Jeep Parts > Lift Kits > Rough Country 4" Lift Kit

Rough Country 4 Lift Kit Photo

Rough Country 4" Lift Kit

Brand: Rough Country
Features: Typical kit includes:

  • 4" coil springs
  • Front and rear lower control arms
  • Transfer case drop kit
  • Track bar drop brackets
  • Brake line relocation brackets
  • Heckethorn 8000 series shocks
  • Pitman arm

User-Submitted Photos

Rough Country 4 Lift Kit photos

Owner Reviews

Rough Country 4" Lift Kit

Avg. Customer Rating: (6.1 Stars) Average Customer Rating
Number of Reviews: 54 reviews

Write a review and share your thoughts with other Jeepers.



1 - 50 of 54 | Next

Rough Country 4" Lift Kit - Reviews

Customer Rating 4 years later and all parts have failed one by one...
Date: Sep 19, 2012
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Tulsa, OK)
When I first got the kit everything seemed peachy. After 6 months the swaybar disconnects snapped. After 1 year every single part began to rust, I'm middle America so no salt water to blame. After 1.5 years the track bar bracket broke. After 2 years the inner threading of my control arms began to fail one by one. And finally both of my rear shock mounting points broke. This kit forced me to replace it piecee by piece. The only thing still hanging in there are my springs and transfer case drop. Go ahead and buy the kit, it'll force you to buy the real quality stuff over the years and by the end you'll have pieced together a great kit LMAO!
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Ya should have just done it rite the first time!
Date: Mar 19, 2012
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from ((Eldorado Canyon) Eldorado Springs, Colorado)
Going on 2 years with Rough Country's 4.5" (LONG ARM) Kit with up graded long leaf rear springs... okay it took a little longer to get to me then expected , but good things take time.... added it on in my driveway in a few days. (not because the directions were bad but because existing bolt were snapping heads off) I enjoyed getting to know my jeep.(4X4's aren't bought they are built) after completion of the job, lowered it off the jacks and drove off..WONDERFULL RIDE, even better after professional alignment...

The jonny joints did get a little play "3-4mm" in it after a few hundred miles and the noise is ..well really anoying (sounds like a gremlin with a small hammer in the floor) its not a hard fix but I've been going with it ....(it's a 4X4, not a roles royce) so from South Florida and the Everglades (1st year) A great Highway ride (high speed cornering NO problem) all the way to Colorado(2nd year) and the SERIOUS jeep trails here, the dirt road in the canyon I live in (gets like a WW1 battle field), snow... its been doing what its suposed to and works great!...NOW how about coming up with a seriouse rear coil spring and long arm kit to match it :) ...oh buy the way, Im constantly told how cool it is, LOVE THAT!
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Junk
Date: Jan 24, 2012
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Melvin, Ky)
This item is junk. I bought the "X Series" lift for my 2001 Wrangler with the adjustable control arms all around. Within two years all 8 of them stripped out causing the Jeep to sway all over the place. It also took weeks to get all of the parts in. They first sent me the basic 4" lift and after calling them on numerous times I thought I had all of what I paid for but boy was I wrong. I highly suggest buying a different brand. Anything would have to be better than the junk they sell
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Rough Country s**t
Date: Nov 07, 2011
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Hamburg N.J.)
LIVE AND LEARN! Thought I'd save money on buying a lift from this company. After spending a helluva lot of bucks ( and still ) trying to get my 02 Grand handle decent I have nothing nice to say about their products! They are f** cking junk! 500 bucks flushed down the shitter! I guess it's like they say : YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR! GO OME OR BDS! OK 4 WD will back me up on this! They know their stuff and God bless them for their patience in helping me out with getting my rig straightened out.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Best Bang For Your Buck
Date: Sep 07, 2011
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Austin, TX)
I ordered an X-series kit for my 97 TJ. Also purchased the SYE and DC driveshaft.

Customer service was bad. I called in several times and kept getting told the kit shipped and it would be delivered by the end of the week (several weeks in a row). After the 3rd or 4th call into RC they told me the parts were on back order and have not even shipped yet. Finally the truth is all I wanted. The SYE comes from another distributor who packaged things poorly. It took 3 attempts to actually get something on my doorstep (roughly 6 weeks). Everyone at RC is very knowledgeable and I would still recommend purchasing from them. Just be prepared to be patient and make sure you follow up on anything they promise.

As for the kit, love it! I had very little knowledge on suspension in general before starting. The instructions covered the highlights and imagination filled in the rest. I put it in by myself (no help, not even a strut compressor). The only thing I'd say is the holes for the Track bar drop bracket were a pain. The instructions call for a 29/32 drillbit. Good luck finding one. I custom ordered one from a tool distributor, but realized I could have done just fine with a 1" bit. The crush sleeves were too small for my 29/32 hole so they would fall into the frame. I fixed that by putting electrical tape around the end of the sleeve so it would hold in place while I lined everything up.

One really nice thing about the kit is that it's fully adjustable. One really bad thing about the kit is that it's fully adjustable. Yea, that took some time. Getting the pinion angle and caster correct took some time, but thank goodness it was adjustable. I also love that the sway bar connecting links are adjustable since most sway bars don't perfectly line up.

I have been driving on this kit for a few months now and love it. The shocks that come with it are stiff, but I didn't have the money to pay for the upgrade. No biggie, it's a Jeep. Off-Road it does awesome. With the sway bar disconnects I get crazy articulation out of it. I run 32" BFGs on the stock wheels and get just a little rub when fully articulated. No backspacing on the wheels either.

I highly recommend this kit. It's very tough and stands up to a lot. Compared to kits my friends have at a similar price point, the choice is very obvious to me.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Rough Country 4" X-Flex Lift for 98 ZJ (5.9 Limited)
Date: May 13, 2011
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Enfield, CT)
This is the first and only lift that I have ever installed, and like everyone else, I purchased it because of the low price and completeness of the kit. A lot of websites claim that this lift will not work on a 5.9 limited, but it did work on mine with a few tweaks and additional parts. Since I didn't want to drill a second hole in the front axle for the track bar, I bought an adjustable track bar from a different manufacturer. Also, since there are 2 CV joints on the front drive shaft, I needed to purchase the RC front upper adjustable control arms to set the pinion angle properly in addition to adjusting the length of the driveshaft a little (oxy-acetylene and a sledge). The instructions for the length of the rear lower control arm length were fine, but the upper length needed to be modified for the 5.9L. Last, I'm not sure if I actually needed it, but I bought an adjustable rear track bar as well from a different manufacturer.

It took quite a while to install and set everything (there is a considerable learning curve if you've never done this before). The rear was much easier than the front. Be prepared to struggle with the front springs. They are extremely long and tough to fit into the rental strut spring compressors (I rented 2 to compress both front springs at the same time). In addition, the bump stops (with extensions) are installed in the center of the spring which adds to the difficulty.

I started off using all of the original OEM bolts to install the kit. They will back out constantly and should be re-tightened regularly. Because of this, I decided to purchase all new upper control arm bolts. The size is M10 x 85mm Gr.8.8. I used fine thread (1.25mm) bolts, washers and split washers on both sides of the bolts. For the larger M14 bolts (lower control arms), I just added washers and lock washers because the replacement fine thread bolts are so expensive. I also replaced all of the suspension bolts that have a Torx head on them so I could hit them with an impact. They don't back out anymore. One more thing, on the front axle mounts, where the lower control arms bolt to, there are oblong holes and a special bolts. I think they have something to do with alignment of the axle to the center of the fenders. When you crank these bolts down over the oblong holes, you will ruin the sleeve inside the new control arm bushing (made of much, much thinner gauge metal than the stock sleeve) which will cause the bushings to fail next. I ended up cutting off the old control arm brackets and welding on new ones that I made from .200" angle iron. Maybe you can get a couple washers to line up inside or something if you don't have a welder.

I've been running the lift for about a year and a half now. The bump stop extensions in the front were the first to fall apart. I upgraded them since - I ended up making my own extensions out of metal and replacing the front OEM bump stops with aftermarkets. The sway bar end links snapped next - mainly because of wheeling with no bump stops. Finding a better way than instructed to mount the front end links will be to your advantage because the sleeves will collapse and the bolts will back out. It took about a year for 3 of the 4 hydro shocks (and boots) to blow out. I've since replaced them with RC nitros. I had to replace all 4 of my lower control arm axle sleeves and bushings, and rear upper control arm axle sleeves and bushings. The control arms are rebuild-able, and the design has been upgraded to allow grease to flow next to the bushings rather than force the bushing out of the control arm. It costs less than $8 to rebuild the end of the control arm that attaches to the axle. The X-Flex ends have held up pretty well, though the rear uppers are starting to get a little play in them. I think that with new the upgraded parts, the lift will last longer before it needs more rework.

I have used both the RC live chat and the telephone number on the website for support. Although I personally don't have much use for the live chat, Dave from the 1-800 number really knows his stuff and will take your order over the phone.

I think that this kit is worth the money - especially if you know ahead of time what's likely to give you trouble during assembly and in the future. My Jeep sits level after all this time, there is less than 1/8 difference between the height of the rear fender and the front. I can clear 31s with minimal rubbing on my stock 5.9 Limited wheels. The flex is pretty good. Im no Sunday driver with my Jeep in the woods. The control arms are heavy duty and can take considerable abuse without any metal fatigue. The nitro shocks are decent and I would say worth the extra $20 for a slightly softer ride. The geometry is pretty good for a solid axle vehicle, but I did buy the aftermarket adjustable track bars. The steering is close enough to how it was stock. Im using the stock drive shafts and have only had to replace 1 u-joint on the rear. There is a small vibration in the rear, which may have helped to eat my new u-joint at 10K miles, but its tolerable.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating You get what you pay 4
Date: May 01, 2011
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Rogeers, Arkansas)
It is a good thing their service department is as good as it is or they wouldn't have gotten the 1 star. The "lifetime shocks" went out in less than a year. The upgraded front lower control arms (adjustable 185$) went out in less than a year and didn't fix the problem they were bought for. I guess if you want to spend over 500$ and just have a nice set of springs and some stickers their not that bad. I have learned a lot about lift kits since..I probably have over 3000 invested in the lift and 2 years of ass pain. If you want to.. forward this to Rough Country. Shoulda bought from Iron Rock.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating 4.5 Lift on Jeep Cherokee
Date: Apr 21, 2011
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Cincinnati, OH)
I purchased the full 4.5in lift kit for my 2001 Jeep Cherokee. I ordered it on the 23rd of March. I expected to get it in a couple days since the website said same day shipping..... NOT! I never received tracking info, so I called on the 25th. They told me the threads on the arms were wrong so they recalled the kits and the factory was redoing them. Said they would have them on the 31st. Since my Jeep was in the shop and apart waiting to get the parts, I was without a vehicle. I asked if they would overnight, and they said absolutely not. They said that there are only issues with 2% of their orders. Well after the 31st rolls around, I call back and am told that my kit wasn't the threads, but the transfer case housing. Said they were made wrong, and it would be the 8th of April before they got them. I looked into other kits at this time, but it would be 4 days before my money would be credited to my card, then all other manufactures said at least 10 days before they would ship. So I decided to wait. Well come the 8th the story was that it was the joints and they had to be plated and it would ship out. My mechanic finally received the package on the 19th. He calls me immediately, and tells me it was packaged poorly and missing parts. He personally had called Rough Country and they were shipping the parts and all they can say is sorry. 100% Customer Satisfaction is BS. they don't care. As far the actual kit, I can't comment on because it is now the 21st and I still don't have a car. I would steer away from this company as all they do is give you the runaround , the customer service is the worst I have seen.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Shipping!
Date: Apr 13, 2011
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Northern, MI)
I ordered the 6" rough country lift kit for my 93 bronco. Was told 2 days showed up a week later. Then had to reorder parts "shocks" because they neglected to send all shocks with the system. Sent 1 correct shock and 1 wrong shock. Called said sorry sh*t happens asked if they could cover overnight shipping, not a chance costs too much money, like they said sh*t happens. So going on three weeks from time of order and still not installed. Never again.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating YJ 4 inch Rough Country
Date: Jan 07, 2011
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Brush Prarie, WA)
I had a Pro Comp lift on my YJ it rode and performed great I really liked the lift but I wanted more lift and went with a 4 inch RC all I can say is its flawless it rides and performes perfect on and offroad right after I installed it I took it wheelin and it flexed everywere.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Horrible Product, Bad Service
Date: Dec 19, 2010
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Saint john, NB)
To anyone out there thinking of lifting your jeep...STAY AWAY FROM ROUGH COUNTRY PRODUCTS THERE TOTAL CRAP!! Put the 4" x-series lift in my 04 Grand and nothing but problems with it. The bushings were all worn out after couple weeks had to replace, ride is stiff as hell, shocks and springs are also junk. Just a poor poor quality product will never buy anything Rough Country again. As someone said in a previous post I was also a beginner drawn in by the cheaper price of there kits and learned the hard way. You may have to spend a little more on a decent kit but is well worth it in the long run.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Good lift, great price
Date: Sep 20, 2010
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Savannah, GA)
Put the 4.5" x series on my 88 xj. The only problem with install was the rust on the Jeep. Kit gained about 6" over the factory springs (they were sagging pretty badly). On rode rode is firm, but not harsh, which is just how I like it. Flex is great for a DD, and all components were plenty strong. The question isn't "How does Rough Country build them so cheaply?" It's "why do the other companies charge so much?"
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Good at first then s@!t:(
Date: Aug 25, 2010
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Camas, WA)
I was very pleased with the kit when I got it! Everything looked heavy duty. When I went to install it parts where missing. I just chocked it up to this being the start of there new lift kit as I had to wait a month for the first production. They did send me the parts, install took over 1 week!!! 13 months after I got the lift a lower controll arm joint went out. They would not cover cuz it was after 12 months so I ordered a rebuild kit. They again sent the wrong parts and no instructions. After talking to Davy he finely sent me a new joint, 2 weeks now on this fix. When I got the joint the threads where all messed up and took me 2 hours with a file to get it to work. They only have good customer service till you need them to may thing right then hold on!!!!!
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating 96 XJ with R.C. 4.5" lift kit.
Date: Jul 28, 2010
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Colorado Springs, CO)
Installed R.C.'s lift on my XJ about three years ago. At first, yeah its a decent, cheap place to start, but thats about it! (Been buildin tuner cars for couple years and this was my first forray into 4x4 builds.) Over the years I've replaced every part that came in the kit one by one with another brand or a custom build! It is as i said, cheap stuff! Bushings are junk, directions are junk, geometry of the suspension after install was an atrocity to Jeeps in general, and like every one else here has said, the springs, coil and leaf, suck, there stiff as hell with no real flex for wheelin and on road will about knock the teeth out your head!!! So all in all, as had been said before for this company's stuff, there only claim to business is there cheap and they can still sucker in beginner's like i was when i started and bought this junk!!! So unless your jeeps a clunker or you don't care, save the money and buy something else, seriously!!!
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Only one complaint
Date: Jun 06, 2010
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Richmond, KY)
I have had the 4 inch lift kit on my Jeep for about two years now. Yes it rides rough, Yes the instructions sucked, and yes the bushings squeak. However, it has held up to quite a bit of use. Daily driving, and alomost daily wheeling. My only true complaint is that after two years the front has sagged about two inches. I don't think the springs were prestressed and now my Jeep looks like a knock off dragster.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Decent kit good price
Date: May 02, 2010
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (WV)
The kit was easy to install good and strong but on the bad side it has no flex and my shocks went out after about a year and the transfer case drop was wrong. Had to drill new holes, I give it a 5 out of 10.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating RC Long Arm Lift on 97 TJ
Date: Apr 29, 2010
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Peoria, AZ)
I have to say I have been very impressed with this kit. For the price nothing is comparable and the Jeep folks I have had take a look at it thought is was very well fabricated. It has performed well on the trail so far. Customer service has been great and install was smooth.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating The Jeepman is happy
Date: Apr 19, 2010
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Timmins Ontario Canada)
The ride from stock is almost the same. Off road riding is much better and wheel travel has improved 100% over stock. Even with 33 inch tires there is no wheel rubbing on fenders. Very impressed when I called and were able to answer all my questions.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Rough Country sucks
Date: Apr 18, 2010
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Indiana)
The main appeal- in fact, the only appeal of ANY Rough Country product is the price. Low quality materials and craftsmanship, rough ride, and lack of flex lead me to uninstall and replace this kit with the Rubicon Express kit after about two months. I was advised to stay away from Rough Country, because of crappy service. I had no problem with service, just the product.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Spend a little more
Date: Mar 19, 2010
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Tyrone, PA)
Lifted a 2006 wrangler 4 inches stage 2. Rear controll arm bushing has been replaced twice, but now rough contry wont replace it. Manager hung up on me.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating I really like my lift
Date: Feb 19, 2010
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Visalia, CA)
This is a great lift, I purchased the 4" X-Series and really like it. It does ride a little stiff but thats what I want in a 4WD. I upgraded the shocks to their 2.2's and I think they are great! I am getting a lilttle popping out of the front so I will crawl under there to find out what it is. Probably ready for another lube job. The maintence is a little much, but from the others I have looked at from terra flex and others look like they would be as much maintance as this one. Plus the price is unbeatable. I do wish I would have spent a little more and got the long arm kit. AS far as hieght my front is about 1" lower than the rear. I called Rough Country and they said its suppose to be that way. It seems to me that if you lift a vehicle it should be designed to level your vehicle at the same time, but thats just me. Ill fix it with spacers, but it bugs me a lot when I see it.

The lift was easy to put on and took me 2 full days with 2 people and air tools. The instructions were not writen out the best although common sence explains alot. I could do one in half the time now that I have done this one. All the parts were there but not labeled very good. I ordered directly from Rough Country and got my order in with in a week.

Its definitely better than spending $3500 on a lift and not even getting shocks with the kit. But If I had the money I guess that wouldnt matter.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Wrong parts sent, damaged 1992 Jeep Cherokee‏‏‏
Date: Feb 12, 2010
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (North Adams, MA)
I recently called rough country for sway bar disc and shocks for a 3 inch lift. After i installed the disc i went for a ride just around the block, i heard some banging, when i looked the disc hit and damaged my inner fenders. I went back on line and looked and the disc where actualy for a 4-6 inch lift. Not my fault. $482.83 i got for estimate. The rear shocks they sent me where for a stock cherokee. I told them at rough country i had a 3 inch.

I ended up having to cut down the disc just to make them work as well as i had to reinstall my old shocks after taking them out due to the wrong ones sent by rough country.

I called rough country and spoke to the VP Jeff G, at first he was like tell me what you need to make up for the damages, i called him back and let him know how about tires, he had the nerve to tell me it would cost me $515.00. So i said screw that idea how about some other stuff, all he wanted to do was send me junk, nothing worth anything for a 3 inch likft jeep cherokee sport.
I then said fine just send me a ck for the damages and he said no, i asked for the insurance co name and he will not give me that nor their lawyers.

They have a 60 day return policy and there giving me a hard time on that as well. They just want to send stuff they have an overstock of, nothing more and pretend its ok that they sent the wrong parts as well as the damage. Now what should i do.
Not a very good co.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating 4" Lift
Date: Jan 06, 2010
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Sedona, AZ)
I have purchased the RC 4" lift as well as the dual steering stabilizer kit for my '07 JK Unlimited. The boys at RC are a great help & RC stands behind their product. I have had the lift for a year and quite please with everything including the performance & the installation that went well. Great product for the money for sure.
Thanks RC !
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating YJ 4"
Date: Dec 16, 2009
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Cape Cod, MA)
I've had this kit on for 2 years now and wheel monthly. There was enough lift for me clear 34" super swampers by comp cutting the rear quarters & flat fendering the stock fenders. The flex is great, very smooth. I've been on trail rides with other jeeps all being coil sprung still flexing the same or better with the track bars removed and sway bar discos. I plan on getting the 6" kit and a body lift, and the 4" for my zj. Only downside was premature rust on shock pistons.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating 4"lift kit 2004 tj
Date: Oct 01, 2009
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Abingdon, MD)
I put this lift on my 04 tj sport and it is great for the price,I put it on at my buddy's shop and had a few guys help me here and there it took two days, the stock rear shock bolts broke off so I just chisseled off the bolts and ran new bolts down also some of the bolts were missing, got them at pepboys cheap. I have a small vibe when I hit bumps so a sye will be needed also I have the shifter problem I have to hold the shifter in rev so it won't pop out and second sometimes pops as well. I would get this lift again it rides well for a jeep on the road I haven't had it off road yet.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating 4" YJ Lift
Date: Aug 22, 2009
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (RichmondDale, OH)
This lift does lift your Jeep good, its strong and holds up well. But if ur looking for flex this lift has none. Its so stiff u cant keep your wheels on the ground in mild terrain. You bounce around alot. I say this would be a great lift if the leaf springs were about 2-3"s longer. That way it could have some flex.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating I wish I would have purchased one sooner!
Date: Jun 08, 2009
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (USA)
Everything worked out nicely. The instructions were clear and concise. All the parts were of decent quality. It only took me 4 hours to install using a lift and air tools. This kit is quiet, rides nice on the road, and works well on the trail. Never mind the price, I would recommend this kit to everyone. Be careful, some retailers are advertising a pitman arm and other items that do not come in the kit.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Great Lift for the Money
Date: Mar 24, 2009
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (North Fort Myers, FL)
I just installed this lift on my 1998 TJ Wrangler and i love it. its a little stiff riding but any jeep will do that with a lift. over all the lift was very easy to put on and was explained very well. its well worth the money. just a word of recomendation print out a color copy of the directions off the web site it helped out greatly. i can easily clear 35x12.50 but am going to put 33x12.50s on.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Rough Country 4" X-Factor Lift Kit- Great kit
Date: Jun 29, 2008
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Puyallup, WA)
I have had the R/C X-factor kit on my 02 TJ for 1 1/2 years now with great results. I Wheel it at least 1 time per month (2-3 times per month in the summer) and drive to work 30 miles round trip daily. So I have a lot of use on this kit.

The flex is excellent! I wheel with folks who have RE, Tera, and other "top" kits and I flex as well or better than them.

The kit is very tough, I have dropped down pretty hard on hte control arms (Stumps, rocks, etc) and they take the abuse.

The guy from Chicago who has the bushing issues may have installed them incorrectly. The bushings for the lower control arms are different from the uppers. I know as when I installed them I did the same thing and I had the same issues. And yes, the bushings will squeak as they are polyurethane bushing, not rubber. Are you greasing things on a regular basis??? That is important!

The shocks that come with the kit are a bit stiff but remember that they are hydro shocks.

For the person with the spring issues: The rear springs are 2 different sizes, you need to make sure that the slightly linger spring is installed on the passenger side.

A lot of these problems could be because the instructions really suck. That was the worst part of the whole process. The brackets for the control arms are pretty crappy too. I had to beat the hell out of them to get them to line up, plus there was way too much powder coating on them. I changed over to adjustable control arms shortly after the install anyway.

Every thing else went smoothly It took 3 people 10 hours with hand tools to correctly install this kit. With better instructions, properly labeled parts bags, and air tools :) we could have done it in 1/2 the time.

I would recommend this kit to anyone. I would pop for the X-series kit so you get the fully adjustable control arms and the front/rear sway bar disconnects. That will bump the price up a but it is worth it.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Great quality, Best Price!
Date: May 30, 2008
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (KY)
This kit is the best deal in this lift height when you consider the components included and the price of comparable kits.

This kit is heavy duty and has held up perfectly after several months of use.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Pretty good
Date: May 26, 2008
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Birmingham, AL)
This kit was very easy to instal if you have done it before...I just graduated high school. instructions were not all that great but I made it. All the parts were there and everything lined up well. 15 hours to instal by myself but if I had better instructions I could have done it in half the time. (dont mess with coil spring or strut spring compressors thats another reason the front took so long, just use a pry bar (it may be a little more dangerous but its worth it)Had to go to autozone and get new grease fitting but that was only like $2. Had a 3 inch BDS under it and then went to this 4in and this one is a better ride, cheaper, and has control arms. Its rough but what do you expect its a wrangler. Overall I would recommend just about anyone to instal this kit if you have plenty of time.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating This kit is horrible. Save ur money.
Date: Feb 28, 2008
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Chicago, IL)
I purchased this kit because of how complete it is. Well this kit is very very bad quality. Its worthless. I've had it for about half a year now and problems are starting to show one after the other and i cannot return it as my 90 days warranty has expired..

My springs sagged at different rates so now my jeep is unleveled (front is about 1" lower than the rear and also the rear passenger side is 1/2" lower than the drivers rear side), they are so hard so they make it very hard to flex and also cause very bouncy ride.

Shocks that come with the kit are also very hard. The shocks are starting to show rust after just a couple of months and i havent even taken it offroad so they do not have any scratches. The rear shocks also pop and make thumps and other noises...

Control arms are very solid however the bushings are very bad. Those things are made out of plastic like material so they cannot flex worth a damh at all. You cannot flex one tire at a time because again they cannot bend left or right or on any angle (just straight since it spins on the bolt). Those are causing permanent and premature wear on the control arm mounts. After about half a year of this kit on my jeep i'm already starting to notice them wobble around.

The sway bar links seem to be holding up well. Tcase drop kit seems to be holding up well too. Over all for the kit.. its junk. Its the most complete kit on the web for the price but its made of the LOWEST quality stuff ever and sure enough you will replace it in few months afterwards.

The only benefit from this kit that i have so far is the experience i gained while installing it, however if you like to learn then buy a 1" budget boost pucks for 50-60 bucks and install that.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Good lift for the money
Date: Dec 16, 2007
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Fredericksburg,VA.)
2 of us put this lift on in 10hr. in my drive way & we have done 5 or more lift's on Jeep's for member's of my Jeep group. Now as for the guy from Canada that said he did it in 6hr. by himself is full of ****..... The best way to get the pitmen arm off is to cut most of the way threw it & put the puller on it, take a chisle put it in the cut & hit it with a B.F.H. & soak everything down real good the night before with P.B. blaster then put the kit on.........Terry
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Great lift
Date: Dec 14, 2007
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Whiteman AFB, Mo)
I bought this kit for my 05 TJ SE and have not had any problems with it to date. I am pretty Mechanically inclined but have never done any suspension work before and myself and two friends got it done in about 8 hours. it flexes very well and Rides like a Jeep. i have done a lot of wheeling and have had all 4 tires off the ground more then once at a friends house and have not had a single part fail me yet. after a few trips i had to replace the stock upper control arms because they could not keep up with the punishment. If your are looking for the best kit on the market this is not it, however if you are looking for a short arm kit i have not seen anything come close to the quality of this kit for under $1000. also my jeep is a 4cyl and the kit only settled to about 5 inches of lift, Good news i can clear 36s, Bad news the T/C Drop didn't fix the Vibes and i had to get a SYE.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Cheap Lift - Not one I recommend
Date: Nov 26, 2007
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (koleski@valp.net)
I installed my Lift KIT and BFGs in Mar 07. I have wheeled my Jeep through Tellico and various other locations. The flex and performance is decent for a cheap lift like this.

However, you get what you pay for. This lift squeaks badly. The drop down kit did nothing for me and I had a bad vibration until I added the slip yoke eliminator. The ride is rough on and off road.

I do not recommend the purchase of this lift. Other better brands out there. Do your research upfront.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Great value for the price...
Date: Nov 18, 2007
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (West Creek, New Jersey)
As stated by others, the parts bags and instructions are a bit vague, but once we figured everything out, it went smoothly and all the parts fit perfectly. It took 3 of us about 9 hours to complete the lift and it rides great and looks awesome!!! A great entry level lift for the beginner...
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Need better labeling
Date: Nov 09, 2007
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (MI)
It is a good kit but the bags are not labeled well. The kit is easy to install but bad instructions make it take longer.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Great lift for the price.
Date: Sep 14, 2007
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Roanoke, VA)
I installed a 4 inch lift on my 04 Sahara. It came in about four days from National Tire and Wheel. This was the first lift that I have ever put on. It was very easy, just me and my cousin doing it, it only took 2 days. Every thing fit just fine. The front lower control arms were a tight fit so we used a comealong to pull the axle foward and they fit fine. The only problem that I had was getting the stock stuff off, mainly the pitman arm and front shocks. If you follow the directions it goes smoothly. I only had a slight wobble in the steering, but that came from my 33" super swamper tires. I belive that I could fit 35's. I would purchase this lift again.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Great lift for people on a budget.
Date: Aug 26, 2007
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Saugus, MA)
I installed this RC Series II Kit on my 03 Jeep TJ X with 33s. I bought this kit in June this year. Lift took a about 4 weeks to get to my door, Not a problem because I paid $529 shipped from JC Whitney. Installing the lift was pretty strait forward, instructions were good but not the best.

The only problems I had was taking off the stock parts. The pitman arm and control arms would not come off, period. The front control arm bolts were siezed. Torch and a hack saw fixed that after about 4 hours. Two New CAM adjuster bolts from Jeep cost me $45, so if you can save the originals DO IT.

All the RC parts went on without a problem. Shocks are good, All brackets lined up with a little nudge here and there. I was missing 1 control arm bushing and had to wait an additional week for it from RC, but did not notice this till the lift install was half way through and was unable to drive my jeep.

Overall good kit, Lift gave me about 6inches and has settled to around 4 1/2 inches of lift. You will need the 1.5" t-case drop or SYE to eliminate vibes. Kit rides very good, My advice is make sure all parts are in the boxes before you start the install. Plan on at least two full days for the install with at least 2 buddies, with simple hand tools and/or a compressor (makes things much easier).

-One other thing is you will need to install the 4WD bracket in the kit or 4WD will not engage.
And I Also had problem where my shifter had moved back about an inch and had to cut the boot so it would engage in 2nd and reveres gears.
-Also there is enough room for 35s.
-Again over all great kit for someone on a tight budget.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating No doubt! This is the best value in jeep lift kits
Date: Jul 16, 2007
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Newbern, TN)
Don't waste $1000 or more on a lift kit. This kit is pretty easy to install. It does ride a little stiff, but I have never been in a good riding jeep. I wheel this kit hard, following guys with 5 times the money invested in their suspension. Overall this kit has impressed me and everyone watching me conquering the trails.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Spend your money elsewhere
Date: Apr 22, 2007
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Spanaway, WA)
Sucky kit. Straight forward installation though. Brackets lined up and fit. 2 swaybar links were missing. All four control arms are same length. In front, they're too short allowing right front spring to hit bumpstop,rear too long causing massive low pinion angle. Rear springs way too stiff causing 6 in lift. I wound up using Stock TJ front springs and control arms in rear which made it level and compliant.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating 4' Rough Country
Date: Apr 18, 2007
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Russellville, AL)
Good lift. But had problems install not all hardware was in the box. It took a little longer than expected and for the pepole with the shifter problem , pull your shifter out and cut the plat back above the transmission.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating It is ok
Date: Apr 17, 2007
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Mason City, Iowa)
I had it installed on my 2006 rubicon, it dont like 2nd gear, keeps coming out of gear, several squeaks, would not recomend shocks if you want a smoothe ride, they are pretty rough, if you can help me with the shift problem i would apriciate it.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Nothing lines up
Date: Jan 17, 2007
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Concord, NH)
I took my time installing this kit in an '04 wrangler X. One of the control arms is too short so the spring rubs on the bump stop mount, The zerk fittings on the control arms is nice. The rear trac-bar relocation bracket did not lineup with any of the holes ment to locate and secure it in place. The shocks are good, no problem there. The springs seem very stiff, but I am sure that it will soften as they break in, there is very little flex off road. The instructions or lack there of were the worst think of the kit. It looked like they were done on a broken down old copy machine at a drug store. The 3 or 4 pictures were so bad you could not tell what you were looking at. And the text consisted of short statments like 'remove control arm, install new control arm' it did not mention which end of the control arm was front or back (short or long side) But if you pay for the cheapest lift you will get the cheapest lift.

Just my 2 cents
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating great kit for the money
Date: Dec 17, 2006
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Ottawa, ON, Canada)
I have the kit installed about 6 monts and it is still OK. Installs really easy, I did it by myself with no help for 6 hours. The instructions are very understandable and easy to follow. The only thing I dont like is the track bar relocation brackets - the rear one moves (becusse there is NO BUSHING INSIDE) and I have finaly got it welded. Othervise - great kit for those tiny money, worth every penny.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Competes with the rest for half the price
Date: Oct 24, 2006
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (El Paso, TX)
i bought this lift mainly for the price, 570 shipped to my door. Installed in 6 hours everything went smooth. One hell of a ride, everyone says its a rough ride but in reality its not noticable, plus its a jeep not a cadillac. off road, does what its supposed to do. it flexes nice especially if you add in some disconects.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Great Lift!
Date: Oct 18, 2006
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Cincinnati, OH)
First of all the lift cost me about 600 with shipping and everything. You would think the lift is just a bunch of crap for a price like that but boy was I wrong. This lift kit is perfect, rides smooth and works great. People tried to talk me out of buying a rough country lift for some reason. I have over ten thousand miles on this lift and I still love it. Great lift for a great price.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Good bang for the buck
Date: Aug 03, 2006
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (La Feria, TX)
Great kit for the price. It was the cheapest 4inch around. It came out to about 5 1/2" in the front and 5" in the rear after the install. after 4 months it left me with about 5" all round. With the t-case drop I haven't felt any vibes at all.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Best bang for the buck
Date: Jun 15, 2006
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Midland Texas)
I just installed my 4" Rough Country X-Series Suspension on my 03 Rubicon. I ordered it direct from Rough Country with no problems. All items ordered were included and everything was in good condition when it arrived. I also opted for the x-long brake lines and the Heckthorne (sp?) shocks. I also installed Superlift Adjustable Front Track Bar. Side note: You MUST install an adjustable front track bar with this lift in order to get some of the factory steering geometety back.

So far the lift is performing as promised. The actual height gain was 4 1/2". Also, the shocks are softer than I expected. Overall I am very pleased with my choice and would purchase this lift again.

 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Great Lift!
Date: Nov 25, 2005
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (The Florida Keys)
Easy to install, no vibes so no SYE required. 8 months and the ride is still perfect. Great lift for a great price!
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
1 - 50 of 54 | Next
Rough Country 84-01 Jeep Cherokee CV Rear Driveshaft for 4-6
Rough Country 84-01 Jeep Cherokee CV Rear Driveshaft for 4-6" Lifts 5076.1
   $269.95
Rough Country Jeep TJ Wrangler Adjustable Front Forged Track Bar 0-3.5
Rough Country Jeep TJ Wrangler Adjustable Front Forged Track Bar 0-3.5" of lift
   $179.95
Rough Country Jeep TJ Wrangler Adjustable Front Forged Track Bar 4-6
Rough Country Jeep TJ Wrangler Adjustable Front Forged Track Bar 4-6" of lift
   $179.95
Rough Country Jeep XJ Wrangler Adjustable Front Forged Track Bar 4-6.5
Rough Country Jeep XJ Wrangler Adjustable Front Forged Track Bar 4-6.5" of lift
   $179.95
Jeep TJ Wrangler Rough Country N2 Series 4 inch Lift Kit - 906S
Jeep TJ Wrangler Rough Country N2 Series 4 inch Lift Kit - 906S
   $499.95
Rough Country 901 2.5
Rough Country 901 2.5" Suspension Lift 07-14 Jeep JK Wrangler (4-door only)
   $249.95