Jeep Parts > Tires > BF Goodrich Mud Terrain Tires

BF Goodrich Mud Terrain Tires Photo

BF Goodrich Mud Terrain Tires

Brand: BF Goodrich
Features:

  • Comes in a variety of sizes
  • Quiet onroad while still performing offroad
  • Raised white letters
  • Size options to fit a variety of Jeeps

User-Submitted Photos

BF Goodrich Mud Terrain Tires photos

Owner Reviews

BF Goodrich Mud Terrain Tires

Avg. Customer Rating: (7.3 Stars) Average Customer Rating
Number of Reviews: 23 reviews

Write a review and share your thoughts with other Jeepers.



BF Goodrich Mud Terrain Tires - Reviews

Customer Rating Tire Popped and Split From Almost Rim To Rim
Date: Jul 18, 2011
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (San Diego, CA)
I had a set of BF Goodrich Mud Terrain tires 33" on a 06 Wrangler. The tires were about 5 years old but had barely been used, approximately 80% of the tread was left. I swapped these tires from a 73 CJ5 that I just wasn't using that much anymore. After around 4000-5000 miles after the switch the tire popped on me going down the hi-way doing 75-80 MPH. The vehicle shook for 2-3 seconds then I heard a "POP" Instantly this threw my vehicle where it flipped and rolled and totaled the vehicle. I had to be airlifted away as a result of this accident. Investigators from Jeep and my insurance company both concluded that this was a product defect that caused the accident. While taking up the issue with BF Goodrich they advised me to take the tire in to be inspected. The tire store stated after about 10 seconds of looking at the tire that it was caused by a road hazard. I did not hit anything at all during this 4 hour trip that I was just on and the tire was inflated at 35 psi. BF Goodrich didn't care about the accident or my injuries. They did offer me 30% off a new tire. Too bad I don't have a vehicle to put a tire on anymore.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating POS
Date: Sep 15, 2010
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Camas, WA)
The worst tires ever!!! First of I am very very anile when it comes to my tires. Had 31s on a 99 Cherokee that cupped at less than 10k like I have never seen before. Had 32s on a 94 Wrangler that 2, yes 2 of the tires separated on the sides at the tread. BFG said I ran them at low pressure and would do nothing about it. This was with 5k on one and 10k on the other. I would never buy a BFG ever again!!!
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating KM2s
Date: May 29, 2010
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (California)
The KM2s are Fantastic tires on the street and in dry rock. The street ride is almost as good as a all-terrain, they are very quiet, and they last a long time. The KM2s are also extremely good in dry rocks - probably one of the better tires I have used for rock crawling. They really wrap around rocks, even running with higher pressures like 20#. This is why most of the rigs you see running Moab use KM2s or IROKs.

But in wet rocks and on wet pavement, they don't do so well. I think the lack of siping causes a lot of slippage with these tires in wet conditions. They are great in the sand, but not as good in the mud as most of the other MT tires.

Overall, the KM2 is a good compromise between a street and trail tire.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating NOT for pulling a trailer
Date: Jun 06, 2009
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Antioch, Calif.)
These tires are great for off road, but if your carring a load or pulling a trailer,be careful.
With the soft tread and a rolling sidewall, it makes you feel as if your going to lose control in any kind of quick corners or a quick swerve around sombody. I wouldn't buy them for the road again.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Bad on Ice
Date: Jun 08, 2008
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Lac La Biche, AB, Canada)
I bought these tires last summer for my Ranger off road edition. They are a mean tire on Sand, Mud and other off road surfaces. They handle well on pavement for a mud tire, But when it came to November December even in 4x4 on pavement i couldnt move, the would just spin on ice. And once you got going you cant turn they slide right into the ditch. Other than that they look mean, make my ranger look bad ass, and are great im mud, skeg, swamp or whatever you want to go though.

265/75/16
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Awesome SNOW and Mud tires
Date: Feb 16, 2008
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Portland, Oregon)
These took us all around the mountain. Don't have to chain up. Parked it at the lodge for around three days to ski, hard snow fall and ice pellets everyday. Last day they closed the lift due to bad weather. We have 33x12.5x15 on our Full size Bronco and they rock. Every one had to dig out. Just put in four wheel drive, rocked it back and fourth a couple of times and we were off.. Every one was wishing..LOL And the sand,, WOW, was that fun.. As far as mud,, we never got stuck once..SO Far So GOOD.. Love em... Great on pavement and even in the rain..
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Good all around tire
Date: Feb 15, 2008
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Gas City, IN)
I have had several sets of bfg tires! I think they do ok in mud as long as it is'nt to deep, there are better 4x4 tires for deep mud. They could be better on wet pavement(alittle sipping would'hurt) ready to try the new km2's as sooon as they are availble in 15's!
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating No rocks!
Date: Dec 30, 2007
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Lake Havasu City, AZ)
Good tire for dual purpose street and off road, did well in the mud. If you rock crawl at all, avoid these tires. Shredded my 33's. Sidewalls are breakfast, lunch and dinner for rocks!
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Stink on Rock
Date: Aug 04, 2007
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Maryland)
Weak sidewalls... Killed two during a weekend on rocks... dont get if you crawl
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Perfect Jeep tire
Date: Jul 13, 2007
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (El Dorado Hills, Ca.)
Just added a set of 33's on my '00 Wrangler and these babies rock! Great ride with very little noise and only slight noticeable vibration @ around 5mph on the street. Offroad air 'em down to about 10 psi and hit the rocks! These babies conform and pull you up the slickest granite and seem to be very tough when banged against tree roots and sharp rocks. I ran a set of Super Swamper TSL's before and will never go back after these beauties! Overall a perfect Jeep tire.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Tried the rest stick with the best!
Date: May 24, 2007
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Los Angeles, CA)
I have had these mudders on pre-runner dirt use only, everyday use trucks and weekend dirt trucks, I HAVE NO COMPLAINTS! I have averaged 60,000 plus on my muds with rotation every other oil change and had only 2 sidewall punctures with heavy brush & thorns, two flats by rolling my truck over 4TIMES & just having to air them up again because they popped of the beeds.... Since 1986 They have been my best tire! I have tried others and have no comparison with either traction or wear. 2 THUMBS UP!
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating No ride difference on road
Date: Oct 16, 2006
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Westchester, NY)
I recently upgraded my 02 Wrangler Sport with a 2" skyjacker BB and went from the original 30x9.5 tires (on Canyon rims) to 32x11.5 BFG mud terrains (needed wheel spacers because of rubbing). With 1,000 miles down, I feel very little difference between the tires. Can't wait to try them off-roading.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Great dual purpose tire
Date: Sep 22, 2006
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Rhode Island)
I recently changed over from 31-10.50 AT to the 33-10.50 MT on my TJ and they are great. In addition to the benefit of increased ground clearance the tire works great in mud and the lugs hold well on rocks. The price was reasonable and I would highly reccomend them...
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Awsome Tire...Awsome Value
Date: Aug 15, 2006
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Corvallis, OR)
I have a set of 33X12.50" R15" BFG Mud Terrains and I am very impressed. They may not be the best tires on the planet but they are a good overall tire, have a decent tread life if take care of and are inexpensive by comparison. According to 4WheelParts.com they are about $172.00 per tire for the 33s that I have. Goodyear Wrangler MTR's go for $240 per tire, Mickey Thompson Baja Claw's go for $276 per tire and Toyo Open Country MT go for $231, These are all comperable tires and are all much more expensive. I have been very happy with the amount of traction and tread life of my the BFG Mud Terrains and would recomend them to anyone who is interested in doing light to medium off-roading, or just wants and inexpensive agressive looking off-road tire.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Great tire!
Date: Jan 24, 2006
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Boston, MA)
Great Tire in the mudd!! Not to noisy at all on highways. Only problem I had was when it rains these tires are all over the place, especially if you hit a puddle the truck will pull hard to one side, but overall great tire!
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Best All Around Tire
Date: Dec 29, 2005
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Waterloo, ON)
I'd had these tires on my old TJ for over 3 years and they still had about a years worth of tread left (My new Jeep came with new tires which I'll replace with BFG Muds as soon as I can afford it). Besides wearing well they are quiet and smooth on the road for a bit lug Mud Terrain. Now offroad is were it matters most of course and here they shine. Mud, rocks, slippery root infested trails, whatever, these tires rock. I drove straight up a very steep rock face that a guy with lower gearing and Krawler tires couldn't get up.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating bfg mt
Date: Nov 13, 2005
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (dallas, tx)
i think this is one of the best all purpose tires. if you need a tire for mud this thing will get you through it all. it also grips the rocks well enough to keep up with others in its class. and it will last longer than many other on the street. so if you do all three this is the tire for you.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating great tire for mud and sand
Date: Aug 11, 2005
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (richwood,texas)
i ran on the 31/10.50 bfg mud tire for a year and only got stuck one time because i high centered on my friends 35 bogger ruts. never got stuck in sand but tried too many times.i had to get rid of them last year because i lifted my jeep and put 33s on it. the tires had more than half tread when i sold them to one of my friends and the tires didnt realy loose any tread since then. the bfg mud tire is one of the best tires out there.what ive seen and experienced it is better than the mtr, pro comp mud and x terrain, cooper mud tires, and will keep up with some of the swampers and will keep up with the mickey thompson baja belted.this is a great tire for all use.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Don't like mud
Date: May 01, 2005
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (MN)
These tires provide excellent traction for most off road perposes besides any kind of muddy situation. I know the tread is an AT but expected better proformance from from them. Compared to other AT tires like Wranglers and Bridgestones the BFG are slightly better unless all around but the other two are better in mud. Overall ware they are long lasting and great on the road with little to no noise. Hope this helps you out.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Great Tire!
Date: Dec 01, 2004
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Chicago, IL)
Great tire on road! I have about 10k miles on them and still have at least 70% tread. Proven to out wheel fellow Jeepers with Goodyear MT's - due to the ability to "de-gum" the tires. Great all around tire - well balanced tire between on and offroad.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating they eat mud for lunch
Date: Oct 29, 2004
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (pgh)
i run the 'skinny 33's' (BFG 33x10.5's)...and love them...they churn away at just about any mud hole you throw at them...
2nd gear in 4LO + BFG muds = fun time had by all!
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Good Mud and Pavment Tire
Date: Oct 08, 2004
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Laguna Niguel, CA)
I have BFG M/T KM's on both my Jeeps and I'm on my second set on my TJ. What I love about these tires is that they are amazingly quiet for a mudder and last forever so long as you rotate them on a regular basis. For me, that's about once every 3,000-5,000 miles. If you're Jeep see a lot of pavement like mine does, I would highly recommend these tires. My last set gave me just about 60,000 miles of wear with tread to go. Having said that, if your Jeep sees a lot of sharp desert rocks, I would recommend going with something a bit tougher in the sidewalls like Goodyear MT/R's. I have personally eaten through 2 sidewalls on the trail.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Good tire for on and off road.
Date: Sep 21, 2004
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Portland, OR)
I only have experience with two tires, BFG MT 33x12.50x15 and Goodyear MTR 35x12.50x15. The BFG was a good tire both on and off road. Because of the lug design, it has a high frequency vibration between stopped and about 5mph on the road.

Comparison: the BFG has a softer sidewall than the MTR and therefore rode a bit smoother over small bumps. For some strange reason the MTR seems to ride better on heavy bumps and smooth roads. Overall, the MTR rides better on-road. Off-road they are very similar. Although I never had a problem with the sidewall on the BFG, the MTR is much stronger and at least I feel safer when I'm in the rocks.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
BFGoodrich Mud-Terrain T/A KM2 Tire 37 x 12.50-17 SWL Radial 99782 Each
BFGoodrich Mud-Terrain T/A KM2 Tire 37 x 12.50-17 SWL Radial 99782 Each
   $425.97
BF Goodrich 00606 Mud Terrain T/A KM2 Tire
BF Goodrich 00606 Mud Terrain T/A KM2 Tire
   $207.98
NEW BF Goodrich Mud-Terrain T/A KM 2 33x12.50/ R15 108Q 6PR TL TIRES
NEW BF Goodrich Mud-Terrain T/A KM 2 33x12.50/ R15 108Q 6PR TL TIRES
   $266.50
BFGoodrich Mud-Terrain T/A KM 255/75R17 Tires
BFGoodrich Mud-Terrain T/A KM 255/75R17 Tires
   $50.00
BFGoodrich Mud-Terrain T/A KM2 37.5 / 12.50R20  5 tires total
BFGoodrich Mud-Terrain T/A KM2 37.5 / 12.50R20 5 tires total
   $1,500.00
4 NEW BF-GOODRICH MUD TERRAIN T/A KM2 TIRES LT285/75R16 CHEVY FORD TOYOTA TACOMA
4 NEW BF-GOODRICH MUD TERRAIN T/A KM2 TIRES LT285/75R16 CHEVY FORD TOYOTA TACOMA
   $1,294.00