Home > Jeep Wrangler > Jeep Wrangler Rubicon

Jeep Wrangler Rubicon Photo

Jeep Wrangler Rubicon

The Jeep Wrangler Rubicon hit the market in 2003. The Wrangler Rubicon is essentially a Jeep Wrangler TJ that comes loaded with some extra offroad options such as: Dana 44 axles front & rear, air lockers front & rear, 4:1 low-range transfer case, 31" tires, 6 cylinder engine, cool rims, and few more cosmetic features.

User-Submitted Photos

Jeep Wrangler Rubicon photos

Owner Reviews

Jeep Wrangler Rubicon

Avg. Owner Rating: (9.1 Stars)
Number of Reviews: 21 reviews

Write a review and share your thoughts with other Jeepers.

Jeep Wrangler Rubicon - Reviews

Waited for this one
Date: Nov 03, 2012
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Fort Huachuca Az)
Vehicle: 2005 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon
Summary:
I heard in about 2003 that Jeep was drawing up a new model with a V6. I knew then I had to buy one before the change. The iron straight six, now tweaked and fuel injected, delivers the torque down low nothing like any V6 I've driven. Then I read that Jeep was upgrading the gearbox to a 6 speed and that my fellow jeepers that had 4.1 gears wished they had a 6th gear for the pavement. So I waited until 2005 to buy mine. It's been very reliable, and does better on and off road than any of my other modified jeeps. The factory air lockers and low low gears are sweet. This thing is bad to the bone off the assembly line. She's a keeper now..

Strengths:
Engineered for its intended purpose.

Weaknesses:
Engineered for its intended purpose.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
I'll Never Go Back Again
Date: Feb 22, 2012
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Louisville, KY)
Vehicle: 2005 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon
Summary:
I have had 2 of the Rubicons, an 03 and the current 05. I sold the 03 to buy my wife a new car (didn't want to have two loans), and immediately I regretted my decision. The 03 was an automatic and the current 05 is a 6-speed manual sourced from Mercedes. I never thought I'd like the manual, but now I realize that this is the way to go. The inline 6 has enough torque to limit your city traffic downshifting, so that minimizes the work of keeping it going down the street. I really can't imagine me driving any other vehicle from now on. Not that's it's not nice to drive the wife's BMW from time to time, it's actually a nice break. I have NEVER taken mine out for the intended purpose of playing "King of the Hill". That's sacrilegious to some, but when theirs is all busted up and mine is still looking like a new penny, I'll just smile and wave. I think it's my prerogative to use mine for how I see fit......My son will thank me some day when he inherits it.

Strengths:
Where do I start? Fun, fun, fun (did I mention fun?). Easy to work on as everything is "out there" under the hood and underneath the frame. It is so versatile, like the Swiss Army knife of the auto world. The outside metalwork is stout! It is truly a do it all if you can live with it's shortcomings, which you need to think about up front. If you enjoy a quiet comfy ride sipping on a cup of java while listening to your iPod on the way to work, you may reconsider your thoughts of buying one. Enjoy the brother/sisterhood of owning one. You'll get waves of appreciation from other "Jeepers" as you cruise down the highway making music from your knobby tires singing waawaawaawaawaa......

Weaknesses:
The Jeep is loud, has sucky gas mileage, few creature comforts although mine is loaded by Jeep standards. Gas mileage sucks. Towing capacity is 2000 lbs., so forget towing much or get a JK unlimited. Gas mileage sucks. Keeping the tires balanced and uncupped can be a trick. You have to keep up with them through rotations and proper maintenance. Gas mileage sucks. Interior space is horrible. Without the rear seat removed, it's almost non-existent. Did I mention gas mileage sucks?
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
It's A Jeep Thing
Date: Feb 09, 2012
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Dallas, TX)
Vehicle: 2006 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon
Summary:
I bought my 5th Jeep last year and this time it is the Unlimited Rubicon. I absolutely love it. I found a Lost diamond in this one as it only had 24000 miles on it. It is already lifted and has wheels and tires. I bought it sight unseen online. I don't regret it for a minute. I have all the tops available and every option they came with. In my opinion the best Jeep ever made and highly desirable. I've driven the newer model and it has not near enough torque aka balls.

Strengths:
too many to list

Weaknesses:
a little thirsty, but tolerable.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Will never go back
Date: Dec 29, 2011
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Columbus, Ohio)
Vehicle: 2010 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon
Summary:
I purchased my Jeep Rubicon 2010 brand new off the line 2 years ago and I have loved every minute of having it!! The gas milage is horrible even on the highway....and there is not much storage room.......and blah blah blah I knew all of this when I bought the jeep and dont regret a single moment I have had it! I have taken the jeep up mountains and down creek beds and through just about anything nature could throw at me and it has done it all. I even had to use her to help pull a friends truck up a mountain when it got stuck. The sound system sounds amazing and the offroad capabilities are endless. I had another car for gas milaege however I cant stand to drive anything but my jeep now so I sold the car! Even when I go on trips now I rent jeeps just becuase it kills me to drive something else.

Strengths:
Off Road!!! Top off!! has not had any mechanical issues in 2 years I have had it! very sexy vehical and the lady loves it too!!

Weaknesses:
gas I guess and pick up on the highway however you dont get a jeep for good gas or fast speeds anyway!
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
No Flaws
Date: Aug 05, 2011
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Arizona, USA)
Vehicle: 2005 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon
Summary:
I knew what I was buying. I've been deep in the business for over 20 years. This is, by far, the best vehicle I've ever owned. My engine light came on for the first time today and it was a poor connection on 1 vacuum line. You can't compare this with other vehicles. There's nothing on the retail market like it to compare. Full frame 1/2 ton, solid axles, coil suspension ( I still like leafs on my YJ 1989), straight 6 cast iron block and head, adding low gears, air lockers, Dana 44 axles, HD trNfer case, and 6 speed gear box is made for ALL TERRIAN. The off road capability of this unit is unmatched. The dimensions and symitry are dialed in for off road. I've decided not to lift this one, I installed a 2" coil spacer to fit 32" Kevlar tires to keep the smooth factory ride and rely on my driving skills and skid pans to get me through the rough stuff. You have to be a jeeper to appreciate this one. I've owned, ridden in and around tons of jeeps, this is the "Holy Grail" of Wranglers. The new model jeep fell off a cliff with a V-6 mini can engine with no low end torque, threw plasic everywhere (like the fenders), and the engineers decided to put the gas tank at high center your off road enjoyment. I now have a collectors item. My 2005 with 42k miles still holds a Kelly retail of 22.5k and I paid 28k for it 6 years ago. I wouldnt sell her for anything because I can't replace it. Did I mention I paid it off past week AND I LOVE MY TJ 2005 Rubicon.

Strengths:
...

Weaknesses:
Folks that don't understand what they're buying.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Flawed but Fun
Date: May 14, 2011
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Los Angeles, CA)
Vehicle: 2006 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon
Summary:
Bought new unlimited Rubi in 2006; rear main seal leaked at 20K mi.; distributor gear broke at 40K; interior rear mirror fell off at 60K; 4WD indicator lights malfunctioned at 55K; battery died in 2010; underhood light burns out regularly; front rotors replaced at 40K. All except rotors covered under warranty. Good service at Huntington Beach Jeep. Best off road vehicle ever had. I've had jeeps, landcruisers, toyota 4X4s, blazers. Great power, climbing ability, gas mileage tolerable if kept at 60MPH on long trips, good sound, good on road ride, extra room nice, can sleep in it stretched out if needed, great on and off road handling, Only mod is on board air. Air down the Goodyear M/Ts and it'll climb more vertical than you have the balls for. Doesn't need lifting, has sane center of balance stock. Stock tires sized perfectly. Too many gears, rarely use 1st around town, major torque, fair A/C. Still have it at 65K. Engine still tight and fast. Goin prospecting again soon with it.

Strengths:
Handling on and off road, power and torque, climbing/crawling ability.

Weaknesses:
Not real comfortable on long trips, wind blows in hard with driver side window down - annoying. windshield pits easily. likes gas
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Gaining my Sanity
Date: Apr 08, 2010
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Mesa, AZ)
Vehicle: 2010 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon
Summary:
I've had my 2-dr Rubicon since Dec 09 and it's been a "beautiful thing" Until last week it was stocked and even without mods ... I've been impressed with what the Rubicon is able to do. Two weeks ago, I was really stressed from work and decided to go out with an experienced "Jeeper" and others, into Box Canyon in AZ. Talking about gaining my sanity back, the ride was theraputic as I drove down river beds, climbed rocks and unknowingly "high-centerd" myself. Won't do that again (I hope). This week I took my Rubicon to another level ... I lifted it by 3", switch to 35" MTRs, incorporated other changes and baby are the heads turning. The weather is great and the top is off and I look forward to every time I turn the key over and forget about any worries. Oh yeah, the wife likes driving the Rubicon also!

Strengths:
Strong 4:1 gear ratio, agile, internal axle locking and swaybar disconnect system. Three piece top for any mood and soft top if necessary. Sound system rocks and love using the mygig. It's fun! I have owned 2 Jeep Liberties and Wrangler (4-dr) ... but I've finally found my true Jeep love!

Weaknesses:
Naturally it's the gas ... but I didn't buy it for gas mileage. When I need that I drive the other car or the motorcycle.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Having Fun Out There !!
Date: Feb 15, 2010
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Columbus, Georgia)
Vehicle: 2009 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon
Summary:
I have been wanting a Jeep for over 10 years and when Jeep came out with the Rubicon I had to have one. I have had my Jeep for a little over a year now and I love this thing. It is fun to drive and it will take you anywhere. The traction is so good I usually do not have to put this vehicle in 4 wheel-drive but if I do, I just push a button and shift. It's that simple! I have 3 vehicles and if I had to choose which one to keep, it would be my Jeep hands down. You can't beat the performance. For the rest of my life, I will always have a Jeep!

Strengths:
3.8 Liter Engine
Looks Great
4-wheel-drive ease
Can go anywhere,....street, woods or trail blazing!

Weaknesses:
Gas Mileage
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
It really is a Jeep thing
Date: Feb 10, 2010
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Windsor, ON)
Vehicle: 2004 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon
Summary:
Well I have owned other jeeps before i purchased my rubicon and they have all been everything I expected and more. My first was a liberty 02 followed by a 04 grand cherokee ltd and now my Rubi. To find one within my budget I had to go for a higher km's vehicle and was a little worried about having to deal with the old owners problems but after 4 months and 10,000 km I havnt had any problems except one. My ebrake just decided to stop working one day which turned out to be worn shoes on the rear roters.

Since I purchased my rubi I have been able to go places my previous jeeps had difficulty and have managed to find out how far I can push it before I get stuck. Its been a lot of fun and it gives you more confidence on the trails with the locking diffs and low range gearing...Just recently I started to purchase upgrades for it and its starting to become addictive and I would recommend anyone who is in the market for a rubi, be careful when making decisions to modify it. once you start you wont want to stop.

With my rubi being my only vehicle at this moment I have noticed a few things that become interesting to deal with. You manage to find creative ways to cope with some of the quirks of the jeep. I do lots of long distance highway driving and I find the most comfortable driving position is with your arm rested on the window sill. On long drives this driving position makes your arm go numb and you find yourself waving your arm around trying to get the feeling back...once again tho its part of the jeep experience and a numb arm is nothing to pay for the fun and enjoyment this jeep brings.

Overall my Rubi has been a great suv, and is able to tackle everything I have put it through.

Strengths:
Great on and off road capabilities, all the off road toys you need to get serious into off roading, great value

Weaknesses:
I feel as if my GC with the 4.7 HO was better on gas
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Mom and 2 kids rockin in the Rubicon!
Date: Jan 28, 2010
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Tennessee)
Vehicle: 2010 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon
Summary:
I am a mom of a 1 year old and a 2 year old. We are lovin' our Jeep! It fits us perfectly! My husband is always going 4-wheeling in his rail buggy so now I have MY OWN 4-wheeler and it is awesome!

Strengths:
Fun, looks and I feel safe!

Weaknesses:
None found so far!
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
2005 Rubicon Unlimited beyond belief
Date: Sep 17, 2009
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Monticello, Utah)
Vehicle: 2005 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon
Summary:
My Rubicon is beyond belief in all off-road challenges. With a 3.5" Rubicon Express lift, ProComp wheels and shocks, 33" Goodyear tires, and beefed up tie rod this machine is rock solid and will climb and descend anything. With the 4:1 gear ratio this is a rock crawling wizard especially with being able to simply flip a switch to apply lockers in tough conditions. And besides, it rides great on the highway, too. Do I love my "Bear"??? Cannot buy it from me for any price...it is just too much fun in the outback of Utah! And thank goodness, no anti-lock brakes like the new Jeeps which in my opinion is the worse thing you could put on a Jeep! Go Rubicon!!!

Strengths:
Rock solid in performance, driveability, comfort,and off-road hardcore ability.

Weaknesses:
None so far and I have put this machine to the test many times.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Rubicon -Leader of the Resistance
Date: Aug 02, 2009
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Lenexa, KS)
Vehicle: 2006 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon
Summary:
If it was Judgement Day...as in the Terminators were at war with humans..this is the vehicle i would be driving. It would work good in running over all the skulls and blown up machinery in the future war.

Strengths:
Looks cool. Performs like a suv hellbent on destroying all obstacles in it's path. Looks cooler than all sissy foreign suvs and runs over the top of them.

Weaknesses:
None. It is indestructable.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Edible wiring on JK Rubicon 4 door
Date: Jun 01, 2009
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Paradise, Texas (Ft. Worth area))
Vehicle: 2008 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon
Summary:
Have had this Ruby in the shop at Moritz Jeep in Ft. Worth repeatedly for bad wiring. They claim rodents are eating the insulation. I have 5 other cars, three generators, four airplanes, two ATV at this location where I've lived for 37 years. I've never had this problem with the other equipment. I bought the Jeep because it was an "off-road" vehicle. I spend a lot of time way out in the backcountry. That means it is supposed to go places far out into the boondocks with out having to be towed out ($1500 to $2000 a pop). Don't trust this vehicle to do that. This is not a vehicle you can trust in the wilderness. It would seem a simple thing for Chrysler to install non-edible (or non-tasty) insulation on a vehicle that is intended for operation in remote areas. Obviously not covered by warranty.

Strengths:
Does everything I ask of it on road and off road. Gets great trip fuel mileage (above 20 mpg).

Weaknesses:
Seems as though Chrysler could supply proper wiring insulation. At the prices we pay for Rubys, you wouldn't think it to be a problem. The dealer does not have educated techs. Takes several trips to find a chewed up wire.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
I Guess I got a Lemon
Date: Feb 18, 2009
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Baghdad Iraq (Again))
Vehicle: 2005 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon
Summary:
Hello I have always wanted a Jeep. Well I finally got one on my return from Iraq. The Rubicon I purchased (take over payments) was from one of my co-workers. He had purchased it brand new, and kept it garage parked. He had only had it in 4wd twice. It was immaculate clean with only 15000 miles on it. He also told me it had been in the shop 3 times, for various items. I said no problem, I am good to go with it. We put 10000 miles on it, over a years time. It was in the shop 5 times in that year for different issues. We decided to get ride of it before the warranty went out, even the dealership was amazed that it had so many problems. I am to this day very disappointed with my 1 and only jeep experience. I hope jeep fans do not have the same problems I encountered. Thanks for your time

Strengths:
1. The funnest vehicle I ever drove
2. One of the sharpest looking I have owned
3. Would climb a telephone pole if it could get traction

Weaknesses:
1. the fuel mileage was bad 13-14 mpg (I was aware of this at purchase)
2. A LEMON?????????
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Great Vehicle
Date: Oct 29, 2008
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Belfair, Washington)
Vehicle: 2006 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon
Summary:
2006 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon with 37,000 miles. 4.0 Litre, 6-speed manual transmission, NV241J 4:1 transfer case, Dana 44 axles, pneumatic lockers in both differentials, 4.11:1 gears, 245-75-16 Goodyear Wrangler MTR tires, four-wheel disc brakes, and diamond plate rocker guards, all factory stock.

In short, I love my Rubicon. Purchased new in August of 2005 as a 2006 model. Have put 37,000 miles on it so far.

If you are looking to purchase a Wrangler, you should know that these are unique vehicles like nothing else on the market. The ride is harsh and bumpy, the soft top is loud, it has roll-up windows, manual door locks and mirrors, it gets 15-17 MPG, and is very small for carrying anything more than a couple of suitcases. You can use it as a daily driver but you must be prepared to deal with its quirks. It is unlike any other vehicle on the road. You have to be okay with all of this before your purchase or you will not be happy in the long run.

That being said, it is by far the most fun vehicle I've ever driven. The soft top can be removed quickly and easily, the doors can be taken off in a few minutes by removing a couple of nuts, and you get waves from all the other Jeep drivers. The turning radius is great. Power is more than adequate for its size and weight. Reliability has been superb. The only problem I've had in over three years was a dead battery replaced under warranty. Maintenance has been simple oil/filter changes every 3,000 miles.

As for the Rubicon-specific upgrades, the Jeep is extremely capable off-road straight from the dealership. I still have on the stock aggressive mud terrain tires which have about 40% tread left after 37k miles. The 4:1 transfer case is great for technical trails off road. The Dana 44 axles are strong and the lockers make difficult terrain look simple. It's a stout vehicle with zero frills aside from driver and passenger airbags, A/C, CD player, cruise control, and a 7-speaker sound system. The 2003-2006 Rubicons are not available with an anti-lock braking system (panic stops on wet, icy, or snow-covered roads is a test of driver skill).

Strengths:
Fun factor, soft top removal, door removal, extremely reliable, easy to work on, maintenance is cheap and minimal, turning radius, off-road capabilities, strong drivetrain, uniqueness compared to other boring SUVs, looks (in my opinion), an American icon with a strong heritage

Weaknesses:
Very few - Gas mileage could be better, it can get loud on long trips, small size sometimes makes it impractical for daily use.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Awesome Right Off The Lot
Date: Aug 03, 2007
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Fort Worth, Texas)
Vehicle: 2006 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon
Summary:
My 2006 Rubicon is the second Jeep that I have owned, my first was a 97' TJ. The interior upgrades are perfect, the 6-Spd Manual rocks in the city and on the trail. Straight from the dealership the Jeep was a monster. No upgrades and I hung with and out performed friends with other models. Added a KN Filter Charger/Intake System and gained throttle response and 2-5 mpg on the highway. A must for the I6 engine. I have about 20k miles with only a wiper motor going out. Jeep replaced it in no time. The ride and cab noise is all Jeep, Mud Tires are loud, but another reason to own a Jeep. It isn't a vehicle for spoiled lazy people. I wouldn't trade my Rubicon for anything. Any Jeep owner looking for a new one, the Rubicon is worth the money, it screams to be taken off road, handled Mud, Hill Climbing, Rock Crawling, Sand Dunes, and Snow Drifts like a champ. Easy to engage the 4-wheel drive. Shift on the Fly four wheel drive is almost immediate, nice for slick days. Sub Woofer in the center console, and the satellite radio are a nice touch. Great Music on the trails and in town. Wonderful to ride with the top and doors off, the best convertible on the market.

Strengths:
Lockers, Goodyear MTR's, Dual Tops, Sound System, 6-Spd Manual, Dana 44's, Rims are Great Looking and Trail Practical, Interior is Perfect, Easily Upgraded, Fun to Drive, Cheap to Maintain. Tight turning radius is great for getting into tight spots.

Weaknesses:
Can get Uncomfortable on long trips, Gas Tank could be bigger. Wranglers in general get squirrely on slick roads, so much torque. It just takes a little getting used to.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Arctic Circle and Back
Date: Jun 18, 2007
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Shreveport, LA)
Vehicle: 2003 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon
Summary:
I bought my "Rubi" for the specific purpose of driving the thing with my family of three to the Arctic Circle and back from Louisiana. It was a 12,500 mile journey. I built a small offroad trailer to haul our junk and spare parts and off we went.

I took things like a fan belt, u-joints, every tool I had, oil, gas, stuff to fix the radiator, and on and on. I only every used the extra gas. Yes, the Alcan does have gas stations but they all close by 9:00 p.m. and it isn't even dark yet. So we did use the extra gas. My Rubi "Pork Chop" made the trip with just oil/filter changes and tire rotations. Not a single problem with any system on the jeep. Not one!

Pork Chop is my third jeep. I really enjoyed my first two and traded in my second for the Rubicon. I've never looked back and never regretted the purchase. In fact I will be purchasing a JK for my wife next summer.

Strengths:
In a nutshell:
Durability, quality of construction and design, best out of the box for what it was intended.

Weaknesses:
Canadian gas prices
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Best yet
Date: Mar 31, 2007
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Florida)
Vehicle: 2006 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon
Summary:
This is my 2nd Wrangler loved the 1st, this one is better. Off road this thing is great. Put the top down on road, and its not just transportation anymore, its just plain fun to drive. May not be for everyone, you have to like being a little different and like having fun. Living in Florida there is plenty of time to enjoy the open air, and still a lot of places to off road. I have not had any issues with anything so far. Everything just works.

Strengths:
Fun, great looks, best off road out of the box, good resale value

Weaknesses:
poor gas mileage
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Great jeep...it knows where its' home is.
Date: Aug 09, 2006
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Scottsdale, AZ)
Vehicle: 2003 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon
Summary:
This is my 3rd Wrangler ('88 YJ, '99 TJ and now '03 TJ Rubicon). Living in a area where the "top-notch" models are a must, I see a lot of Rubicons that will never see the dirt...both parties lose in this case. Because of the different gearing ratios, this jeep isn't as "peppy" as the standard I6 jeep (it'll do 75 mph...but just doesn't enjoy it). First gear is even more useless for street driving. Then you add on for all the off-road advantages the Ruby comes with...I have to wonder why someone who is not an off road fan would ever buy this! This is a Jeep made for dirty fun...and at that it is wonderful. It looks great, gets okay gas mileage, and is a blast to drive. For anyone who already knows that they love Jeeps, the Rubicon is the way to go!

Strengths:
Anyone who has looked at a Ruby knows about the add-ons. They are worth it! Great off-road potential right out of the box. Little after market performance upgrades are required...unless you off-road 90% of the time. Bottom line...it's the best (and not to mention 1/2 the cost of a H2...)

Weaknesses:
For its' original intent...none. Not as comfy at high speeds (not that the standard I6 is a caddy). Seems slower at accelerating than my older TJ.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Rubi Rocks
Date: Aug 09, 2006
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Fort Bragg, NC)
Vehicle: 2004 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon
Summary:
I have an 04 Wrangler Rubicon which I bought new. Haveing had 2 Jeeps prior, an 89 and a 00. I would have to say this one is the best. I do a lot of wheeling and this is a very capable rig. The only things I would change (and I have) are as follows. The location of the locker pumps. Stock they are on the tranny skid pan in the mud and water. I relocated mine to the try right in front of the driver side forewall. This lets you hear when the pumps are runing and keeps them out of the muck. Also the air lines will tend to crack and wear out pritty fast and if you try to lock the axels the pumps will just run and run and you will never know it,(unless relocated), putting unneed stress on the pump. Possibly burning it up. So to fix this issue replace the week air lines with some more durable fuel hose. As for the lockers, stock they can only be engaged in 4w low. You can rewire the switch very easy and allow you to use them in any range wich is nice. The only other Rubicon suggestion I would have is that you must rotate your tires often as they will tend to wear fast and uneven. Overall this is an awsome rig and it should not be keept on the road and in mall parking lots. So if you are in the market for a Jeep and dont plan on wheeling it please do the comunity a favor and go for a Sport of Sahara. Both are great Jeeps and will do the job. See you on the trails.

Strengths:
The axles and lockers are a great "out of the box" feature. Also you can get all the extras you would like, ie the a/c, dual tops, full doors, and whatever else you may like. The tires also rock, a little bigger would be nice but the MT/R is an awsome tread. The whole drivetrain is great, with the 4.0, low gears and dual D44's. Also the lack of a slip yoke rear drive shaft is a time and money saver.

Weaknesses:
The U joints are not strong enough to run lockers. This would be one of the first upgrades I would recomend if you are buying a pre minivan Rubicon(I believe they have stronger joints). The locker air lines will crack. Also the tow hooks on all the newer TJ's suck if you plan on really pulling. They will pull up and out of the fram so replace them. I am not the only one I know of with these issues.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Maximum Jeep
Date: Mar 22, 2006
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Omaha, Ne)
Vehicle: 2004 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon
Summary:
After giving my son the 97 Sahara and buying the wife an 03 Liberty Ltd., I figured I'd try to be content with my F250 V-10... until the gas prices went nuts. So back to the dealership in search of another Sahara. All the Sahara's had automatics so I went with the Rubicon with a 5spd. Gotta say I love it! I was used to the Wrangler ride and average 16-17mpg around town, which is twice of what the F250 got. If you're looking for luxury, smooth quiet ride, and great mpg, you really need to pass the Wrangler by. If you already own one and aren't happy with it, you need to go back on the drugs you were taking when you test drove and bought it. I'm 51 yo and not a rock crawler. But for the money and resale on these Jeeps you cant go wrong.

Strengths:
Does every thing well so far.

Weaknesses:
Sounds trite, but I sure wish I could find the Sahara carpet kit I install it. The insulation and extra carpeting would be real nice.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Jeep : Wrangler Rubicon
Jeep : Wrangler Rubicon
   $30,650.00
Jeep : Wrangler Rubicon Unlimited AEV EDITION 4.5 Lift WARN WINCH 20 Inch Fuel Wheels Over $25k in Mods
Jeep : Wrangler Rubicon Unlimited AEV EDITION 4.5 Lift WARN WINCH 20 Inch Fuel Wheels Over $25k in Mods
   $64,980.00
Jeep : Wrangler Rubicon 2012 Rubicon Used 3.6L V6 24V Automatic SUV
Jeep : Wrangler Rubicon 2012 Rubicon Used 3.6L V6 24V Automatic SUV
   $39,850.00
Jeep : Wrangler Rubicon 14 New Jeep Wrangler Rubicon 4x4 2 door hard top auto bluetooth cloth seats
Jeep : Wrangler Rubicon 14 New Jeep Wrangler Rubicon 4x4 2 door hard top auto bluetooth cloth seats
   $28,499.00
Jeep : Wrangler Rubicon Lifted Texas auto control black cloth interior Bluetooth Alpine audio hardtop warranty
Jeep : Wrangler Rubicon Lifted Texas auto control black cloth interior Bluetooth Alpine audio hardtop warranty
   $38,988.00
Jeep : Wrangler Rubicon 2010 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon Sport NAV Hard Top WTY ONLY 18,072 Miles
Jeep : Wrangler Rubicon 2010 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon Sport NAV Hard Top WTY ONLY 18,072 Miles
   $25,984.00