Home > Jeep Wrangler > Jeep Wrangler YJ

Jeep Wrangler YJ Photo

Jeep Wrangler YJ

The Jeep Wrangler YJ was manufactured from 1987-1995 and is easily recognized by its rectangular headlights and leaf-spring suspension.

Owner Reviews

Jeep Wrangler YJ

Avg. Owner Rating: (7.9 Stars)
Number of Reviews: 8 reviews

Write a review and share your thoughts with other Jeepers.

Jeep Wrangler YJ - Reviews

The best I've ever owned
Date: Nov 03, 2014
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Timmins, ON)
Vehicle: 1994 Jeep Wrangler YJ
Summary:
Bought this jeep in 2010. It was originaly a renegade model and suffered salty roads. I replaced the frame, cab and fenders. After all I decided just to restore it. 30000$ later its awesome.

Strengths:
4.0 with custom cam, roller rockers and shaved head doubles the stock torque. I burn my 35s if I want. Though and reliable vehicle.

Weaknesses:
Hard on ga
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Best engine and fun 2nd Car
Date: Aug 30, 2012
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Wrightsville Beach, NC)
Vehicle: 1995 Jeep Wrangler YJ
Summary:
I bought a 1995 YJ with the 6 cyl high output engine with 148K miles. I lifted it with the cheapest method (about $100) and added 32 x 12.5 Falcon tires.
I am having the time of my life. I keep the top off and keep in a garage. No catalytic converter required for 95"s. As a redneck, this Jeep will "screech a wheel" in first, second and third gear, even with these huge tires. It does not burn a drop of oil or has any leaks. I have replaced brakes and slave cylinder for the clutch. I bought the Jeep for $5K and now have about $6.5K in it. I have been offered $12K while in a parking lot. I found a used back seat that matches and added belts and pick up kids at school who think I am the cool Dad.

Caution: GET A SIX CYLINDER!!!!! 1995 YJ is a rocket


Strengths:
Fun, ultimate power

Weaknesses:
A fun vehicle. Not for primary transportation
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Jeep wranger yj 2.5
Date: Jul 06, 2012
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Apple valley ca )
Vehicle: 1995 Jeep Wrangler YJ
Summary:
I have the jeep wrangler with the 2.5 , i love the jeep but the motor blows as anyone will tell u with the very well known valve and head problems wich i didnt know till after i had experienced them , great jeep but get the 4.0 hands down , got a 350 im gonna slap in there this summer :0)

Strengths:
Good offroad capabilitys

Weaknesses:
2.5 very bad motor
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Last of the self repairer Jeeps.
Date: Feb 12, 2012
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Indiana)
Vehicle: 1988 Jeep Wrangler YJ
Summary:
First off before you buy a Jeep you need to realize a few things about Jeep Wranglers. They are very noisy when driving fast, they are very bumpy rides at any speed, they leak like a boat full of holes, and they get horrible gas milage and the more you add or change it just seems to get worse.

Having warned you of that and you still want a Jeep then you will have the best time of your life and will never love any car again like you love your Jeep. I have a 1988 4.0L 6cyl Wrangler Sport, that spent most it's life in California so it doesn't have a single spot of rust. If you have a choice between 4 cyl and 6 cyl, always pick the 6 cylinder!! Yes I know some would argue 4 cylinder gets better milage but think if you were worried about milage you wouldn't be getting a Jeep, right? The 6 cyl will offer u the power and strength you will later want as your Jeep changes your life and stuff you do.

Another great thing about the 88 is if you have some mechanical skill or have a mechanical mindset you can do pretty much all your repairs and upgrades yourself as long as you have the tool. The only work I haven't done myself on my Jeep is electrical work cause I don't know the first thing about wiring and electrical work.
As offroading goes Jeep will get you threw pretty much anything the average person will ever encounter plus some.

To sum it up I love my Jeep more then any car I've ever owned and every ride in it is a pleasure and a thrill. Summer time is exceptionally fun!

Strengths:
Easy to do self repairs
Fun to drive
Great offroad abilities even stock
4.0L is a good strong engine

Weaknesses:
If you live in the rust belt rust will be a constant battle.
You will probably spend more then what you paid for the Jeep in upgrades and accesorries lol
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Easy to Fix, Cool to drive, Great in the snow
Date: May 06, 2010
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (South Portland, ME)
Vehicle: 1995 Jeep Wrangler YJ
Summary:
I sold my 1999 Audi A4 1.8T and bought my very first jeep for just $1500. Second owner and I couldnt have asked for a better beginer jeep. 2.5L 1995 Jeep SE with 130k miles. No body rust!
Bought some new tires, have done all my own repairs and body work saving me tons of moola! I drive my jeep everyday and play on weekends. Its gone up the back side of Hawk Mnt one day and cruized the beach the next. What more can i say: Im in love!

Strengths:
4WD is always reliable and works amazing! Easy repairs for everything and parts are cheap!

Weaknesses:
Besttop that came with it is a pain in the a** to take off and put back on. Engine was some lifter issues due to dirty oil getting through the oil filters.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Simply put, I love it!
Date: Jul 23, 2007
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Houston, TX)
Vehicle: 1995 Jeep Wrangler YJ
Summary:
I've had this thing for 2 years now, pulling Daily Driver status and weekend warrior, tough as nails, hard to stop, and can go alot of places!

It's been through hell to say the least, submerged in water, jumped, covered in mud countless times and I even recall the skidplates making some love to a few rocks here and there ;) and it still gets me to where I want to go without any fuss and is just a pure blast on the weekends.

Strengths:
too much fun that it's almost a crime.
very solid and reliable
very capable offroad
looks awsome to boot....I even dig the square headlights, more so then the round.

Weaknesses:
the Dana35 rear axle
rough suspension (will be fixed once I get a lift on it).
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
1994 YJ 2.5 5spd
Date: Mar 13, 2006
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Los Angeles, CA)
Vehicle: 1994 Jeep Wrangler YJ
Summary:
Yeah, I bought a 4 cylinder/5spd YJ in 1999 and have used it ever since. The Wrangler Jeeps offer monumental bang-for-the-buck and, obviously, a superbly developed aftermarket that makes repairs almost something to look forward to(the repair costs money but it's an opportunity to upgrade)

My Grandpas used the original Willys Jeeps back in WW2/Korea and those came with 4cyl/manual trans; my father used a newer version during a tour in 'Nam. So, out of tradition, I stuck with that setup when I picked up my YJ.

Frankly, the 4.0 6 is a great engine, but a "tuned" 2.5 from 91-95 is very adequate for city/highway driving. I only use 29" tires, but if I were to run 33" tires, I would have to regear (which is less of a necessity with the 4.0 and would cost you a minimum of $800 to do on the front and rear axles on a 4cyl)

The 4cyls real offroad weakness is the Dana 35 rear axle. If you run large tires, 31 or greater, on the more serious off-road terrain, you are going to likely break the D35 axle. I run 29s to hopefully avoid this problem.

Mileage with the four is adequate, 18/20 MPG. I have a 20 gallon tank, so I am good for 400+ miles on the road. In this day and age of overpriced fuel (due to seemingly poorly regulated "hedging" by the oil companies), I am grateful that I run a modified 4.

My Jeep is 12 years old, but I have Sirius Satellite radio and a Garmin Map-GPS (which I'd put on an old Willys, too, if I had the opportunity). The Jeep design doesn't seem to go out of style and the upgrades keep it contemporary.

Strengths:
Value, aftermarket, girls dig it, 4x4 and convertible, wash out interior, configurable to practically any situation, can do more than the average amount of work on the vehicle yourself.

Weaknesses:
Like I said, I didn't get the 6, so I can't bitch about mileage. Once modified, the 4 makes ok power w/out sounding like a tuned Honda Civic.

Weakness: probably the D35 axle on 4 cyls and some 6 cyls. A real issue if you are going off-road with larger tires, lockers and/or 6-8 cyl engine. Also, stock Goodyear/BFG tires are generally crap; I run Bridgestone Revos which are outstanding on/off road.

I'd probably go with a 10 star rating if my YJ came with Bridgestone Revos and the Dana 44 axle.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
I like my Jeep TJ a bit better than my YJ
Date: Jan 31, 2006
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Boston, MA)
Vehicle: 1988 Jeep Wrangler YJ
Summary:
I owned a 1988 YJ for about 3 years. It was a 6-cylinder with a 5-speed transmission. It was a good starter Jeep for me because it was cheap (bought it used) and it was a solid vehicle. I think YJ's are great Jeeps, but I like my newer TJ a lot better. It has many more creature comforts.

Strengths:
Convertible, great offroad and in snow, fun to drive.

Weaknesses:
Low gas mileage, minimal storage space, cabin is loud on the highway. Most Jeep Wranglers and CJ's seem to have these weaknesses...you either love them or hate them. I love mine.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
1992 Jeep Wrangler Red Jeep Wrangler YJ
1992 Jeep Wrangler Red Jeep Wrangler YJ
   $5,900.00
1995 Jeep Wrangler  1995 Jeep Wrangler YJ 5 speed 6cyl 4wd Air Conditioner Tow Hitch
1995 Jeep Wrangler 1995 Jeep Wrangler YJ 5 speed 6cyl 4wd Air Conditioner Tow Hitch
   $6,900.00
1990 Jeep Wrangler  1990 JEEP WRANGLER YJ LIFTED
1990 Jeep Wrangler 1990 JEEP WRANGLER YJ LIFTED
   $10,000.00
1987 Jeep Wrangler YJ 1987 Jeep Wrangler YJ CJ TJ Rock Crawler Monster Jeep Project Lifted 355 SBC !!!
1987 Jeep Wrangler YJ 1987 Jeep Wrangler YJ CJ TJ Rock Crawler Monster Jeep Project Lifted 355 SBC !!!
   $10,500.00
1995 Jeep Wrangler  1995 Jeep Wrangler yj low miles in good running condition
1995 Jeep Wrangler 1995 Jeep Wrangler yj low miles in good running condition
   $4,000.00
1995 Jeep Wrangler YJ Jeep Wrangler 4” lift
1995 Jeep Wrangler YJ Jeep Wrangler 4” lift
   $6,500.00