Jeep Parts > Lockers > Detroit TrueTrac Limited Slip

Detroit TrueTrac Limited Slip Photo

Detroit TrueTrac Limited Slip

Brand: Detroit
Features:

  • Automatic limited slip
  • Performs like an open differential under normal conditions, but automatically transfers torque to the wheel with better traction as needed

User-Submitted Photos

Detroit TrueTrac Limited Slip photos

Owner Reviews

Detroit TrueTrac Limited Slip

Avg. Customer Rating: (6.8 Stars) Average Customer Rating
Number of Reviews: 11 reviews

Write a review and share your thoughts with other Jeepers.



Detroit TrueTrac Limited Slip - Reviews

Customer Rating Great unit, Pro install advised.
Date: Jul 18, 2012
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Scranton, Pa)
My mom let me drive her 86 CJ7 to mechanics/tech school for 3 years before I was asked to leave . After that I put a True-Trac in when I moved back home. It stripped the R&P w/in 3 weeks. They warrantied it, and I took it to a shop that I didn't work at, and it has worked flawlessly now for 2 years. Now she's not afraid to drive in snow,and it helps me w/my paper route since I'm out before the plow trucks. I now work on a NASCAR team, that I can't mention, and tell everybody to get one. I'm dsaving up for a front one. This unit just pushes like a bulldozer through snow and ice. Alot of the houses I deliver pizzas to are very remote, and sometimes I don't even have to get out and lock the hubs. At 362 pounds that alone is worth the cost of this unit.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Great LSD, be careful with the skinny pedal
Date: Feb 14, 2012
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Columbus, OH)
Great limited slip, Jeep climbs like a goat. Be careful on the gas, with 33's and a Dana 35 in the TJ, the driver's side axle shaft snapped just a couple inches in from the diff end. Switched to chromo shafts and been good to go.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Cost Me Entire Axle
Date: Jan 26, 2012
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (San Antonio, TX)
I have had this TrueTrac in my truck for almost a year. I HAD the unit in a 8.8 ford axle and have to say for the first 6 months worked flawless. I like to play in the mud every now and then. This is my Daily Driver so 95 street and 5% Mud/ Sand. About 5 months ago I felt a small pop and thought it was the transmission. Well last week took the truck to the Trans shop where a friend of mine told me that the slipping was not coming from the trans. So I took it back to the shop where I had the unit professionally installed. Well today was the day of reckoning. Got the call today that the unit came apart. The laundry list of failures now. Broken axle button on the axle C-clip. Broken ring and pinion. TRUETRAC EXPLODED and possible cracked pumpkin case. I will tell you exactly what i was doing when this catastrophic failure happened. Driving on the HWY headed home from a nice dinner with the family. The truck has not seen any mud since November of last year and it was not even tread deep. Real disappointed. So now I am forced to buy another complete axle, gears, locker (NOT ANOTHER TRUETRAC) and trying to figure out how to get my daily driver back on the road to give my daughter her jeep back. All my pain because I thought I was buying a quality product, that is now going to cost me 5 times the original investment, this is a poorly designed product. Save your money buy a better product.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Detriot True-trac, 12bolt time bomb
Date: Oct 25, 2010
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Nanaimo BC Canada)
In my case i was using the Gm 12 bolt version so in all fairness i can't say what a Jeep c35 gm D-60 or 14-bolt units are like. people should still be givin all the info. I ran one in my 1978 Jimmy with a 310 motor sm465 np205 d44 frt 12bolt rear 3.73 gears and 33" bfg mt tires, a pretty tame hunting rig for the most part. I got stuck in a ditch, tried joggin her out in 2 wheel drive and that True-trac popped like a walnut. I was under the illusion a $20 u-joint would bust long before my Detroit True-Trac. The 12bolt true-trac is truely a time bomb, it's a weak casting and is only suitable for light to modurate useage. I am now running a powertracs locker and much happier with that.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Worked great for 2 days!
Date: Apr 26, 2010
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Los Angeles, CA)
I have a '98 Sahara. The diff. clutches were shot so I asked my local mechanic what to do. He suggested the Detroit Truetrak since I'm on the road 90% and off the road 10%. Felt really good after he put them in but they completely disintegrated after two days. Car's at the mechanic again and I'm waiting to see how much damage it did. Gear oil leaking out of the housing so I'm thinking it took the differential gears and the housing with it when it went.
Now I don't know whether or not to replace them or try something new. I'll post a follow up later.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Jeep TJ Daily Driver Mild Build
Date: Sep 11, 2009
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Kaiserslautern, Germany)
PROS:
1. Limited slip won't break my Dana 35 or Dana 30
as easily as full-on lockers.
2. Street manners are excellent for a daily driver
3. Relatively simple installation
4. No switches, cables, air compressors, or electric doo-dads
5. No internal clutch plates to wearout
6. Relatively inexpensive

CONS:
1. Not fully lockable
2. VERY slight loss of gas mileage

 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating True tracs in both ends
Date: May 23, 2008
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Cibolo,TX)
I have a 2000 TJ with true tracs and 4:10 gears front an rear. I love this set up. For a daily driver/trail rig,you can not beat it. This set up gives you great traction in all terains without the hassels of being fully locked. It not only makes the street enjoyable, but tight turns on the trail are no problem either. For a simple no hassel limited slip,you can't beat this set up. P.S. the guys with ARB,S don't go any further than I can if I do my part behind the wheel.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Driven Daily, Daily Driver loves this locker
Date: Mar 13, 2008
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Kansas City, Missouri)
I have Detroit TrueTracs front and rear in my 2000 Jeep Wrangler Sport.

I have upgraded my front axle to a high pinion Dana 30 housing, Superior alloy 4.56:1 ring & pinion gears and a Detroit TrueTrac. I also improved my rear Dana 44 axle with Superior alloy 4.56:1 ring & pinion gears and a Detroit TrueTrac.

These lockers are the perfect set up for a coil sprung TJ with a lot of flex. No pumps, cables, switches or bangs. When you need it is there providing equally distributed torque to the tires.

If you have one wheel leave the ground you still have one pushing you through. Should you lift one tire from each axle apply a little brake pressure to lock the front or emergency brake to lock the rear.

The reason for nine out of ten stars:
It does exhibit some steering drag as compared to an open differential. This is not a hugely noticeable feel. The more I drive my rebuilt axles the less noticeable it becomes. This is just something that you will feel when switching from an open differential to Detroit TrueTrac.

Something to consider... You can locker the front and rear axles with Detroit TrueTracs for the cost of just one ARB Air Locker. :)

In my opinion, this is clearly the best setup for the off road enthusiast that drives their rig daily. You will be impressed when roads are wet or snow covered and really happy when you take your rig off road and go through what you were stuck in before.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Great Limited Slip
Date: Jan 30, 2007
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Toluca Mexico)
I have the True Track on the front axle and it is great, you can perfectly turn. and a slight tap to the breaks and there you are almost locked!

Because of its worm gear design it can't handle much torque (33" tires maximum)

It is not as good for providing traction as the Detroit Locker but definiteley it is great.

Its manufacturing is great, they are so well done, that I could almost have one on my living room as adornment. this talks of the quality of the product.

 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Damn good limited locker....
Date: Mar 30, 2006
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Kelowna, British Columbia)
Installed in the front of my YJ that has a locker in the rear, this thing performs perfectly in all conditions. No noise, cant even tell its in there until you need it. There is no torque pull when turning as some have mentioned in other places.
Great on the hwy, in our winter snow and ice it is fantastic. If there is a downside, its with 1 frt tire in the air, however I have a auto TH400 so to be honest I can ride the brakes and basically I have a locker at any time with no fuss. I never have to get out of my rig to engage or disengage a thing.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Detroit True Trac Limited Slip
Date: Feb 26, 2006
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Onalaska, WA)
I have a 2002 Jeep Wrangler TJ with 4.10 Gears and Detroit True Tracs in both ends, I wouldn't do anyhting different unless I was off road all of the time. They lock up both tires very quick. No clanks and bangs associated with standard lockers and it behaves well on the street still.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
187SL16C Detroit Locker Dana 44 3.92 Up Jeep Ford F/R
187SL16C Detroit Locker Dana 44 3.92 Up Jeep Ford F/R
   $598.00
187C179A Detroit Locker Chrysler 8.25
187C179A Detroit Locker Chrysler 8.25" 29 Spline Jeep Dodge
   $659.00
162SL60B Detroit Locker Dana 30 Jeep Wranlger TJ 3.73^
162SL60B Detroit Locker Dana 30 Jeep Wranlger TJ 3.73^
   $545.00
Eaton Differentials 162C56A Detroit Locker Differential
Eaton Differentials 162C56A Detroit Locker Differential
   $682.79
187SL16D Detroit Locker Dana 44 3.73 Down Jeep Ford F/R JK Rear All Ratios
187SL16D Detroit Locker Dana 44 3.73 Down Jeep Ford F/R JK Rear All Ratios
   $598.00
Eaton Differentials 187SL16C Detroit Locker Differential
Eaton Differentials 187SL16C Detroit Locker Differential
   $686.39