Jeep Parts > Soft Tops > Bestop Sunrider Soft Top

Bestop Sunrider Soft Top Photo

Bestop Sunrider Soft Top

Brand: Bestop
Features: Bestop Sunrider Jeep Soft Tops are unique because the roof folds back partially to create a quick sunroof in your Jeep. This is great for those days when you don't feel like removing the entire top. This Jeep soft top comes complete with hardware, top, and windows. The Sunrider is availabe for Jeep TJ, YJ & CJ and comes with a 2 year limited warranty.

Owner Reviews

Bestop Sunrider Soft Top

Avg. Customer Rating: (3.6 Stars) Average Customer Rating
Number of Reviews: 10 reviews

Write a review and share your thoughts with other Jeepers.

Bestop Sunrider Soft Top - Reviews

Customer Rating Poor fit on rear seal
Date: May 11, 2016
Reviewer: A User from (New Smyrna Beach, Fl)
Note on instruction sheet says seal may bulge in the center. that is an understatement, what bulges is the whole top. This makes for a very ugly installation. Bestop better get back to the drawing board to figure this issue out.
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of
Customer Rating F$#%$#$# Headliner
Date: Nov 03, 2012
Reviewer: A User from (Albuquerque, NM)
Well, the instructions are not good. They need a technical writer to make the install less ambiguous. I can tell that the quality of the parts are fairly cheap. I also now have a very noisy and leaky headline. The seal is not complete. I asked Bestop to send another headliner part because I thought that would fix it. Nope...not really! The tolerances on the manufacturing are horrible. If I can see variances from one headliner clip to another by almost a centimeter, that's bad!

Caveat Emptor!
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of
Customer Rating I am really amazed at the low quality of this top
Date: Jul 29, 2011
Reviewer: A User from (Seattle, WA)
The list of problems I've had with this are nearly endless (2005 TJ).

1. The screws are really low quality metal. They strip super easily, and one of them actually broke in half during normal use.

2. The hardware is really flimsy and prone to bending and flexing if you don't treat it like it is made of glass.

3. The cloth is cheap and thin.

4. This top is just unbelievably noisy compared to the Mopar top.

5. Sometimes it is really hard to get the front clips to go in, other times it is easy -- no idea why it differs? Maybe heat vs. cold and contraction of the material?

6. Inexplicably, the side windows often come out of their tracks on the bottom.

7. The spring-loaded "snaps" the hold the top down (just behind the sunrider joint) are really difficult to open when the top is down, and hard to line up when replacing the top.

I can say two positive things about this:

1. I love that there is no support blocking the view in the back seat.

2. The side windows are much easier to put on than the ones on the OEM top.

I will never, as long as I live, consider buying another Bestop product. I am just appalled at the low quality of this product.
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of
Customer Rating Nice top
Date: Aug 25, 2010
Reviewer: A User from (Ontario, Or.)
Nice top. Good quality. Easy to install. Looks great. The frame makes some rattle noise where it meets the windshield brackets. Instructions were not very clear and need better pictures. Also no instructions about folding top down. I am very satisfied otherwise.
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of
Customer Rating Bestop Supertop turned out great
Date: Jun 17, 2010
Reviewer: A User from (Los Angeles, CA)
I recently got a Bestop Supertop for my 2004 TJ Wrangler. I had no problems installing it and all the parts came with my order. I did order it from an online retailer so I don't know if that makes a difference. I feel bad for the other reviewers as I had a much better experience.
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of
Customer Rating Excellent quality and quiet
Date: Apr 19, 2010
Reviewer: A User from (London, UK)
I bought a s/hand 98 TJ that came with a Sunrider soft top. It had been on the car 5 years when I bought it although the car was kept overnight in a garage. The fabric is still in excellent condition and the zips are high quality YKK ones.

The fit is absolutely perfect and there is no noise at all from the fabric up to 55mph and only very slight flapping at 70mph. I'm very impressed!
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of
Customer Rating Topless equals Jeepless
Date: Dec 22, 2009
Reviewer: A User from (Fairfax, VA)
Complete crap, the bar going across the windshield broke in my hand so quadratec was great in making sure i got the new part under warrenty but bestop gave horriable service. I explained to them that my jeep was topless and undrivable in the 35 degree weather and then it snowed so the car i was depending on in the family was out of service.. in addition they sent it to the wrong state so its delayed even further, they refused to use express shipping and screwed up ground shipping. now im going a week with out my car and i need ot for vacation in 3 days. DONT BUY FROM BESTOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of
Customer Rating Windshield channel doesnt fit
Date: Jul 23, 2009
Reviewer: A User from (Elizabeth, NJ)
Upon installing a sunrider top on my 2002 wrangler, i could not lock the windshield channel to the my jeep, I waited until the next day and called best top. Thier response was that jeep made variences in their windshield, and i should "bend" the clips to make it lock. Almost $800 later and I have a roof the wistles and leaks. I have to wait few months until a new header is designed. Bestop told me to buy C clamps to hold it down in the meantime. I wish i never spent the money. BUYER BEWARE.
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of
Customer Rating Not durable
Date: Jun 22, 2009
Reviewer: A User from (Cincinnati, OH)
I have an 02 TJ. I got the Bestop Sunrider because I like the idea of popping open the "sunroof" very easily. The top performed very well in that regards. However, the rear window zipper jammed up in about thirteen months and the frame rubbed a hole in the cloth after a year and a half.

I am now shopping for a new top because Bestop does not sell a replacement cloth for that frame.

Go figure! Right. A replacement top company not selling a replacement top for their own top.

Unless you want to buy a whole new top every two years, stay away from this thing.
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of
Customer Rating Bestop not the Best company
Date: Apr 24, 2009
Reviewer: A User from (Athens, Ohio)
My old Jeep top was on its last legs, so hearing that they had the most superior products, I went to the Bestop website to investigate buying a Sunrider top and having it installed (I am a mobility-limited senior citizen who looks to a little enjoyment from driving my Jeep).

The Bestop site gave me three places in a 100-mile radius, all of them 90-100 miles away. Two of them were identified as dealers and all of them as installers. I selected the one that seemed to have the best combination of price, product availability and service and made an appointment.

The shop removed my old top and hardware and began installing the new kit. Part way through, they found that Bestop had left out two brackets that made finishing the install impossible - I saw them unseal the box so I am sure it was Bestop's omission. The old "last legs" top was not re-installable as it came apart in the removal.

My jeep is now undriveable and I had to have my wife drive 100 miles (four hour round trip) to pick me up. Sometime in the next three or four days, assuming Bestop delivers the missing parts, I will have to have her take me back. So between us, we will be out almost two extra days off (13 hours) and 200 extra miles, plus trying to figure out how to deal with being one vehicle short for several days.

I called Bestop and asked them to take care of some of these expenses we will have had to incur via a discount that the dealer could pass on to me or some direct reimbursement. Their reply was that their products are meant to be user-installable and that it is basically not their problem beyond supplying the missing parts.

If they are unwilling to help with a problem they caused because, apparently, I am the one supposed to be installing it, why do they offer installer info on their website as opposed to a disclaimer that they do not offer installer info due to their products being user-installable and that they will not be responsible for their own omissions?

If there was any way to do it, I would just cancel the whole thing and walk away but they know they have us over a barrel. The only thing we have control over at this point is that we will never do business with them again and recommend that anyone else who is contemplating doing business with them should reconsider.
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of