Jeep Parts > Winches > Chicago Electric 8000 lb Electric Winch

Chicago Electric 8000 lb Electric Winch Photo

Chicago Electric 8000 lb Electric Winch

Brand: Chicago Electric
Features:

  • 8,000 lbs rating
  • 95 feet of cable
  • Three-stage system with automatic load-holding brake
  • Freespooling
  • Planetary gearing
  • 12' handheld remote switch

Owner Reviews

Chicago Electric 8000 lb Electric Winch

Avg. Customer Rating: (7.7 Stars) Average Customer Rating
Number of Reviews: 26 reviews

Write a review and share your thoughts with other Jeepers.



Chicago Electric 8000 lb Electric Winch - Reviews

Customer Rating CJ7
Date: Oct 13, 2011
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (AL)
Works great, have had it for probably 5-6 years, no problems.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Real work horse
Date: Jan 27, 2011
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Westport, MA)
Love my 8000hp used it many times without any problems . This winter my brother-in-law got stuck down a steep driveway with his c65 ramptruck. I spooled out about 65 ft of cable and pulled him up without no problem no b/s. ,For to money the best winch you can buy
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Slow But Cheep
Date: Sep 15, 2010
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Camas, Wa)
Know how your going to use it! If you only use a winch a few times a year buy it! If you only do hard trails every week, and do more than your Jeep is capable of, then you will use a winch more so spend the extra coin. Little slow but half the price!!! I like slow$$$ Spend the money you save on something that will help your Jeep not need a winch??? For the money you can't go wrong. 9 stars for speed but 3 years on a $250 winch, hummm not to bad:)
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating On a Budget, get it. It will work
Date: Feb 05, 2010
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Columbus, OH)
I have had to tow a few times. Hummer and Jeeps. I have not had an issue. If you need it to work, it will. I know everyone will stress paying more, but I could not afford more. It worked great for the price and I recommend it to anyone. The hummer pull was up a 40 deg slope. Not too shabby. Just a little slow on the pulls. Do not hesitate to get this item!
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Worked for Me
Date: Sep 05, 2009
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Denver, CO)
My '04 Rubicon pulled a full size Chevy out of an axel deep bog with the 8,000 LB winch. Both axels were on the ground and all 4 wheels stuck half deep in mud. Once anchored to an Expidition, this thing pulled that Chevy out no problem. Cable was 25' exposed and did not stretch.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Good winch
Date: Jun 09, 2009
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Eldorado, AR)
Good winch, I have used it several times and put to the test. I rock crawl on regular basis and it has never failed. My son also has one. Line a little slow, but saves on overheating. Controls suck, and also Harbor Freight basically said bite me.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Take Care of it, and it will take care of you
Date: May 03, 2009
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Rainier, WA)
I recently finished builing my front bumber and threw on a Chicago 8,000. Just to make sure my bumber, and the winch, was capable of what I needed I climbed up a huge fir tree with the cable. Then proceeded to completly lift my 4,000 lb toyota pickup of the ground. 4 of my friends own the same winch, and from what I understand if you don't overheat the moter, make sure you have a good battery (Optima yellow), and grease the right side gear box, you will never have trouble.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Great for the budget wheeler
Date: Feb 13, 2009
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (MI)
I love my HF 8000# winch, i was very sceptical about spending $300 on a possible POS. I have now had it two years and it has never failed me, not even once. I am pretty much just a weekend wheeler, no comps for me, so the slow line speed isn't much of an issue. I've used and abused this thing time and time again, I wore out the steel cable that came with the winch and am now running a amsteel blue synthetic line (which cost almost as much as the winch) and couldn't be happier, for those that are interested HF would have warantied the cable.

Like someone else mentioned, you have to GREASE the planetary gearsets on the right side. All I do, after EVERY trailride, is remove the six screws, pop the cover off, and pump a bunch of grease in with the grease gun, and tighten it back up. It's a simple task and will make your winch last a long time.

The only winch I would ever consider to replace this would be a Warn 8274, and that won't be for a long time.

I would defiantly buy one again in a heartbeat.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating I love my 10000 winch
Date: Jan 15, 2009
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (MI)
For the money it is a good winch buy it.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Cheap starter but a Warn for $200 more is worth it
Date: Dec 29, 2008
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Boise)
I used mine about 10 times - It was O.K. but started seaping oil out and I see no way to put oil in them. Often when pulling out my 97TJ I'd get traction and overrun it because the spool speed is so slow. My wife got frustrated with it and said "we need a better winch!" Got to love that woman!! So I bought a Warn 8000 and it is SO much better all the way around. Well worth the extra $200. HF did replace the leaking winch and I simply sold it...Always felt the first time the Chicago would give up was the one time I was alone and REALLY needed it. Don't feel worried with the Warn.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Good winch for the money
Date: Dec 26, 2008
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Blackhills, SD)
I bought one of these for my trail rig because it was in my price range. My thoughts when buying it were, I'll it easy on it and only use it if I have to. I've been abusing it now for over two years. It has won my respect, and the respect of my skeptical buddies. I fix winches for local wheelers and some tow companies, I have noticed that these winches are vey similar to some name brand winches of the same size and some parts are interchangable. The line speed is slow, but comarable to most electric winches. In my opinion the slow speed lowers anp draw and reduces the load on the motor. It keeps the motors from burning up and makes them last longer, its also nicer to the trucks electrical system. I have several of them now for my trailer and a 10k for my superduty.

LUBRICATION, the planitary gears are lubricated with lithium grease. There is no oil in the gear case. If some one wanted to lubricate it, the best way would be to remove (rt. cover) the planitary gear sets and repack them with lithium grease. The gear case is not sealed for use with oil and might make a mess.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Great Boat Anchor
Date: Nov 21, 2008
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Choctaw, OK.)
The problem I had was that when I went to get my Jeep (06 Rubi), ready for hunting I went to test the winch. No worky. I first thought the hand control was faulty but found that the positive wire running across the front of the transformer module, (under that cover) had grounded out against one of the screws on the front of module, creating a nuclear meltdown of the said module. Without replacement parts I'm the proud owner of a boat anchor. Also to answer about lubrication, that cap on the R/H side is packed with gear oil. I know, mine ruptered after a pull. I was going to tap a fill hole and refill it but without the module I,m screwed. But it did work great before this happened. I probably would buy one again...(cheap)
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Worst winch I ever purchased
Date: Sep 28, 2008
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Duluth, GA)
The motor is not water tight, I purchased the winch and installed it on my wrangler. I tried to use it about 18 months later and the motor was locked up. The motor was rusty inside and harbor freight said tuff.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Gear Oil/Lubrication?
Date: Aug 30, 2008
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Rehoboth, MA)
I got the Chicago Electric Winch (8,000lbs) on my 94 YJ. Had for almost 6 months and has been used almost a dozen times through some pretty tough terrain. There is only one thing I am wondering about and that is if the winch needs some sort of gear oil of lubrication. I cannot find anything about on the web some any kind of feedback would be greatly appreciated.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating More Bang For Your Buck
Date: Jan 27, 2008
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Fort Collins, CO)
I bought it a year ago, for my yj and have used it at least once a week for either work or play, even pulled a 1 ton dually 50 feet up a steep 30degree embankment out of mud, no problems,no overheating, just not as fast as most high end winches.

MOST IMPORTANT, always read the the instructions, use a good sutable battery, before use properly tighten all fasteners, pull the cable all the way out and reespool! failure to do the things will make any winch fail! I experienced my warn powerplant fail because I didn't respool it before the first time I used it, and it voided the warranty! So my budget wasn't big enough to buy another and found this one at Harbor Freight for $300 with mounting plate and bought a extended 2 year warranty, my power plant now makes the best paper weight, holds bown every thing on my bench, all at the same time.

Always use proper safety equipment, and practices, and never winch alone!
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating I have the 91905-3VGA
Date: Oct 28, 2007
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Durant, OK)
Well, this one is a little diffrent. I have a 1996 Dodge Ram 1500 4X4. I bought the Chicago 10,000 pound winch for my pickup. it was cheap and I was kinda afraid to purchase it. But now, I am glad I did. It out performes my buddys Ramsey and it never overheats. I recomend this winch to anyone on a budget. It is slow, but powerful. I have been midway up my doors in mud and it has pulled me out no problem. A Great winch!!!
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Test pull
Date: Oct 02, 2007
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (W.P.B., FL)
I have the 9000lb hf winch on my yj, we put the jeep against a tree, pulled out about 60 ft of cable , hooked to a 7,500 lb buggy with tractor tires, pulled about 30 ft in dirt with the tires sliding, no problems.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Best yet
Date: Sep 20, 2007
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Rome, GA)
I have used this whinch hard! Pulled down two mobil homes (I was payed for this) so I made money with it used it many to time to tell about I would put it against others I have owned.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating If your only cruising the malls this will work perfect.
Date: Jan 04, 2006
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Kansas)
After going through 2 of these in as many months getting a credit to buy other HF "junk" was a better option then wasting my time on these winches.

The first one only made it too the second pull before giving out (pulling a cavalier out of some snow). The second unit made all of 4 pulls before giving out, this time while trying to pull a friends Jeep out. Even with a snatch block the 3500 pound jeep was just to much of a load for it. If you need a winch to save your rear, dont count on this one doing it. You better hope the friend your wheeling with has a quality winch or you may be catching a ride home with him.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Worked it hard and it did the job
Date: Jan 03, 2006
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (central IL)
I put the 40764 (Harbor Freight number) on and 3 days later was winching three times on Jeeps. One thing of note is that the web site says it is 1.8 HP motor but it is 4.1. Anyway with proper voltage and maintenance I think this winch will hold up fine.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating works every time for me
Date: Dec 12, 2005
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Concord NC)
The only thing that can be said negatively is that the winch is slow. You are stuck anyway. Take your time and keep the money in your pocket. I have used mine at least a dozen times in the two years I have had it. through mud, up hill, over rocks, you name it it drags my jeep and anything else I have hooked up to. I have even had to strap my jeep to a tree to winch. I would buy another one, but so far I don't think I will need to. The one thing I do pay atention to though is battery volts during a winch, keep them up or burn up the winch.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Get what you pay for
Date: Nov 16, 2005
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Toms River NJ)
It did not even make it through the first pull. I tried to stretch the cable and the winch overheated and stopped working.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Buy one they work great!
Date: Nov 08, 2005
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (port angeles, Wa)
I dont have a winch! and nyther do 5 of my budys! luckuly one does. we all got caught in a freak rain storm at the bottom of the sadi creek trail in washington it took over 14 hours of winching in the pouring down rain and mud. to get us all out! but it did the job with no trouble it was a little slow going. but it never over heated. I will be ordering one for myself.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Dont be afraid to buy
Date: Mar 16, 2005
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Canton, OH)
I was afraid of buying this winch it was so cheap.
299$. Dont be afraid.. I have only had it 6 monthes but it is doing fine so far.. It is slow but at 300$ it suits my needs for now.

Roller Fairleads are available from harborfreight 30$
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Good winch
Date: Nov 25, 2004
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Evansville IN.)
I have used my 8000 lb. winch only five times and it has performed flawlessly. For the money I would recommend it.The winch is installed on my 1998 jeep wrangler. The last time I used it I was on a steep incline with the parking brake on, and my foot on the brake while my buddy operated the remote. In fact the motor was not even hot after we pulled the jeep all 95 feet. The only downfall is that it is a little slow,and I can't find a roller fairlead for the chicago electric 8000 lb. winch.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Works, but slow
Date: Oct 03, 2004
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (georgia)
Cheap, Works great, but it's slow
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Warn 27550 XD9000i; Self-Recovery Winch
Warn 27550 XD9000i; Self-Recovery Winch
   $1,199.00
Heavy Duty 10,500lb Off Road Power Winch With Remote Rugged Ridge
Heavy Duty 10,500lb Off Road Power Winch With Remote Rugged Ridge
   $439.00
Warn 38631 M8274-50 Self-Recovery Winch 8000 lbs./3630 kg w/Roller Fairlead
Warn 38631 M8274-50 Self-Recovery Winch 8000 lbs./3630 kg w/Roller Fairlead
   $1,849.99
Warn Winch 87675 Winch Mounting Plate 07-12 Jeep Wrangler For M8274-50 Only
Warn Winch 87675 Winch Mounting Plate 07-12 Jeep Wrangler For M8274-50 Only
   $151.95
Warn Winch 27550 XD9000i Self-Recovery Winch 9000 lbs./4080 kg 125 ft. Wire Rope
Warn Winch 27550 XD9000i Self-Recovery Winch 9000 lbs./4080 kg 125 ft. Wire Rope
   $1,199.00
Warn 74247 Winch Mounting Plate 07-13 Wrangler For All Mid-FRame Winches 12K
Warn 74247 Winch Mounting Plate 07-13 Wrangler For All Mid-FRame Winches 12K
   $403.95