Home > Jeep Wrangler > Jeep Wrangler Unlimited LJ

Jeep Wrangler Unlimited LJ Photo

Jeep Wrangler Unlimited LJ

The Jeep Wrangler Unlimited was launched in 2004. The Jeep Wrangler Unlimited is essentially a stretched Wrangler TJ. The wheelbase on the Unlimited is 10 inches longer than a typical Wrangler. The longer wheelbase provides more room for your passengers and cargo.

User-Submitted Photos

Jeep Wrangler Unlimited LJ photos

Owner Reviews

Jeep Wrangler Unlimited LJ

Avg. Owner Rating: (8.9 Stars)
Number of Reviews: 7 reviews

Write a review and share your thoughts with other Jeepers.

Jeep Wrangler Unlimited LJ - Reviews

Win some, loose some
Date: Jun 02, 2012
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Pioche, Nevada)
Vehicle: 2006 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited LJ
Summary:
I finally had to retire my old high mileage daily driver '83 CJ-7 and found a very clean 2006 Rubicon Unlimited to replace it. I really don't like the newer JKs.
I live off a dirt road in the boondocks and a Jeep is much more than just a boulevard cruiser here. From the start I missed the convenience of my old CJ-7's tailgate! Where do you spread out a map or sit and compare notes with your fellow Jeepers? Where do you serve up a trailside snack or picnic lunch? Where do you clean your fish???
As far as off road worthiness goes, the Rubicon will never be put under the same tests as my old Jeep went and somhow survivied. Now I am retired and have discovered that the older I get, the smarter I have become! If I break it, I am the one that has to fix it. Mostly the Rubicon is used to explore back roads and trails and is towed behind my RV.
Yeah, I miss the old CJ-7, but it is nice to have a few luxuries of the Rubicon like AC and windows that actually roll up when it rains

Strengths:
Very comfortable, looks good and is fun to drive

Weaknesses:
#1 complaint: No tailgate!!!
Would have much preferred a 6 speed transmission
Too many plastic bells & whistles, gee gaws and doo dads and I don't need all those annoying buzzers saving me from myself!!!


 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
The greatest
Date: Apr 26, 2011
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Saint George, Utah)
Vehicle: 2006 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited LJ
Summary:
My jeep was made especially for me.
When I went to the dealer, they did not have the color, the transmission, and the top I wanted.
So they order this jeep to the factory for me, that is really cool.
Now I been driving it for 5 years and I just love it, my wife is no happy with that, she wants a four doors now, but I said nope.
THIS IS THE CAR THAT WAS BUILD FOR ME, SO I WILL KEEP IT.
now it has 35 tires, 4" rockrawler lift kit, custom bumpers and man, every time I drive it, at least 2 or 3 people tell me how nice it is.
I've played on the rocks and it is incredible the things you can do with it. To me, the greatest jeep ever, sorry if I hurt some feelings.
I had before a 97 wrangler and the lj model is a lot better version.

Strengths:
the engine is just perfect, six speed tranny great too.
nice to have some room.
and the style,

Weaknesses:
mpg maybe.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Unlimited Possibilities
Date: Apr 25, 2010
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Dallas, TX)
Vehicle: 2004 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited LJ
Summary:
I purchased a 2004 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited last summer. I bought it used from Arizona with only 8K miles on it which was a steal!. i brought it in to a dealership and Jeep shops and they said it looked like it just came from the production line. I love the Jeep, it is my second car (mercedes was my first). I am a athletic type of guy and very adventurous so i fell in love with the jeep. I put 33 mickey thompson MTZ tires on it with a 2.5 in lift. It is a mean looking jeep. The previous owner was nice enough to get the lifetime sirius satelite radio =] . it also came with a navigation system in it which was a huge plus (even though i never use it). The first time i took it off road was in the winter when it snowed 10 inches in texas!!! I had so much fun! there is nothing that can beat this vehicle, my two buddies had 2 dodge trucks and both got stuck so i had to pull them out of the snow. This is the ultimate vehicle as a daily driver and as a weekend getaway. Planning on driving my baby to Florida for a summer vacation!

Strengths:
Plenty of room, surprisingly good pickup. help friends out. The looks are amazing (headturner)

Weaknesses:
loud
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
2006 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited
Date: Jan 12, 2010
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Rome, GA)
Vehicle: 2006 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited LJ
Summary:
Bought my jeep used about 2 years ago. It had around 14k on it. It was in stock form so I lifted it 4 inches, put 33s on it, bedlined the interior and I love my jeep. Not a place that I can't go and its nice to have the room for weekend trips. My wife packs like we're globe hopping even for a weekend so it works for us.

Strengths:
awesome vehicle character, offroad prowess, versatility, love being able to go doorless, topless, both or either

Weaknesses:
Jeep should really have offered a v8 in the unlimited
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Jeep Wrangler Unlimited
Date: Apr 11, 2007
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Laurie, MO)
Vehicle: 2006 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited LJ
Summary:
The Unlimited is my third Jeep (a CJ-7, and a 97 Wrangler Sport previously).......and I've been VERY pleased with the Unlimited. The extra room is welcome (as well as the better ride), although the extra wheelbase length makes it a little easier to high-center off road. I've put a 2 inch lift, and 32 inch tires on mine however, and that seemed to cure THAT problem.

Strengths:
Extra room and nicer with the longer wheelbase.

Weaknesses:
I wish Jeep have a V-8 option, although I have few complaints with the 4.0, behind the 6 speed
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Love the Unlimited
Date: Feb 27, 2007
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Chambersburg, PA)
Vehicle: 2005 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited LJ
Summary:
Great vehicle for the money, especially in the 6spd. Rides better than the shorter Wrangler but not as well as the Cherokees/Grands. Just installed 32's along with 3/4" spacers, 1" MORE body lift, and JKS MML. Could've fit 33's without rubbing, granted I have Cragar steel wheels with the proper backspacing. Plenty of room for a single guy and a buddy to go camping or hunting, and for a dog in the back.

Strengths:
Enough power to pull a good size trailer with 2 full size quads up long hills, rides comfortably enough, goes just about anywhere, and best view from the drivers seat of any vehicle out there.

Weaknesses:
Occassional front end shimmy, and that's about it after 40k on it.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Limits Undone
Date: Mar 06, 2006
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Montgomery, IL)
Vehicle: 2005 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited LJ
Summary:
The Unlimited is a very good all around Jeep, I, like alot of Jeep drivers spend alot of time driving on "improved" surfaces and aside from my two rear shocks letting go, It rides very good. Note: Chrysler replaced the shocks with no questions asked!
The 4.0 I6 is a peppy engine and carries it around very well with decent gas mileage, I have managed 17-19 mpg on the highway.
I have carried adult passengers in the back seat and they were pretty comfortable, I don't think they would make it on a long trip though, there is a bit more room back there.

Strengths:
The longer wheelbase affords a much more comfortable ride, with more passenger and gear room, yet is still very capable offroad. I do not know about the other TJ models but this one comes with a hard top and a "Sunrider" soft top, also the sirius sat. radio.

Weaknesses:
The lower stance and longer wheelbase is a problem until you lift it. In stock form, it is much easier to hi center! With a 3.5 inch lift most of those problems are solved.
The HVAC does not have a bi level for heat! That would have been a nice feature.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Jeep : Wrangler Unlimited (24S Pkg) We Finance LIFTED CUSTOM JEEP NAVIGATION LEATHER WHEELS TIRES CAMERA
Jeep : Wrangler Unlimited (24S Pkg) We Finance LIFTED CUSTOM JEEP NAVIGATION LEATHER WHEELS TIRES CAMERA
   $57,888.00
Jeep : Wrangler UNLIMITED RUBICON Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon in Kevlar Top Coat Finish, Lift, Wheels, LEDs, Winch
Jeep : Wrangler UNLIMITED RUBICON Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon in Kevlar Top Coat Finish, Lift, Wheels, LEDs, Winch
   $59,980.00
Jeep : Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon Sport Utility 4-Door 2013 jeep wrangler unlimited rubicon sport utility 4 door 3.6 l
Jeep : Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon Sport Utility 4-Door 2013 jeep wrangler unlimited rubicon sport utility 4 door 3.6 l
   $36,795.00
Jeep : Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon Sport Utility 2-Door 2005 jeep rubicon unlimited dynatrac build 4 x 4 reduced
Jeep : Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon Sport Utility 2-Door 2005 jeep rubicon unlimited dynatrac build 4 x 4 reduced
   $35,000.00
Jeep : Wrangler Unlimited Sahara Sport Utility 4-Door 2007 jeep wrangler sahara unlimited silver with extras
Jeep : Wrangler Unlimited Sahara Sport Utility 4-Door 2007 jeep wrangler sahara unlimited silver with extras
   $15,725.00
Jeep : Wrangler 6 SPEED 4WD WE FINANCE! 2014 JEEP WRANGLER UNLIMITED SPORT 4X4 LIFTED 3K MILE TEXAS AUTO
Jeep : Wrangler 6 SPEED 4WD WE FINANCE! 2014 JEEP WRANGLER UNLIMITED SPORT 4X4 LIFTED 3K MILE TEXAS AUTO
   $38,998.00