Jeep Parts > Winches > Mile Marker 8000lb Electric Winch

Mile Marker 8000lb Electric Winch Photo

Mile Marker 8000lb Electric Winch

Brand: Mile Marker Winches
Features:

  • 8,000 lbs rating
  • 100 feet of wire rope
  • 3-stage planetary gear system
  • Freespooling
  • Automatic load-holding brake
  • 12' handheld remote switch

User-Submitted Photos

Mile Marker 8000lb Electric Winch photos

Owner Reviews

Mile Marker 8000lb Electric Winch

Avg. Customer Rating: (4.6 Stars) Average Customer Rating
Number of Reviews: 10 reviews

Write a review and share your thoughts with other Jeepers.



Mile Marker 8000lb Electric Winch - Reviews

Customer Rating Don't buy
Date: Oct 05, 2012
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Mullica Hill , New Jersey)
Purchase a new mile marker SEC 8000 winch and installed it on my auto trailer. That when the problems started . The %# don't work . Made a call to Mile Marker. Their respond was , you need a new relay coil . Hello the thing is new.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Terrible buy
Date: Dec 07, 2011
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Denver, CO)
Worst purchase I made. Paid $1000 bucks, worked for one week. Stopped working. Call them and their service was awful. Ordering a Warn and hope Mile Marker goes out of business. Stay away.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Works great as long as you take care of it.
Date: Oct 13, 2011
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Concord, MA)
I bought this winch used for $200. One of the best investments Ive made in my jeep. Pulled my jeep out of mud up to my doors. It failed once from sitting without use for a few months. Called up mile marker and they were very helpfull. Tapped with a hamer to free the brushes and it worked fine. Its important to run the winch every so often so the brushes dont get rusty/stuck. Its not the fastest but for $200 bucks im glad i bought it.

Cleaned it out, sealed it and bought a cover. havent had any problems since
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating okay winch but...
Date: May 14, 2010
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Central Maine)
I got my MM about four years ago. I was unschooled in winches so I bought based on advertisments and price. DUMB! Install was easy. The first couple of times I used it, it sounded like it was full of rocks, but it pulled. I had no idea what a working winch should sound like so I figure this was normal. A year later I went to respool the line and lube it for the winter and it wouldn't spool out under power. I could put it in neutral and pulled the line out, then power it back in, but thats it.

Since then I have done the research I should have done before and found that MM winches are prone to solenoid failure. I have decided not to bother trying to fix it but will replace it with a better winch when I can. I gave it 5 stars because I should have been a better shopper.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Broken winch
Date: Mar 30, 2010
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Phoenix, AZ)
I bought a PE8000 for my 99 Jeep. Installed it no problem. Well, the Jeep is my 3rd vehicle, so it doesnt get driven much. About 1-1 1/2 years later went out and spooled the cable out to run the winch for the first time, much to my surprise it would not power up. Had to remove the cable and coil it up. Called Mile Marker, I might as well have talked to the man in the moon. They would do nothing to help. It was my fault for not using the winch. As crappy as this thing is, I believe it would have broke wether I used it or not. I now have this broke winch, and cannot find the switch and solenoid to make it work. Mile Marker so far has not responded to me about if the parts are availble. Buy from someone else!!
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Go with someone else!!!
Date: Dec 18, 2009
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Roseburg, OR)
Bought mine new and have had problems with it. Customer service is terrible!!! Spend your money elsewhere.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Stay Away From MileMarker - Better Brands Out There
Date: Nov 14, 2009
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (USA)
I spent a lot of money on a MileMarker winch. The thing simply failed from day one. Problem after problem after problem. Yes, I know every once in a while things are defective, but this company was AWFUL to deal with. First I had to send them several pictures of the winch. (Even after I sent them all of the receipts, paperwork, etc.) Then, to fix the defective winch they send me USED parts to fix a NEW winch. The USED parts did not fix the problem and after HOURS on the phone with them I am left with a non-working new winch.

Instead of just replacing this faulty winch, they just gave up and will not even return my messages. AMAZING how bad their service is. There are many other brands out there, I would suggest avoiding MileMarker.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating good winch for the money
Date: Sep 25, 2007
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Arroyo Grande, CA)
i purchased this winch on a tight budget with intentions of replacing it later with a "better" one. almost two years of occasional use later, the darn $400 thing still works great! there are heavier duty and faster winches out there, but for the money you can't beat the winch for the money. i have pulled several very stuck vehicles out and it has worked perfectly. it is a little bulky, but fits nicely in my rock hard bumper. i would recomend this winch to anyone looking to save some cash and while maybe it's not for the hardcore rock crawler, it works pretty darn good for the occasional pull.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Great winch for the price.
Date: Sep 23, 2007
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Phenix City, AL)
Mile Marker did good on this budget winch. I caught it on sale for about 375 bucks, and it came with roller fairlead, controler, and even a Mile Marker hat. I've had it over a year now with no problems at all. I've been sunk up to the rockers in my 04 TJ with 4" lift and 33's, and it didnt even break a sweat. The only beef i have with it is the line speed. It could stand to be a bit faster. As far as a dependable, tough, simple, and inexpensive tool for your jeep you cant go wrong. I highly recommend this winch to guys wheeling on a budget.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Good but needs work
Date: Jun 26, 2007
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Pensacola, FL)
I own a 97 tj with 33s, a 3 inch body, and a 3 inch tereflex lift. I bought the winch and got what i paid for. dont get me wrong, the perfomance of it was great. It pulled a ford taurus out of ditch with no problem. And i was buried up to my frame in some of the stickest, nastiest, pond clay ever. I had to stretch the cable at near 90 degree angle to get to a tree. I winched for about 10 minutes straight. The winch never overheated. The problem i ran into was the cannon plug on the remote cable and inside the sylenoid box. The factory did a shotty job of soldering the connections. I called customer service and they were more than happy to send me a new set up.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Mile Marker 8506 Winch Cover
Mile Marker 8506 Winch Cover
   $51.15
Mile Marker 60-50059 Winch Mount
Mile Marker 60-50059 Winch Mount
   $104.82
Mile Marker 77-50141 SEC8; Electric Winch 02-L ALL H1
Mile Marker 77-50141 SEC8; Electric Winch 02-L ALL H1
   $404.58
Mile Marker 76-50140-05B Winch Remote Control
Mile Marker 76-50140-05B Winch Remote Control
   $44.44
Mile Marker SEC8 ES Waterproof Electric Winch - 12 Volt 77-50141W
Mile Marker SEC8 ES Waterproof Electric Winch - 12 Volt 77-50141W
   $422.49
Mile Marker 50-87283 Winch Mount Plate Steel Black Powdercoat Each
Mile Marker 50-87283 Winch Mount Plate Steel Black Powdercoat Each
   $89.92