Jeep Parts > Lockers > Aussie Locker

Aussie Locker Photo

Aussie Locker

Brand: Aussie
Features: The Aussie locker is an automatic differential locker. The Aussie locker does not require any manual intervention to operate such as cables, switches, or air compressors. The Aussie locker is available for Dana 30, Dana 35, and Dana 44 axles.

User-Submitted Photos

Aussie Locker photos

Owner Reviews

Aussie Locker

Avg. Customer Rating: (8.8 Stars) Average Customer Rating
Number of Reviews: 20 reviews

Write a review and share your thoughts with other Jeepers.



Aussie Locker - Reviews

Customer Rating Great product - easy install
Date: Aug 21, 2013
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Ocala, FL)
I have a SBC CJ7 with dana 44 frt and rear for about 4 years now. 4.10 gears and 37 in boggers. I do mostly mud and water and a little rock climbing. Only locked in rear and will some day lock the frt. No problems and don't care about any clicking. performance is what counts.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Buy one
Date: Mar 29, 2012
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Alb NM)
Amazing awesome best bang for your buck!
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Great product
Date: Jun 27, 2011
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Wellington, Utah)
Have just got my jeep out of the shop from installing a aussie locker in the rear dana 35 of my 88yj. On the test drive i felt nothing, i was surprised. I then took many corners in town as its a daily driver, no tire chirping or noise of the locker engageing.....I wondered was it installed right....found some gravel parking and hammered it doing donuts. Two beautiful fishtails, locker was locking up great. Let off the gas a small couple of clicks and no more noise(had both windows down and had to listen hard to hear it.). Found a 2 foot ledge...up n over like a tank....back down the highway at 60mph..drives great..........am i pleased ......yes...smooth operation, very little if any noise,.... beats those selectables on price by miles. This weekend moab .... aussie lockers rock!!!!!!!
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating So much farther and better... (an update)
Date: Nov 23, 2010
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Beaverdam, VA)
Aussie Locker Dana 35 install review:

Now have Aussie Lockers front (Dana 30) and rear (Dana35) in my '99 TJ. My bro-in-law Bryan and I installed the one for my rear Dana 35 this past Sat in about 2 easy hours. Never even took the diff carrier out… did all the work right on the lift.

-Unsealed the diff cover and let the diff drain, removed rear tires, removed rear brake drums, popped the diff cover off, pulled the pinion shaft retaining pin, pulled the pinion shaft, pulled the C-clips, pulled the axels out about 4 in. on both sides then pulled the spider gears;
-Installed both AL axel gears w/ original thrust washers & AL spacers and the pinion shaft then checked the clearance of the AL pinion shaft to spacers - OK; pulled those parts back out;
-Installed the left side AL axel gear w/ original thrust washer, AL spacer, pushed the left axel back into place and installed the left C-clip and the AL cam gear;
-Installed the right AL axel gear w/ original thrust washer, AL spacer, and… though it was a very tight fit… we were able to get the right AL cam gear to slide into place between the left AL cam gear and the right AL spacer, then pushed the right axel back into place and installed the right C-clip;
-Carefully wedging the cam gears apart, reached in (with the little finger) and pushed the AL spacers apart inside the locker and then slipped the AL pinion shaft in place and installed the original pinion shaft retaining pin;
-Installed all 4 spring pins then levered the springs in place and finally check the clearance between the cam gears -OK;
-Re-seated the rear brake drums and bolted on the rear wheels and took her for a few turns in the parking lot then home… The Old Jeep drives just like she should with a locked rear end.

(It’s GOOD having a master-mechanic-4-wheelin-maniac for a brother in law!)

So far, still very pleased overall with the Aussie Locker...They both do click when differentiating during tight turns… I have to listen for it though, even with front and rear installed it isn’t loud to me… and the rear can bark and can get a little bit squirrely under torque in a turn. The front does the same when in 4wheel and under torque in a turn but...

(1) I LIKE a little bark and wiggle (heck I like noisy tires too)... It reminds me of the traction I have available to me… if I don't want her to bark and wiggle all I have to do is…

(2) Drive like I have lockers installed... That is, allow for how they affect the vehicle under torque. When turning, accelerate enough before the turn to coast thru the turn then accelerate out of the turn. You’ll still have the clicking as the locker differentiates… but she won’t bark tires or wiggle around.

As for offroad capability… I have been WELL pleased with how much better my TJ pulls up and over stuff with the front Aussie locker… we are going out this weekend (Nov 27-28, 2010) and test her with both front and rear locked. We are going out trail riding on Sat and rock crawling on Sun or, as my bro said… “Stockers on Saturday, Lockers on Sunday!”
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Good operation
Date: Sep 25, 2010
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Madison, WI)
I installed lockers in the front and rear of my 89 Cherokee. I took it out last weekend to give it a whirl. awesome traction, can steer just fine in 4x4. This is not a mod you should do to your mothers vehicle, it clicks and at times will snap pretty good during parking lot maneuvers. Some owners may find it annoying but I don't mind it at all knowing the traction I have at my finger tips. good product. Very happy.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Works 100% as it should.
Date: Aug 22, 2010
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (MD)
The stars say it all, however, the above review should be removed. You rated it 2 stars for working? The U joints were the weak point so rate them poorly, not the locker.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Aussie locker max tires?
Date: Jan 15, 2010
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Netherlands)
I bought mine a few months ago, I live in the Netherlands and we were out in the woods with some mud and water pits. I have a cj7 4.2 with stock dana 30 and amc20 in the back, the Aussie locker was installed in the front. I had 35 inch BFgoodrich muds and I tried to get out of a little mud pit, very slowly I drove my left wheel against the wall and tried to get out, then I heard a snap and my u-joint broke! A few weeks later again (now the other side) again my u-joint broke off. I've de-installed 35 inch tires because I think that Aussie - 35 inch are a bad combination.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating So far, so very very good!
Date: Oct 14, 2009
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Beaverdam, VA)
Installed an Aussie Locker in the front Dana 30 of my '99 TJ. I have not tested it on trails yet, but so far I am as pleased as I can be with it's quiet performance. I do not hear anything from it unless I go somewhere quiet and slowly do very tight circles... and then I only hear it if I hang my head out the window.

Engage the T-Case and it is amazing... the front end gets real "grabby"! You can feel her pulling far more than you ever could with the old open diff. I can't wait to go trail riding!! Will update hopefully soon.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Great locker for the money
Date: Oct 04, 2009
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (South Bend, IN)
I installed this locker front and rear only a week ago, and have tested it only a few times in some muddy fields. But from what I can tell so far my YJ is now unstoppable. Obstacles I used to worry about are now laughable with this upgrade. I have stock tires and stock suspension. Customer service is A++, and the price is great. Go buy some and be impressed.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Aussie locker great
Date: Jul 20, 2009
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Mijas, Malaga, Spain)
I installed the aussie locker on my J33P wrangler YJ 87 and the locker works my J33P is like a tank now only thing was that i had a garage do it and they did it wrong but when i ajusted it all was good and great customer service just amazing help from aussie locker
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Broke center pin... Then ate my pinion gear limping out!
Date: Jul 14, 2009
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Seattle, WA)
I use my '81 4x4 Toyota for work prospecting, not as a toy to destroy on the weekends. So, when my one year old Aussie locker failed on a jeep trail DEEP in the Idaho Rockies I was a little concerned there was a 18 mile hike in my near future! I was going over a little log, spinning slightly with 35" BFGs, and BANG it broke! I have 5.29 gears, 22RE 4 cyl, header, weber, msd, rancho shocks, body lift, bobbed bed, high steer. The truck is not abused, so the failure was a shock... $$$
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Best Auto Locker
Date: May 23, 2009
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Florence, AZ)
I installed Aussie lockers in the front and rear of my Jeep Unlimited and love them! My jeep is used as a daily driver they do not eat up my tires. I take it offraod twice a month on up to 4.5 rated trails with large groups of people and I am the only one with Aussie Lockers and they have proven to me to out perform other top dollar brands... easy to install too. They do click though but it is an attention grabber. great custmer service and you get cool stickers also. for those who want quality at the best price out there go with Aussie Lockers.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Cheap, Easy, and It Works
Date: Oct 06, 2008
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Ohio)
This one is simple. You will break OEM u-joints and axles first.

Pros:
-Strong. I beat on it pretty good.
-Cheap.
-Easy Install (30 minutes).
-Cool clicking when you turn.

Cons:
-Reduced maneuverability when in 4wd.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Aussie, Aussie, Aussie
Date: Apr 01, 2008
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Flint, MI)
Howdy folks, I put an Aussie locker in the front D30 of my Wrangler. What a difference, this sweetie goes wherever she likes. Sand - big improvement, Mud - Big improvement, Steep inclines - Huge improvement. The quality of this product is right on, no complaints. Just followed the instructions and we were in busuiness. After 14 months without issues, I have no idea what there customer service is like. A+
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating click, What click?
Date: Mar 14, 2008
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Augusta, KS)
Great customer service, great price, and strong reliable product. Installed in a dana 30 front axel in a 99 TJ in less then 1 hour and a half with commen tools. absolutly no change in driving no clicking, until you put it in 4wd then the traction begains. It does click a little in 4wd but that just lets you know every thing is working correctly. combined with the stock limited slip in the rear, I can out climb a mountian goat. GREAT PRODUCT.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Nice Quality
Date: Aug 21, 2007
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Southern Illinois)
I installed a Aussie in my front D30 about a year ago, my Jeep had a stock limited slip in the rear and that did a good job already. I could tell by looking at the parts that the Aussie is a quality product. The install was easy and I am no mechanic. I have put this to the test and convinced that with the proper tires I could climb the Hoover Damn.

The only downfalls are minor, and they are only because it is not a manually selectable locker. I do get some clicking when you turn however I got used to it and when people point it out it is a good excuse to tell them exactly how cool my Jeep really is. The other more important issue is that on two occasions I have hit standing water on the road that was several inches deep. I was at high speed and going strait, my front wheels wanted to stay locked so my Jeep gave me some ruff protest.

We did not get a lot of snow last year but when we do this winter I will have to be careful driving on a road with black ice patches.

It is a great locker at a great price.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Great value, climbs like a mountain goat
Date: Jun 14, 2007
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (SoCal)
I installed one in my front D30 for a few months-it works awesome. Some clicking when turning that you have to get used to but no big deal. Easy install.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Service
Date: Feb 23, 2007
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Windham, ME)
Well, not sure about the locker as it is not installed yet , but i will say that the service seems to be outstanding as far as my purches. Not sure what would happen if something was wrong like the order or warrenty issues. I called , asked for tech. help ,spoke to bill ,and made the purchase. The locker was at my door the next morning by 10:00am with the help from FEDEX. So far a very pleasant experience.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Great locker for my 2000 TJ
Date: Sep 09, 2006
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Monroe, WA)
I had an Aussie locker installed in the front D30 of my Jeep TJ. It is barely noticable during daily driving and has performed very well on the trails. Combined with the D44 LSD in the rear, I can climb just about anything I want. It is a well engineered part and I would recommend it to anyone who wants a locker.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating One solid dependable product
Date: Mar 30, 2006
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Kelowna, British Columbia)
I have been wheelin' this locker for almost 2 years now. It is in the rear d44 of my YJ. The install I did myself never having seen the inside of a differential prior. It was a breeze, done in a day.
I run 35" tires, and have a done up 401 under the hood. I wheel weekly in the mountains, winter or summer and on the hwy every other day. This thing is dependable, quiet and rugged. Not a single concern since install. The extra traction of course is fantastic. No handling issues on the hwy at all, just take your time and get used to having a locked rear end . If there is any downside, and this is minor, its the ratchet sound on corners, slight but still there.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
NEW MAG-HYTEC DANA 44 DIFFERENTIAL COVER POSI LOCKER JEEP CJ 4X4 OFF ROAD
NEW MAG-HYTEC DANA 44 DIFFERENTIAL COVER POSI LOCKER JEEP CJ 4X4 OFF ROAD
   $99.99
Wrangler Yukon Zip locker for Dana 44, non-Rubicon JK, 30 spline
Wrangler Yukon Zip locker for Dana 44, non-Rubicon JK, 30 spline
   $895.00
Aussie Locker XD-58229 Chrysler 8.25 29 Spline Jeep XJ Automatic Diff Locker 4x4
Aussie Locker XD-58229 Chrysler 8.25 29 Spline Jeep XJ Automatic Diff Locker 4x4
   $314.99
Dana 30 27 Spline 3.73 & Up Yukon Grizzly Locker Jeep CJ XJ MJ YJ ZJ TJ & Volvo
Dana 30 27 Spline 3.73 & Up Yukon Grizzly Locker Jeep CJ XJ MJ YJ ZJ TJ & Volvo
   $569.16
187SL16D Detroit Locker Dana 44 3.73 Down Jeep Ford F/R JK Rear All Ratios
187SL16D Detroit Locker Dana 44 3.73 Down Jeep Ford F/R JK Rear All Ratios
   $598.00
TJM Equipped PRO LOCKER JEEP DANA 44 3.73-DN 30 Spline Axle
TJM Equipped PRO LOCKER JEEP DANA 44 3.73-DN 30 Spline Axle
   $949.99