Jeep Parts > Fender Flares > Bushwacker Pocket Style Fender Flares

Bushwacker Pocket Style Fender Flares Photo

Bushwacker Pocket Style Fender Flares

Brand: Bushwacker
Features: These flares add additional coverage to your Jeep after you increase tire size.

  • Avail. in 6" & 4.75" widths
  • No drilling or cutting - flares use existing OEM Jeep mounting holes
  • Matte black finish - can be painted

Owner Reviews

Bushwacker Pocket Style Fender Flares

Avg. Customer Rating: (6.0 Stars) Average Customer Rating
Number of Reviews: 25 reviews

Write a review and share your thoughts with other Jeepers.



Bushwacker Pocket Style Fender Flares - Reviews

Customer Rating 1991 Toyota Pick Up
Date: Nov 13, 2015
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Trinidad, Colorado)
Had my 4 inch cut outs installed 3 years ago by a 4x4 shop. Front flare fell off driving down the freeway all the other ones are cracked or broken finally removed them today. junk!
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Cracked? I Wish!!!
Date: Oct 20, 2009
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Utah)
Put the Bushjunker flares on my Jeep a year and a half ago. All four have fractured and tore away from the supports. I reconnected the flares with larger rubber washers to fill the large holes where the flares broke away. That did not stop the brittle, thin plastic from breaking again.

The Jeep has not even been off road since the flares were put on. One tore completely off 3 months after purchase in a car wash. WASTE of money!!! Do not waste your money!!!
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Bushcrackers would be a better name.
Date: Jul 13, 2009
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Up North)
Bought these to replace the stock Rubicon Flares on my 2005 Rubicon Unlimited due to local laws requiring complete tire coverage. Put them on in Oct, had a hard freeze in January and they cracked in 6 different places! Would not recommend these flares to my worse enemy. Total crap for the money you pay for them.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Fender Flares
Date: Oct 13, 2008
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Camas, WA)
I love my fender flares they make my jeep sexy.
You wouldnt believe how the men hit on me.

(im a girl and my jeeps a beast) haha

:)
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Great Product
Date: Aug 21, 2008
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Greeneville, TN)
Do not know how long they have been on the Jeep I have had it a year and they still look new. Clean up easy and keep most rocks and stuff off of the Jeep. I have major tire rub on them and they just conform back the orginal shape and cant even tell the tire hit it. Anyways get what you pay for.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Not flying into trees!
Date: May 28, 2008
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Virginia Beach, VA)
Well, it finally happened to me!
I broke the passenger side front. How you ask?? Well I brushed a tree in the Uwharrie national forrest in NC while hardly moving. Small tree, 1 1/2 inch dia. brushed it...hardly at all! Buckled it, bent the plastic like it had been heated and forced that way, cracked in 2 places!! Still like the flares but for the small percentage of us that actually wheel like it was meant to be, these things will happen and bushwacker flares are not as durable or flexable as may be desired!
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Slight wack thats crap
Date: May 24, 2008
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Ventura, CA)
I too own the six inch pocket flars: they have done the rubicon trail two times with out any problems with rubing trees rocks ect. ( sure I scratch them abit so what)
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Look Great
Date: Mar 08, 2008
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (E-Town, KY)
I have 12.5" X 33" Baja Claws on MT Classic II's which stick out about nine inches from the side of my TJ. I bought the 6" pocket style flares and they add to the wide wheel base look which looks very aggressive; they also control most of the dirt and debris my tires kick up. I understand that some people have had problems with them being brittle but it depends what your priorities are; if you want an off road vehicle then there are several components you need to keep simple and even not use. On the other hand; personally when I add parts to my Jeep it is mainly for looks, right now it is a beast and that is how I like it. My Jeep is easily the best vehicle I have owned and driving it is a thrill every time. Bushwackers pocket style flares are a great addition to any Jeep and are easy to install.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Fender Flars, good looks, but what about off road?
Date: Feb 22, 2008
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Boise, ID)
These are probably the best looking accessory you can buy for the Wrangler for the price. The best fenders out there. They are bolted to the body, and are pretty durable. Yes, they will fade (what plastic doesn't?). Trail use, I find they are excellent they keep the mud off and are durable enough to stand a few hits. But honestly anyone into extreme rock crawling should invest in tube fenders instead. These fenders are for people who want new fenders go off-road quite a bit but aren't flying into trees apparently like some people are doing. I am careful off-road so I don't have to worry about these too much, besides if one of them breaks, I will just buy a new one! Good looks, (decent price), good off road, well built, you get what you pay for. A good product, somewhat good price. Good investment
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Stop Complaining
Date: Aug 05, 2007
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Pemberton, NJ)
Despite what people are saying, these are excellent flares and a good investment if you need additional tire coverage (here in NJ if your tires stick out you will fail inspection). If you notice the complaints are coming from people that hit trees, rocks, or puddles (at probably high speeds)!!! What do you expect? Come on people. I have taken them off-road and went through water puddles no problem. At first I bought the Smittybilt knock-offs and they were thin as a gallon milk jug. It felt like they would blow off the car and you had to drill to install them. I sent them right back and got these instead. The material is top quality as is the harware. Get them and be the judge for yourself. You won't me sorry.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating What a garbage?
Date: Apr 26, 2007
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Linden , New Jersey)
What a disaster! The other day we had a huge storm here in new jersey...so i felt good because we had huge floods..i was riding through one and my rear passenger side flare just cracked in 3 spots!!!!whats that about? i paid almost $400.00 for them 2 months ago..like others here i got bushwacked also...
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Look nice perform very poorly
Date: Mar 05, 2007
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Richmond, VA.)
I am somewhat disappointed in Bushwacker right now. I switched from my stock Rubi flares to Bushwackers 6" Pocket Style flares. On my last outing, I glanced (And yes I mean glanced a tree) in a tight spot, and the flare split and popped off of three or four of its mounts. No damage to the fender but...

The stock flares have a lot more 'Give' than these Bushwacker flares. I have glanced the same spot when I had the stockers on and the only result was some pin stripping. This flare just split up the middle by the side marker light. Bushwacker says it is not a defect and will not warranty one flare.

I kinda thought they seemed to rigid for a trail vehicle. Now I know (But on a review site, The review had a similar problem and stated Bushwacker had redesigned the flares to correct for that... Guess not). Now I know. And I know now that Bushwacker should never be used on a trail rig.

It is disappointing that they charge $194.00 for one replacement flare when the entire set cost around $340.00. And even more disappointing that they would not warranty it. Had I slammed the tree or been in an accident, fine. But the stock flares handled this trail many times in the past and just flexed around slight rubs on things. Just my rant. Thanks.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Great looking....but
Date: Nov 01, 2006
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Rehoboth MA)
as everyone else has stated, they are not very flexible. I saw them on another guys jeep and knew I loved the look. It's funny, cause when mounted on his jeep they seemed to flex really well. Then I opened mine and realized how stiff they are. I'm not beating mine up off roading, so they should be okay for what I do on or off road. Mostly mild trails, and I really got them to cover the wider tires and wheels because of state laws. They get high marks for coverage and looks, and flexibility (lack of) and price knock them down a bit. I also got mine off ebay, they are genuine Bushwacker for about $313. I was afraid to chance it with the knock off brand, but it seems that some people got the same value for $50 a flare as most of us did who paid $75 to $125 per flare.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Looks yes, Trail No
Date: Oct 12, 2006
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Everett, WA)
The Flares are terrible.

They look good but do not perform. Even for mild trail use.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Bushwacker flares
Date: Apr 15, 2006
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Andrews, SC)
If you are a Rock Krawler then don't buy Bushwacker flares because there is no bend or flex in them. I have to repair BOTH rear flares every time I go out. All four (4) of my flares are cracked, broken off, etc. There have an appropiate name because In buying them I got Bushwacked.
Jim
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Off brand pocket style fender flares
Date: Jan 07, 2006
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (georgia)
I actually got the off brand of flares from four wheel parts for half the price of the real thing. However my neighbor has the brand name and can't tell the differnce. The flares are easy to intall and provide great coverage. They are not as flexable or strong as the stock ones so do look elswear if you think you will be wacking them into stuff. I did notice one thing that may bother some, the rear flares sit about 1/2 inch lower than the stock pices so there is a line in the paint on my jeep where the old ones were, along with some minor paint chipping. Only bothers me because my jeep is only a year old but oh well.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating 6" Pocket Flares
Date: Dec 10, 2005
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Andersonville, TN)
Look great, and cover great. Material is very thin and brittle, and does not flex. Angled downward so if wheel well clearance is *any* sort of an issue, do not buy them. Got an off-brand of these from 4wheelparts.com for $200 and can't tell any difference in these vs. the real Bushwacker flares. For $200, I can live with them though.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Bushwackers
Date: Nov 26, 2005
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Atlanta, GA)
Look great, much better tire coverage but would not use if rockcrawling does not flex very good. Also wish they were not so expensive.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Cover the tires, but don't hit anything.
Date: Oct 31, 2005
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Orange CA)
I have the 7 inch flares on an 03 Rubicon. They look good, but the angle they hang down don't make them a good choice if you are looking for a WIDE opening. They DO NOT FLEX... I have already broken the front left from a minor hit. They are WAY over priced. There are better choices that flex better, but others won't look as cool as these do.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Pocket flares do the job
Date: Oct 31, 2005
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Everett, WA)
I installed these flares over a year ago and while they do keep the mud off your rig, the aren't very trail worthy.

3 out of the 4 flares are cracked or chipped in places. I REALLY abuse them though. I have rubbed many a tree and they came out fine, I layed the jeep on it's side and that caused damage to both the drivers side flares but they still work and look good.

My advice for the hard core trail wheeler would be to install them using only 4 screws and when you get into the tight trails, take em off and put them on before you go home.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Most complimented OEM part!
Date: Jul 23, 2005
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Riverside, CA)
The Bushwacker Pocket Style Fender Flares came painted - standard equipment on my Tomb Raider-edition Wrangler Rubicon for '03.

So far, they provide excellent coverage for my 33"x12.5"r15 TrXus MT tires - keeping water, dirt, rocks, and mud away from the side of my vehicle.

Jeepers and non-Jeepers alike continually compliment me on the look and utility that these flares provide the look of my Rubicon. When the Tomb-Raider was purchased, it looked awkward with the 9.5" wide MT/R tires and 5" backspaced Alcoa wheels. After selling the wheel/tire combo and buying a set of 15x8" wheels with 3.75" backspacing, my need for a credible flare was realized by the Bushwacker Pocket Flare.

I did, however hit a nice rock-outcropping while at Hi-Desert Roundup, causing my nice painted flare to grow a 3-pronged scratch. Nothing a little touch-up paint can't fix.

I'll keep these flares as long as I keep the Rubicon!
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating No Flex
Date: Jul 22, 2005
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (wrj,VT)
I really liked the looks of these flares and thought that I was getting top of the line...as I certainly paid top of the line pricing. I purchased the Prepainted ones from Quadratec for close to $500 bucks. The first time out on the trails, I barely brushed up against a tiny bush/sapling, and the brittle plastic flare virtually exploded. I did get another flare from the factory...however it took a month to receive. Keep in mind, I was following the same line as everyone in front of me...all had to brush against the same thing, and mine was the only flare to bust. I was and am very dissappointed in this product. I would have given less stars, but they do look decent. Thats the only saving grace. Sorry to be the bearer of bad news...if your going to go offroading, get flares that flex.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Works for me
Date: Jun 28, 2005
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (San Antonio, TX)
I totally love the look of my jeep with this addition. On thing I did that I suggest to others is to purchase and install the screw rivets into the holes where you will screw in the flares. This makes the job much easier, especially in the case of the rear flares, where you're expected to remove the wheel well to install... just made it easier for me.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Bushwackers 6" Flares
Date: Mar 31, 2005
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Uniontown, PA)
I had a pair of Bushwacker Fender Flares for a total of one week I realized these are not made for flexing. If your mall cruising or riding a stock trail maybe but going over hills and rock your tires will rub the inside and crack the flares. Very week!

Good note: Installation was easy and they do look good and keeps the mud out of your cab.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating They stop the slush & mud, and look good too!
Date: Aug 28, 2004
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Boston, MA)
I've had the 6-inch Bushwacker fender flares on my TJ for about 1.5 years. They provide a lot more coverage than the stock TJ Sport flares. The Bushwackers completely cover the tread on my 33x12.5 tires (mounted on 15x8 rims with 4" backspacing). The sidewall sticks out a tiny bit.

The flares were pretty easy to install because they line up with all of the stock holes. They also come with new nuts and bolts, so you don't have to wrestle with the crappy stock hardware.

My complaints about the Bushwackers are that they DO fade like most other black plastic flares (even though the manufacturer says they have "100% UV Protection"). Also, the flares are made of very stiff plastic...so if you bounce your Jeep off a lot of trees you may want to look for a more flexible flare (I try not to make a habit of hitting things w/ mine).
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.