Jeep Parts > Bumpers & Tire Carriers > LoD Heavy Duty Rear Bumper & Tire Carrier

LoD Heavy Duty  Rear Bumper  Tire Carrier Photo

LoD Heavy Duty Rear Bumper & Tire Carrier

Brand: LoD
Features:

  • Holds up to a 37" tire
  • Made of 11 gauge steel
  • Two shackle mounts
  • Trailer hitch
  • Rattle free
  • Tapered ends
  • Black powder coat
  • Available for Jeep TJ, YJ, CJ

User-Submitted Photos

LoD Heavy Duty  Rear Bumper  Tire Carrier photos

Owner Reviews

LoD Heavy Duty Rear Bumper & Tire Carrier

Avg. Customer Rating: (5.8 Stars) Average Customer Rating
Number of Reviews: 28 reviews

Write a review and share your thoughts with other Jeepers.



LoD Heavy Duty Rear Bumper & Tire Carrier - Reviews

Customer Rating Just rating customer service.....
Date: Mar 23, 2011
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Benton, Arkansas)
Their customer service is not as bad as what everyone says.... I orderd a gen 2 carrier for my lj about 2weeks ago. You get prompt service when you call them directly. I have called several times, and gotten someone on the line every time. They are courteous, respectful, and really seem to know their stuff...Mine ships in 2weeks, was able to choose my powder coating to closely match my arb front bumper,frame tie ins were included, delet the light holes, add safety chain points. Everyone has their own different experiences with every aftermarket company. As far as installing products, people are fast to blame the builders for lack of install skills and mechanical abilities. Call them, ask questions, and get your own experience. Now go trick out your jeep, and hit the trail!!
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Good Product / HORRIBLE customer service
Date: Jan 06, 2010
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (San Diego, CA)
Bought the Xtreme bumper and frame tie-in kit. The bumper came a long time after it was supposed to, and no tie-in kit. Once I finally got through to them it was like I was bothering them to get what I had paid for. Then the holes for where the jerry-can mounts were supposed to bolt in weren't even drilled - not a problem, but annoying. After I bent one of the J-can arms on a trail, I tried and tried and tried to find out if I could order a replacement. They are the WORST company when it comes to customer service. You're not a customer - you're a pain in their ass. My advice - spend your money elsewhere.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Sturdy Bumper! Recomend!
Date: Dec 18, 2009
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Johnstown, CO)
Had one of these on my last jeep and I loved it. The thing is built like a tank! In regards to rattles, I never could figure out if it was just my Jeep rattling or the tire carrier. It never bothered me much. Jeeps rattle, lol. I got rear-ended by a little non-car (ford focus)and this bumper totaled her car. Didn't even chip the powder coat of my bumper. Cop showed up and asks "Where is the vehicle she hit?" lol
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Don't waste your hard earned money
Date: Mar 05, 2009
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (USA)
This has been by far the worst purchase that I have made for my CJ-7. It looks great when you pull it out of the box but far from it. The mounting points to the crossmember line up but the brackets on bottom of the frame are a full hole off, the holes in the bracket behind the crossmember need to be modified to work, the bolts are too short, they are also not grade 8, there are no washers and lock washers included, the hinge is marginal at best and the metal is not up to the challenge of holding a 35" tire. I recommend going to your local fabrication shop and having a much better quality tire carrier built for the same price if not less.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Update, and some abuse........
Date: Dec 16, 2008
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Apple Valley, CA)
This Bump/tire carrier has been through some s..t, pulled stuck Jeeps out of some crazy stuff, and just traveled 4.000 miles,(Ca. to Al. and back, no noise, no probs. Good bumper after one year.33" spare, and I do not baby my Jeep. Would reccomend.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Lod: Hit & Miss
Date: Aug 19, 2008
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Lost Angeles)
LoD makes a decent product at a low price point. The problem is that they are so innunadated with orders that they take forever to get orders out. In my case they completely forgot to make mine. After many excuses and telling me it was already sent (which it wasn't) - I waited over 3 months. They finally sent the bumper but it had no hardware and had a few "dings". This time they felt so guilty that they refunded my money and let me keep the bumper. My other complaint is that their celvis mounts are too thin. My D-rings rattled so much I had to install some rubber grommets on them. But I do like the way they integrate the bumper with the frame for extra strength.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating So far, Great bumper
Date: Dec 02, 2007
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Apple Valley, CA)
I ordered the Ext. duty bumper/tire carrier BEFORE I found this web site, so I was sweating it. Took forever for it to arrive, and NO inst. came with it. None. But its not hard to figure out. Easy install,(should come with washers,though) NO NOISE AT ALL! Im running 33/12.50s on alloys and its SOLID. I like the latch pin. Sure,its a 2 handed pain, but its overkill and its simple. Maybe LoD's quality control is all over the place, after reading some of these reviews. Dont know. I would recommend MY bumper to anyone!
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Great Product
Date: Nov 21, 2007
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Klamath Falls, OR)
Received Rear Bumper / Tire carrier last year, did take 6 weeks to receive, but worth the wait. Looks good, works, and does not rattle. Currently holds a 32" tire. Have also purchased front bumper, Another great product.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Rattle-Trap on flat highway. Don't believe the hype
Date: Jul 28, 2007
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Ft Lauderdale, FL)
I installed extreme duty carrier 2 weeks ago and have been trying to get it stop rattling ever since. If you leave the bump stops too big, the tire carrier puts too much pressure on you tailgate latch which causes it to rattle back and forth. If you cut the bump stops too short, not enough pressure is put on the latch pin and it rattles. I have a 06 TJ with 1" body lift. I have gone through 3 bump stops trying to get the thing quiet. Everybody that gets in the jeep ask me "what's loose back there?" The top of the "A" frame flex's at least an inch back and forth when going over bumps in the road. Bad investment.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Look else ware
Date: May 16, 2007
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Phoenix, AZ)
I have had my LOD bumper for about 2 years now and i have had to re weld just about every point on the bumper. The attachment for the tire will not stop bending down im running a 35 and it seems that this carrier says it's good up to a 37 but in real life thats not the case. The steel is weak and no matter how much you weld it or reinforce it. The tire carrier will keep failing. i tried to email LOD with my problems and and also sent pictures of the damaged part. No response i would never buy this bumper again or any of there other products. I guess you get what you pay for.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Lod is a leader in the off road world.
Date: May 06, 2007
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (North Country, NY)
I recieved my tire carrier almost 3 weeks to the day i ordered it. It was packaged very well to ensure no damage during shipping. Install took about 2 hours with detailed instructions. All i can say is this thing is awsome i waited a month to right the review to see if anything was to go wrong. Nothing has this thing is solid as a rock it carries a 33" tire like its not even there. No squeaks no rattles no nothing Solid. I give it a 9 for 2 reasons. There were no washers with the nuts and bolts needed to install it without them you will damage the powder coating. Second the powder coating i would rate a 90 because where the welds are the powder coating did'nt stick as well as it could have if preped a little bit better. Still given that the kit is a steal at what there charging. Also not recomended by them but i towed a 20 foot boat with it, and a dual quad trailer with no problem.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Good Quality/Great Price
Date: Apr 11, 2007
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (KansasCity, MO)
I ordered thsi last year from Eddie at 4X4xplor.com. Install was easy as the directions were complete. Small hands are a plus. It's been a year of daily driving and hard trail use and it still is holding up great. I was running 33's on alloys but now have moved up yo 35's on heavy steel wheels. The tire carrier seems to still be handeling the weight of the much heavier spare tire and wheel. You can't beat this carrier for the price!
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Short Term Results
Date: Feb 28, 2007
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Ramstein AB, Germany)
I ordered from Eddie at 4x4xplor. Eddie is always quick to reply to any questions that you have. If you email LOD you most likely wont get a reply. Busy folks I suppose. It shipped in two weeks from LOD and came in perfect shape with no dings. The install went fairly smooth. While drilling the holes in the frame I must have let the drill pull left. So, the holes didnt quite line up. Also, I had to trim the upper left rubber 'thing' on the tail gate to allow the swing to shut. I've driven the last couple days and havent heard it make a single noise. Well worth the money and looks extremely sharp.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Very happy, rattle free, would suggest it to anyone!
Date: Jan 10, 2007
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (St Louis, MO)
Title should say it all. My wait time was 4 weeks and was delivered on time as expected. I run 33s on an Unlimited. Put it on three days before a trail run, hit on it hard on the trail thought i might have done some damage, took a look, and just some good ole scratches. I personnally like the closing latch. Nice tight rattle free.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Lod Heavy Duty Rear Bumper & Tire Carrier
Date: Jan 10, 2007
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Orlando, FL)
Purchased mine approx 2 months ago. The installation was not too bad. The problem with the system is the weight at the top of the A-Frame not being secured. When you go over bumps, the top of the A-Frame slaps back and forth against the rubber isolator on the tailgate. I am running a 33 x 12.5 tire. The only solution I can think of is to add a pull action toggle clamp to hold the top of the A-Frame to the tail gate. I think I will probably purchase a Garvin Industries Tire Carrier.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Piece of crap! For Real
Date: Oct 08, 2006
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Staunton, VA)
Bought the bumper about 8 months ago or so and it took about 8 weeks to receive. Customer service stinks; you might as well not even e-mail them it's a waste of time. Once received I put it on my jeep and took it on the trail to test it out and the piece of crap has been thumping up against my tailgate ever since. I keep cutting new bumper isolators to fit in between the A-arm and the tailgate and it just keeps getting worse. Trust me don't waste time and money getting this bumper. It's truley a Piece!

P.S-The 1 star is for looks
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Lead Time and Quality
Date: Jul 07, 2006
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Missoula, MT)
I placed my order for this tire carrier on May 15 and finally received it on July 6. If you plan on ordering one, I wouldn't expect to receive it earlier than this. As far as the quality is concerned, it is well built and should hold up my 33" spare easily, and withstand moderate off-road use. The price is also great, the best on the market. If you're not in a hurry, I would recommend it.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Not Heavy Duty
Date: May 22, 2006
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Virginia)
The tire carrier is not holding up well to trail use with a 35" spare.
The spindle on which the carrier gate pivots is bending outward away from the body. The carrier is no longer straight up and down, the top leans out away from the tailgate. I am wondering if it can be repaired or it's toast.
Since the bumper is only attached to the flimsy TJ rear crossmember and not to the frame, I never have (and never will) use the mounted clevis tabs for recovery.
Should be OK for street use and a 33" or smaller spare.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Great product, Poor service
Date: Apr 14, 2006
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Colorado Springs, CO)
Very good product. I also have their front bumper and rocker guards. The quality is very good, the powder coat still is very glossy after nearly three years of hard wheeling. Their "Xtreme Duty" rear combo is even better.

Their service sucks!!! You will not get a reply from them, and expect to wait 2 to three weeks longer than they advertise.

I would recommend you purchase their products through Eddie @ 4x4xplor.com.

You won't get the products any faster, but Eddie's honest communication will help you feel better during the wait.

While you are there, check out the site. It's one of the two best do it yourself Jeep sites on the web. (Stu Olsen's site is also extremely good! (stu-offroad.com/index.shtml)
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Not Trail Rated
Date: Feb 21, 2006
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Sugar Land, TX)
I would use this bumper for street only. It's design rest a bumper on the tailgate to absorb some of the road vibration. This design keeps it very quiet. Only draw back is when it totally distroyed my tailgate when I drove off a ledge and my spare tire caught the ledge and flexed it.

The problem with flexing is three fold.
1. the boxed steel that attaches the bumper to the jeep is open on the sides allowing forward and aft flex.
2. There needs to be a bolt on top of the hindge.
3. The latch system though very cool does not snug down the swing arm enough.

When i emailed LoD's owner on several occasions he did not respond. Buy better and buy once.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Worth the wait!
Date: Dec 05, 2005
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Flagstaff, AZ)
I got mine just short of 6 weeks after ordering. The quality, finish and fit are outstanding, and it's plenty strong.
The ONLY negative is the installation. If you have big hands, you'll be hating life during the install. I had to loosen the gas tank skid to get the backing plates on.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Good Product/Sloooooow Service
Date: Nov 19, 2005
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Discovery Bay, CA)
Just like my title says, good product for the price but it takes an eternity to get it. I have beat it up pretty good on a couple of Rubicon Trail trips amongst others and it is still holding up quite well and is rattle free. Easy install and I also mounted my high lift to it!
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Best Bang For the Buck
Date: Nov 13, 2005
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Tulsa OK)
This tire carrier is anybit as good as the warn if not better and at half the cost you wont be disappointed with it
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating LoD Rear Bumper/Tire Carrier
Date: Sep 07, 2005
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (E. Corinth, Vermont)
To be fair I felt I should enter a review on their rear bumper/tire carrier since I finally received it(after seven weeks). My previous review was only on their service which I still rate as poor. Now for the upside. Well packaged, great welds, excellent powdercoating, installed easily and is completely rattle free. High quality and bargain priced!
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Rating only customer service
Date: Aug 26, 2005
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (E. Corinth, Vermont)
Ordered a rear bumper/tire carrier. Their site said expect a 3-4 week delay. It has been 6 weeks
and still no product. If they are truly so "backed up" with orders they should suspend taking orders until caught up. Maybe they could just be honest and tell the consumer they have no idea when the product will be shipped? Anyway it is my own fault.....trying to save a few bucks. Was going to try one of their front bumpers but forget it. I may not live long enough to receive it.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Again, poor customer service
Date: Aug 09, 2005
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Virginia)
I agree with Mike on the customer service. I just received my bumper, 7 weeks after ordering it. The web site tells you to expect a 2-3 week delivery. No replies to e-mails except for an auto-response that tells you to expect a 2-3 week delay. That's pretty aggrevating when you ordered your stuff 5 or 6 weeks ago.

I felt I was taking a chance on a cheap product, and the poor customer service made me feel less confident about my purchase. Unless this turns out to be an excellent tire carrier, I won't be doing business with LoD in the future.

I wheel and abuse my Jeep pretty hard, so I will give this bumper a workout. I will post the results of my abuse after I have hit the trails with it.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Not rating the bumper just customer service
Date: Jul 24, 2005
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Turlock, California)
Well it's been 6 weeks and still no bumper, I knew it would take a while because from what I've heard they're good bumpers. I ordered my rear tire carrier & rocker guards and e-mailed them a ? 2 weeks later but no reply, asked them again a week later no reply, e-mailed them @ the 4 week mark twice and again no reply. By their history of returning e-mails I see why the don't have a phone # on their site. This has got to be the worst customer service I've ever received and you need to work on it big time. Don't know if I'll ever order from them again, to tell you the truth had they returned one of my e-mails I might have not gone with the jeeperman front bumper.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Heavy Duty, 100% Rattle Free and Only $339!!
Date: Oct 08, 2004
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Laguna Niguel, CA)
This is a rock solid heavy duty bumper with an awesome self-latching, 100% rattle free tire carrier capable of holding up to a 37" spare. The bumper does require some drilling on TJ's but bolts right up to YJ's and CJ's. CJ model cost $359 but come with frame rail tie-ins to beef up the flimsy (or in many cases non-existant) rear cross member. This bumper really gives you the best bang for your buck and is every bit as tough as the more expensive name brand one on the market today.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
JEEP WRANGLER Rear Tube Bumper Textured Black fits CJ 76-83 CJ5 76-86 CJ7
JEEP WRANGLER Rear Tube Bumper Textured Black fits CJ 76-83 CJ5 76-86 CJ7
   $119.99
2005-2007 JEEP LIBERTY SPORT REAR BUMPER PRIMERED BLACK PLASTIC SMOOTH COVER NEW
2005-2007 JEEP LIBERTY SPORT REAR BUMPER PRIMERED BLACK PLASTIC SMOOTH COVER NEW
   $153.19
07-14 Jeep Wrangler JK  KO OFF ROAD Front 02 + Rear Bumper 02 and Tire Carrier
07-14 Jeep Wrangler JK KO OFF ROAD Front 02 + Rear Bumper 02 and Tire Carrier
   $860.00
REAR BUMPER COVER UNPAINTED CH1100815 5DP65SS5 96-98 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE LAREDO
REAR BUMPER COVER UNPAINTED CH1100815 5DP65SS5 96-98 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE LAREDO
   $110.01
97-06 Jeep Wrangler Rear bumper OEM orignal stock black
97-06 Jeep Wrangler Rear bumper OEM orignal stock black
   $45.00
Rear Rock Crawler Crusher SRS Bumper Jeep Wrangler
Rear Rock Crawler Crusher SRS Bumper Jeep Wrangler
   $219.00