, i have fixed the drivers side rear window. 90 beans, and a little work was all it took, the after market part you need is the Steiger Performance Power Window Regulator Repair Kit. Jeep wanted to charge me for a new window and Regulator ...NO THANKS. Now the Jeep has had no problems other than the windows. Drives good on the highway and the four-wheel drive off road work's well. I will fix the only other problem with new tires and a 3" lift. Hope the Steiger window Regulator Repair Kit helps you fellow Liberty owners.

Strengths:
The four-wheel drive pulls hard, articulates well, and the 3.7 liter V-6 will sling it if you push it.

Weaknesses:
The trans could be better, all the 4x4 Jeeps should come with tow hook standard, and lastly ground clearance, like I said 3 in" of lift and some bigger tires will fix that.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Very Happy So Far
Date: Apr 07, 2011
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Perth Western Australia)
Vehicle: 2006 Jeep Liberty KJ/KK
Summary:
Living in Western Australia, I need a vehicle that is tough and good on fuel, my 6 speed manual, KJ liberty 2.8 crd is superb. This little jeep never fails to impress me going through river crossings and crossing deserts this jeep has NEVER let me down I will keep it for as long as I can, GO JEEP!!!

Strengths:
Engine,drivetrain,economy,looks

Weaknesses:
Rear load space
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Owned a 2005 Liberty and replaced it with a 2010
Date: Apr 07, 2011
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Ontario, Canada)
Vehicle: 2010 Jeep Liberty KJ/KK
Summary:
The Liberty has been a great vehicle for my family. I originally purchased the 2005 model for my wife and she loved it. We had to rely on it in some of the worst winter weather on a 12 hour road trip. We made it through on the lanes everyone else was afraid to drive on. We offroaded it on some challenging trails and it kept up just fine with my Rubicon.

It was a no-brainer to replace it with the new and improved model (Limited) which has performed terrificly for the year that I have owned it. 4wd system is the seletrac and has gotten us through in a variety of conditions.

Strengths:
4wd system; nicely designed and comfortable leather interior; very capable regardess of weather conditions.

Weaknesses:
Don't like the tires that come on the fully loaded model, traction in snowy conditions leaves something to be desired.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Owners Beware
Date: Jan 15, 2011
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Brenham, TX)
Vehicle: 2007 Jeep Liberty KJ/KK
Summary:
I bought my 2007 Jeep Liberty with only 3 miles on it. I only drive it in the city to work. Had nothing but problems with the 4 windows, but were fixed while under warranty. Just recently, had the A-arm fall off while driving and the jeep ran off the road, thank goodness no injuries or damage to the jeep. However, with only 14K miles on it, Chysler will not call this a faulty part or send an engineer to look at it. Owners beware, no telling how many are faulty and have caused accidents and deaths resulting in not knowing the cause for the crashes.

Strengths:
I liked the body style

Weaknesses:
Will never buy another Chysler Faulty Parts
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Tired of fixing window problems!!!!!
Date: Dec 21, 2010
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Ripley, Tennessee)
Vehicle: 2007 Jeep Liberty KJ/KK
Summary:
Purchased a 2007 Liberty two years ago and have had nothing but problems with the windows. This is the fifth time I have had problems and at $500 - $600 dollars to fix. It's getting old. The first time it was still under warranty but the rest has all been on my dime. This time it is the driver's side window. And they say it is not a safety problem.

Strengths:
None

Weaknesses:
Windows
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
It is what you make it....
Date: Dec 15, 2010
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Pittsburgh, PA)
Vehicle: 2010 Jeep Liberty KJ/KK
Summary:
Recently purchased a 2011 KK for my wife. We own 3 other Jeeps, all Wranglers (2 sports and a Rubicon). The Liberty I purchased still uses the command trac 4wd system which is more reliable over the long term when compared to the select trac as it requires more computer monitoring to switch between 4wd modes. This jeep is not a wrangler and should never be compared to one although it is more capable than most other vehicles should you need to go off the beaten path every once in a while. It is not a luxury SUV either. It is rather bare boned inside......again, it is a jeep product and your money goes to other more functional purposes rather than warm and fuzzy interior gadgets. The ride is smooth and the 3.7L engine seems more than capable (i do still prefer the inline 6cl of my wranglers), the gas mileage is exactly what I would expect from a Jeep, and certainly one that is squared off in the front. We are Jeep enthusiasts to the end and the Liberty more than serves the purpose for which we purchased it: 1. cost 2. ride 3. interior and exterior quality. I would suggest that you test drive one and formulate your own opinion. By the way, it's almost an even cost when comparing low mileage 2008's and new 2011. The 2011 also has a longer warranty period.

Strengths:
Its a Jeep so its user friendly and doesn't require the simplest of things to be done by a mechanic.

Weaknesses:
none as of yet and based on the other Jeeps we've owned (the oldest is a 95 YJ) I don't expect any.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Won't buy another one
Date: Dec 11, 2010
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Fort Hood, Texas)
Vehicle: 2007 Jeep Liberty KJ/KK
Summary:
Good for long trips, good highway mpg. Bad city mpg. Also some of the parts on mine were bad. Don't know if it's just mines year, 2007, or if it was the earlier models. But, due to faulty parts inside the doors, my original windows eventually fall down in the door and need replaced. Replaced 2 so far, but by the time I replaced them all, I'll have paid about $1400 for the parts and repair. Found out it was nothing I did, was a manufacturers problem that isn't covered under warranty. I won't buy another vehicle made by Jeep.

Strengths:
Good highway mpg

Weaknesses:
Faulty parts, bad city mpg, and uncomfortable seating for long trips.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
A Great All-Around Family Jeep
Date: Apr 06, 2010
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Zionsville, IN)
Vehicle: 2004 Jeep Liberty KJ/KK
Summary:
My wife and I bought a new Jeep (KJ) Liberty in 2004 and have been very pleased with it. We originally bought the Liberty for wanting a small to midsize SUV. For under $30,000 we bought a fully loaded Limited model that included leather seats, ABS and Selec-Trac.

With the optional Selec-Trac four-wheel drive (a must have!), it has an awesome four-wheel drive. Along with part-time and four-low, Selec-Trac includes a full-time setting that can be used with mixed road conditions from dry, wet, ice to snow and sticks to the road like glue! Selec-Trac has been great to have as we've made several winter 3,000 mile road trips, including once pulling a U-haul trailer over the Rockies.

The only downfall is that the Liberty's MPG is a little on the low side for city driving, however it is a heavy and solid vehicle. We average 16 to 17 mpg in the city, and I've witnessed up to 23 mpg on the highway when keeping the speed to no more then 65 mph (21 mpg when going faster). We absolutely have no regrets buying it. In fact I was always thinking that we'd upgrade to a Grand Cherokee after five years, however we are not getting rid of it anytime soon. It's in too good of condition!

The Liberty really makes for a great all-around family Jeep.

Strengths:
Selec-Trac, it's four-wheel drive is awesome, four doors, has more room inside then it looks, sits up high, nice ride, comfortable and great looking interior, good amount of rear seat room, reliable and well built, tows, and was a top rated small to mid-size SUV in it's class.

Weaknesses:
City MPG, tows fine but not heavy trailers.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Jeep Liberty is no Cherokee!
Date: Jun 24, 2009
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Anchorage, AK)
Vehicle: 2006 Jeep Liberty KJ/KK
Summary:
The Jeep Liberty KJ (Kia Jeep) with the 3.7L engine has been problematic. Engine needed replacement under warranty and the thing also had front differential trouble and it wasn't even 2 years old and is driven by old people who NEVER off-road the vehicle. It now WORKS for the folks that own it...

Strengths:
Better gas mileage than the Ford Excursion V10 that was traded in for this Jeep. Was recommended to my parents as I drive a real Jeep: Wrangler TJ.
The Liberty still has that new car smell...
Again, it WORKS for them.

Weaknesses:
Looks like a Kia on steriods and the newer KK isn't better as that's a Dodge Nitro in disguise. The Germans got their ass handed to them in WW2 at a great price and the only revenge they can exact to America is to discontinue a sturdy winner (XJ) and replace it with an ugly wannabe loser that's fragile (KJ & KK).
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Great Jeep Liberty!
Date: Jun 16, 2009
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Amherst, OH)
Vehicle: 2008 Jeep Liberty KJ/KK
Summary:
The '08 redesigned Jeep Liberty (KK) is a great addition to the Jeep family. It is powerful, fun, and nicer looking than the previous style (KJ) in my opinion. Love the Jeep Green Metallic color!

Strengths:
Powerful, trail rated, and fun to drive.

Weaknesses:
Gas mileage - but, hey, it's a Jeep!
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Great Jeep
Date: May 21, 2009
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (North Richland Hills, Texas)
Vehicle: 2003 Jeep Liberty KJ/KK
Summary:
I have had the jeep for about a month and love it. the rides a little rough but im working on buing a new suspension lift and body lift. only big problem is the gas mileage i get about 16 city and 21 hwy.

Strengths:
very roomy, very comftorbal, and looks great

Weaknesses:
bad gas mileage
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
2010 Jeep Liberty -- 2010 Jeep Liberty  94948 Miles Tan
2010 Jeep Liberty -- 2010 Jeep Liberty 94948 Miles Tan
   $6,750.00
2008 Jeep Liberty  2008 Jeep Liberty
2008 Jeep Liberty 2008 Jeep Liberty
   $5,500.00
2012 Jeep Liberty  2012 JEEP LIBERTY SPORT CRUISE CTRL CD AUDIO ALLOYS 31K #216511 Texas Direct
2012 Jeep Liberty 2012 JEEP LIBERTY SPORT CRUISE CTRL CD AUDIO ALLOYS 31K #216511 Texas Direct
   $13,980.00
2007 Jeep Liberty Sport 4WD 2007 Jeep Liberty Sport 4WD 84435 Miles Black  3.7L V6 SOHC 12V Automatic
2007 Jeep Liberty Sport 4WD 2007 Jeep Liberty Sport 4WD 84435 Miles Black 3.7L V6 SOHC 12V Automatic
   $7,977.00
2004 Jeep Liberty 4X4 JEEP LIBERTY 2004.TOTALED DUE TO ACCIDENT.DRIVE EXCELLENT.
2004 Jeep Liberty 4X4 JEEP LIBERTY 2004.TOTALED DUE TO ACCIDENT.DRIVE EXCELLENT.
   $990.00
2005 Jeep Liberty Sport C 2005 Jeep Liberty Sport Used 3.7L V6 12V automatic 4WD SUV NO RESERVE
2005 Jeep Liberty Sport C 2005 Jeep Liberty Sport Used 3.7L V6 12V automatic 4WD SUV NO RESERVE
   $848.00