Jeep Parts > Shocks > Old Man Emu Shocks

Old Man Emu Shocks Photo

Old Man Emu Shocks

Brand: Old Man Emu
Features:

  • Polyurethane bushings
  • Twin tube design
  • Triple lip seal
  • Low pressure nitrogen gas

Owner Reviews

Old Man Emu Shocks

Avg. Customer Rating: (6.9 Stars) Average Customer Rating
Number of Reviews: 10 reviews

Write a review and share your thoughts with other Jeepers.



Old Man Emu Shocks - Reviews

Customer Rating OME shock review after 1.5yrs use (99 Grand Cherokee)
Date: Apr 20, 2008
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Raleigh, NC)
I went from OEM factory shocks to Old Man Emu. There was a definate improvement. My factory shocks were worn so I'll leave the comparison of that out. Australia is allowed 2inches of lift, so OME shocks and lifts are optimal in the 2in range. The resulting ride is very nice. My wife enjoys the quality of the ride, which is a definate plus. Highway driving is smooth as is going over uneven pavement and potholes. The rebound rate is good as well. Later, I went up to 3 inches of lift, and threw on the shocks that came with the lift...Doetsch Tech PreRunner 8000-series. They were Medium/Firm shocks, which is not a ride I'm looking for. I went back to my OME's. At 3.5inches lift my Jeep doesn't have much shock travel to play with so I'll have to switch in something else for a while.

Note: twin-tube shocks are cheaper to make and can be purchased cheaper. mono-tube shocks provide the best ride but cost more.

Other shocks to look at are:
Bilstein 5150's
Pro Comp MX-6 Adjustables

Bilstein Comfort Valvings -
Some vehicles come equipped from the factory with a Bilstein made shock. Specifically GM vehicles, Mercedes, and others. These units, while built by Bilstein, are made and valved to the car manufacturer's specs, not Bilstein's. They will have a soft or "light" valving. While they are still a monotube shock, they typically do not dampen as well as a Bilstein with Heavy Duty or Sport Valving. (most Customers upgrade to a HD or Sport valving Bilstein if more performance is desired.)
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Great Shox
Date: Apr 18, 2008
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Denver, CO)
I had OME shocks on my 04 TJ with 3.5 in lift and I couldn't have been happier. The only reason I rated them a 7 rather then an 8, 9, or 10 was because of the yellow. Guess those Australians love mustard yellow.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Stiff ride
Date: Jan 20, 2008
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Carbondale, Co.)
I have a 2000 XJ with the OME 2.5" lift. My wife got a neck injury and needs to soften the ride some so she can ride in it. I want to keep the lift and replace the shocks with another brand for a softer ride. Any ideas, thanks. Captainpaul
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating No complaints with matching OME springs
Date: Apr 18, 2007
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Wichita, KS)
I have these on my 2000 Cherokee with matching OME springs front and rear. See my suspension (not-a-lift) review of the OME springs. The shocks still work well with over 40,000 miles of highway, mud road and off road use
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Great Ride!
Date: Jan 09, 2007
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Western MA)
I went from Skyjacker Hydros to OME and what a diff. I don't think I will have anything but OME for awhile. Metal shield is perfect for off-road, the traditional rubber boots trap dirt and water which rust the shock shaft. NOT OME!
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Awesome
Date: Nov 24, 2005
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (San Antonio, TX)
I went from Procomp to OME and what a difference. They are worth every penny (especially since they were only a $100 upgrade when I bought my lift.)
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Old Man Emu Install
Date: Nov 11, 2005
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Boston, MA)
I recently bought a set of Old Man Emu long travel shocks for my 98 Jeep TJ after reading all of the great testimonials for their products on various message boards. I have a 4" Superlift kit and had been using the Superlift Superide shocks since the kit was installed (about 3 years). My Superlift shocks were pretty thrashed when they came off, so I was expecting some great results with 4 fresh shocks.

After running the Old Man Emu's for about 2 months now, I'd say that I'm satisfied with them, but not ecstatic. I definitely did not have a "life altering" experience after installing them (like others would lead you to believe). Sure, my lifted Jeep is slightly tighter and softer than before, but it's definitely not plush by any means. If I didn't drive my Jeep every day over the same roads/bumps, I probably wouldn't have recognized a difference. Of course, shocks aren't the only factor here (springs, tire pressure, and control arm angles are surely affecting my ride as well).

So, overall, I think the shocks are solid, but I'm not sure I got enough ride/comfort benefit out of them to justify the ~$300 price tag.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Great Quality
Date: Nov 08, 2005
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (East Lansing, MI)
For shocks, you can go cheap or really good. OME's are a very nice medium. They're not all that expensive, but their quality is outstanding. I have mine installed with a 3.5" SuperFlex kit and my ride is much better than stock, and I feel I have more control over the Jeep. I should also add that this weekend, I realized that it rides down washboard roads and trails better than it does on the road. I was amazed.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Substantial improvement over stock ride
Date: Nov 06, 2005
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (San Diego, Ca)
I recently installed an OME 2.5" HD lift. Let me throw this out there, I can only compare the OME shocks to the OE shocks and the RE BB shocks. The OME shocks provide a substantial improvement in the ride quality over both OE and RE BB shocks. I'm very pleased with the ride. Installation of the bar pin was somewhat of a pain as OME utilizes a washer on each side of the busing held in with a c-clip. The bar pin has a slot machined into it to hold the C clip however the tolerences are extremly tight. I had to use a BFH and a socket to try to compress the bushing/washer enough in order to have enough space to fit the c-clip. Other then that I have no complaints.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating I dont recomend
Date: Aug 20, 2005
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Lumpkin, Ga)
I hate them they were terible on my jeep cherokee they have terrible extension and ride really rough they will rattle your head the whole ride. Do not waste your money. I recommend Ranchos or Pro Comp.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.