Jeep Parts > Air Intakes > AEM Brute Force Intake System

AEM Brute Force Intake System Photo

AEM Brute Force Intake System

Brand: AEM
Features: The AEM Brute Force Air Intake system claims to boost your Jeep's horsepower by up to 13.3 HP while also delivering more torque. This AEM cold air intake comes with a shiny, silver powdercoat finish and a synthetic filter which never needs to be oiled. This air intake kit comes with all necessary hardware and claims to have a guaranteed perfect fit due to it's mounting design. Comes with a limited lifetime warranty.

Owner Reviews

AEM Brute Force Intake System

Avg. Customer Rating: (8.6 Stars) Average Customer Rating
Number of Reviews: 8 reviews

Write a review and share your thoughts with other Jeepers.

AEM Brute Force Intake System - Reviews

Customer Rating 5 years ON and still going STRONG
Date: Sep 11, 2009
Reviewer: A User from (Kaiserslautern, Germany)
1. easy install
2. quality construction
3. easy to maintain
4. looks cool

1. easier to waterlock engine than using a snorkle or even stock intake because of configuration of intake nozzle
2. whistle sound... some like it... some won't
3. air/debris guard is beginning to rust
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of
Customer Rating Sounds Cool....
Date: Feb 28, 2009
Reviewer: A User from (Chambersburg, PA)
I installed this in about 30 min, very easy for anyone. I haven't noticed any real power gain (I didnt expect to). The sound at acceleration is like your driving a V8, pretty cool. As for MPG, after 3 months of calculations I got a .03 increace in fuel economy. So in 7 or 8 years it will pay for itself, haha.

The intake looks very good. Cleaning the element is easy but cost about 10-20 bucks for the cleaning kit.
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of
Customer Rating Highly Recommended
Date: Oct 29, 2008
Reviewer: A User from (Belfair, WA)
Installed on a 2006 Wrangler 4.0 Litre with 36,000 miles, 4.11 gears, and 245-75-16 (31") tires.

I am very happy with this product. Ordered from Quadratec, price was comparable to competing brands, arrived quickly, and I installed it in less than a half hour. The materials are very high quality, everything fit as it should without trimming/modification/etc.

There was a noticeable increase in power after the kit was installed, particularly in the 2,800-3,800 RPM range. On-ramping onto freeways, passing, and pulling a 2,000 pound trailer are all a bit easier now. Overall driveability of the Jeep is improved. JP Magazine tested the AEM intake on a TJ with 138,000 miles and 35" tires and gained 13 horsepower and 10 lb-ft of torque AT THE WHEELS on a dyno. I believe I gained all of that plus more on my TJ.

It should be noted that I have seen a very modest 0-1 MPG increase since the install. However I tend to have a heavy right foot and your gains could be better. Also, the engine oil fill cap is now more difficult to reach due to the re-routed intake tube, but this is more of a small annoyance than anything else.

Overall, I am very satisfied with the AEM kit. I think it was worth the money and I recommend it to anyone with a TJ and 4.0 Litre.
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of
Customer Rating Its for looks and sound, dont kid yourself
Date: Oct 24, 2008
Reviewer: A User from (Cupertino, CA)
Put one one a 98 TJ with 4.0. It looks cool, and it adds a little sound at WO throttle. Ive read for years about how adding exhaust mods and intake mods make more hp and mpg. I've installed these products on my dodge, ford and chevy pickups. now the aem on my tj. I cant tell any difference. but its easy as hell to clean and simple to install, so what the heck. Im sure if i put my jeep on the dyno i got like a whopping 3-5hp...
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of
Customer Rating AEM rocks, but CJs need a TJ kit
Date: May 30, 2008
Reviewer: A User from (Lost Angeles)
If you own a CJ5, CJ7 or CJ8 DO NOT use the kit made for a CJ because it's supposed to sit on the driver's side fender. There's no room with the 258 or the 4.0 like I have. I called AEM and spoke to one of their techs who told me that the throttle body is the same diameter for the CJ and the TJ. So I got the kit for the 97 TJ and it sits on the passenger side fender which has a lot more room. (see picture) Besides, it comes with a throttle body spacer too. There was a little bit of gerry rigging for the mounting (because the fender is different on a CJ), but it was simple.
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of
Customer Rating Excellent Product Gained Power and MPG
Date: Feb 03, 2008
Reviewer: A User from (Southwest, VA)
I put this on my 2004 wrangler and what a difference, power is great, noticed a real difference fromm 2500-5500 rpms. instructions are very easy to under stand, i am a mechanic and fabricator and not easily impressed, but this is one sweet item that has a lot of time put into the development of it. The tube is plastic so no condensation like the metal tubes. to me this is the only cold air kit i would buy, install took about 30 minutes, looks great and sounds great highly reccomend.
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of
Customer Rating Brute on my 05 wrangler
Date: Jan 26, 2008
Reviewer: A User from (Ritchmand, OH)
It was easy to install with only a couple sockets and some ratchet extentions. The system fit in great and is well designed. Filter looks cheap but it might hold up. Felt a nice power jump over my old k&n panle filter mostly in righ foot responce. Little MPG gain too. Butt all in all for what you get and the price its a good buy.
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of
Customer Rating Great mod if you do most of your driving on roads
Date: Dec 01, 2007
Reviewer: A User from (Interlochen, MI)
I purchased this about two years ago as a new item from ebay. I went with aem instead of K&N becuse the aem kit came with the throttle body spacer. The kit installed easily and the instructions were clear with good pictures. With the kit I was able to enjoy some performance gains, ecspecially with new headers and exhaust system. I enjoyed a 3-4mpg increase with the kit instaled even before I replaced my exhasut system. The AEM paid for it self though svaings at the pump in about six months!.

Its been two years and unfortunatly I have taken the air tube off and replaced it with the stock air box. I left the throtle body spacer in though. We'll I don't know if it was becuse I didn't clean the filter before I went wheeling and I noticed that their was dirt on the throtle plate so I took it off. The throtle body spacer still provides some good performance even without the cold air intake.

I would highly recomend the AEM kit for anyone who spends most of their time on roads. If you take your Jeep wheeling save your money and buy a snorkel and a throtle body spacer.
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of