Jeep Parts > Lift Kits > Old Man Emu 2" Suspension Lift Kit

Old Man Emu 2 Suspension Lift Kit Photo

Old Man Emu 2" Suspension Lift Kit

Brand: Old Man Emu
Features: Typical kit includes:

  • Front & rear coil springs
  • Upper & lower poly spring isolators
  • Old Man Emu Nitrocharger shocks
  • Transfer case lowering kit
  • Trackbar relocation bracket

User-Submitted Photos

Old Man Emu 2 Suspension Lift Kit photos

Owner Reviews

Old Man Emu 2" Suspension Lift Kit

Avg. Customer Rating: (9.2 Stars) Average Customer Rating
Number of Reviews: 23 reviews

Write a review and share your thoughts with other Jeepers.



Old Man Emu 2" Suspension Lift Kit - Reviews

Customer Rating Great Lift
Date: Oct 09, 2010
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Sonora, CA)
Put heavy duty kit on 06 Rubicon Unlimited. About 8 hour install by myself. Got 2+ inches front and back. Instructions pretty good. New "ride" is better than stock. On the Rubicon, no lowering of transmission necessary. Installed 32" tires, no rubbing. Great ride off road. Also, installed a OME steering shock, a must have. Quality product with competitive pricing.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating 2009 JK with OME 2" heavy duty
Date: Jul 24, 2010
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Maine)
Just put this in, it was pretty straight forward. Took my friend who is a good mechanic and I about 7 hours without a break. Bare in mind we also put in a S/T Sway Bar by Teraflex at the same time as well as other things so plan on about 4 for the lift.

I didn't realize how bad the JK stock shocks were until we got them off, 2 stock shocks weigh about as much as 1 OME. I street ride is much better and the suspension does a much better job of keeping the rubber on the ground on really rough roads. I think I got about 3" on my set up.

Really happy with the results, should have done it sooner.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Good Product
Date: Jun 13, 2010
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (College Station, TX)
I have the HD springs for TJ's.

The progressive rate is very noticeable off-road. The stiffness in the springs compensates heavy loads well.

The HD springs are too stiff if you do not have heavy accessories or a load in the Jeep. So look into the medium or light if you do not have heavy accessories, or do not plan to add them.

With 50k miles on the springs, there is no noticeable sag and feel new.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Awesome Ride
Date: Jun 18, 2009
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Boston, MA)
I have a 96 Cherokee XJ. I put this full suspension, as well as 31" tires, on about 100,000 miles ago and have been very happy with it since. I have to put in new shocks because the OME Nitro's are worn out at the moment, with new OME Nitro's and I'm switching back to rubber bushings, instead of polyurethane because those bushings are played. If I were to buy a new Jeep, I would probably put the OME on it as well before I hit 60,000 miles just because it is a superior ride, but not to radical for a daily driver.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating This kit Rocks!!!
Date: Aug 29, 2008
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Albuquerque, NM)
I just Had the HD OME lift kit put on today and I have to say it is a big difference than the stock ride. Not only does the kit look aggressive, it also performs well. I cant wait to see how this kit handles when i upgrade my tires to 31's.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Good But bumpy
Date: Aug 03, 2008
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Hawaii)
The lift kit is good overall easy to install got 2 inches in the front 2 1/2 in the rear. The only thing I dont like is the fact that when I am riding down the highway I feel the bumps so after you install the kit it does not ride like a caddie!
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Very Good - I am Satisfied
Date: Apr 25, 2008
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Martinez, Georgia)
This is a very good suspension, it not only looks great but it rides great as well. I went with this lift because I did not want to go too high and subsequently get driveline vibration. I also wanted "quality."

I put this on my 2001 Wrangler TJ Sport w/soft top. After reading these reviews I went with the heavy duty springs and got the OME Steering Stabilizer. I was preparing myself for poor instructions as well. Read all the reviews. Without the help of the previous reviews, I would have no idea where the different spring sizes would go. The instructions (or lack of) were very vague. The Rear Track Bar was a booger. It took us 3 hours just for that. Getting the old steering stabilizer off was not easy either. We eventually had to heat the rod using a torch. With the help of 4 mechanically inclined friends, it took us 7 hrs to complete. Yes, it was a pain, but well worth it in my opinion. I got 2 1/2" of lift.
I would give this kit a 10 but the lack of instructions gives it a 9.

I have 31"x10.50" and have no rubbing. I have not noticed any driveline vibration with it either.
Overall, I really like it and recommend it for anyone wanting a great suspension lift that is not too high.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Great product
Date: Mar 31, 2008
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Chicopee, Mass)
This lift kit is very well made and the ride is much better than stock. Eventhough arb recommends 31 inch tires I am running 33 inch cooper stt with no problem. There is slight rubbing with the wheel cut all the way, but no big deal.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Great kit
Date: Jan 23, 2008
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Birmingham, AL)
Installed OME 2" HD suspension and Rubicon Express 3/4" coil spacers and got about 3-1/2" total lift. Ride is very smooth, probably better than stock. Recommend using OME steering stabilizer as well. Unless you have alot of heavy after market gear (bumpers, winch, tire carrier...) the heavy duty OME will get you 2-1/2" of lift. Between that and the additional 3/4" from the spacers I had alot of drive line vibration until putting in a SYE kit and custom CV drive shaft. Running 33" tires with plenty of room. Could run 32" w/o coil spacers. Highly recommended!
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Well worth the price!
Date: Oct 12, 2007
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Wyoming)
I installed this lift on my 2006 Jeep Rubicon Unlimited. This included heavy duty coils, shocks, a steering stabilizer, bumpstop extensions and the rear trackbar relocation bracket. Total install time was about 6 hours, with some help from a very mechanically inclined friend. The most difficult part was the bracket to relocate the trackbar, which took about 2 of those hours to complete.

Once installation was complete, my jeep rides and handles much better than the stock suspension, both on and off road. Others that have reviewed this lift on here are right on the money with their reviews. If you are looking for a 2-2.5" lift and want the best on out there, go with OME.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Top of it's class.
Date: Sep 11, 2007
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (California)
I have a 2003 TJ with the 4.0L and 5-speed tranny, running 31x10.50x15 tires on 15x8 wheels. I installed the OME 2" HD suspension kit (including shocks and steering stabalizer) about 2 years ago. The install was fairly easy, the instructions were poor and the taller spring on this side and shorter on that wasn't clear. But, with help from the internet I figured it out.

The ride is great. I got about 2.75" of lift in the rear (soft-top), but only about 2" in the front. With the sway bars disconnected I don't have any rubbing with the 31's and could probably run 32" tires without problems. Much better than stock. We'll see how it holds up to heavy duty bumpers, tire carrier and a winch. Might have to install some spring spacers later.

 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Best Lift on the Market
Date: Apr 08, 2007
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Mansfield, Texas)
The OME is really a suspension system and gave me 2 3/4" inches of lift on my 05 unlimited. Remember if you have an unlimited you need to get the springs for the unlimited. The ride quality of my wrangler is almost car like and worth the extra cost for the OME. Ive had other lifts on jeeps ive owned and the ride quality always suffered in exchange for height...NOT with the OME. I have only heard and read good things about OME and now i know why. Just get this lift. I put a JKS body lift on my wrangler and netted 4 inches total. IMO best on the market.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Not a Lift, XJ rubs with 31-inch tires on stock wheels.
Date: Mar 28, 2007
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Wichita, KS)
I believed, from what I read on various web sites and blogs, that 31-tires would fit well on a Cherokee with this modification. The 31s rub badly when turning a sharp corner. The lift doesn't affect driving on the street much, and the ride is smooth, but there is a very noticable rub while off roading and turning sharp corners. I used the OME front and rear springs and OME shocks. The rears are fine, no problem. The fronts work great too, but on 29 inch tires, not the 31s. If you're planning on using this setup on an XJ, be sure use deeper offset the wheels (which might cause other problems, like early ball-joint wear), or stick with 29-inch tires.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Awesome
Date: Feb 11, 2007
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Flint, MI)
found a used kit for my TJ great ride great easy install I recomend the Heavy Duty springs, also new front track bar, sway bar links, and possible T-case drop. I have 32x10.5's easliy cleared w/this setup
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Excellent Kit
Date: Nov 01, 2006
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Arkansas)
Good kit. Good articulation. I run 33" tires with no problem on a daily driver and maintain a nice ride. (Great kit if combo'd up with the Currie AntiRock unit.)
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating OME (HD) The Best
Date: Jan 15, 2006
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (San Diego, CA)
I installed the 2" OME kit on my 2005 Rubicon Unlimited . This kit is really an engineered suspension upgrade system, as opposed to a "lift kit". I selected the "heavy duty" (HD) option, which provides heavier springs. The OME shocks perform well and I also installed an OME stearing stabilizer, which I would highly recommend to anyone who is serious about off roading.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating OME-very pleased
Date: Nov 22, 2005
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Indiana)
I am very happy with the performance both on and offroad of this kit. I went with the heavy duty springs both front and rear and gained nearly 3 inches of lift. The install took me 12 hours, mind you I am not mechanically inclined so it took me awhile. While there are other kits for 2-3inches of lift this was complete, everything needed shocks, springs all brackets and hardware. I love the ride and my wife can still get in the jeep.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Great upgrade for my Unlimited
Date: May 21, 2005
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Bartlett IL.)
The install was very easy with the exception of the rear trackbar bracket. It requires a right angle drill and some very small hands to get the bolts on. This took almost half the install time alone. With the Unlimited I found no need for a transfer case drop kit. No vibrations at all. Save the $80.00 if you have the Unlimited. With the longer wheel base the angles are not changed that much. I agree with a previous reviewer about getting the HD springs. With 32" tires and the swaybar disconnected I did get fender rub with full articulation. I just added the Acos coil spacers unfront and solved that problem. The ride is great. I went online for instruction write-ups though. Included directions were weak. I also did not need an adjustable front trackbar. You will not be sorry with this lift.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating This kit is a major improvement for a TJ
Date: Mar 15, 2005
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Boston, MA)
I recently put this in my 99 TJ and the installation was completed in approximately four and a half hours with simple hand tools and without assistance. Though, I would have preferred to use the airpowered stuff and had a buddy to assist in the build but otherwise the install went smoothly.

I now have over 1000 miles on the OME kit and am completely satisfied. This kit really is a suspension upgrade.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Spring problem
Date: Oct 28, 2004
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Marthas Vineyard, MA)
Like the ride, install was easy, right rear spring sacked, replaced by OME, appears to be sacked, again.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Get the heavy duty springs!
Date: Oct 16, 2004
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Yorktown, VA)
I have run Old Man Emu suspensions on my ZJ, XJ, and currently my TJ. Their suspension systems are second to none when it comes to ride quality and performance both on and off-road. Their "system" includes OME springs and OME shocks - it is important to get the entire system as the parts are designed to work with each other.

One minor suggestion - get the heavy duty springs! The standard duty springs will only give you 1.5" of lift if you have the 4.0L engine and a few aftermarket parts (bumpers, armor, larger spare tire, etc.) on your rig. It was explained to me that the heavy duty springs have the same comfortable spring rate as the standard ones - they are just a hair longer. If you want 2" get the heavy duty ones.

One thing I have never understood: I am paying top dollar for the best 2" suspension lift out there but no instructions are included? This should be as easy as installing new coils and shocks but it is not - OME supplies four different coils of four different lengths! OME coils have a different free height for the right and left sides - if you do not install them properly your Jeep will set crooked.

Here is how to install them correctly on a traditional American left-hand drive vehicle:
Front
drivers side gets the taller coil
passenger side gets the shorter coil
Rear
drivers side get the shorter coil this time
passenger side gets the taller coil

The Old Man Emu springs and shocks are just wonderful though - enjoy your ride!
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Awesome Lift for a bone stock 2003 Sport
Date: Oct 01, 2004
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Calgary, AB)
If you can afford it definately grab it. It eats up gravel roads, and rules on the RTI ramp. With help from a few internet writeups, installing it was a 1 man job. I have definately noticed a difference even just driving around town. At $1200CDN it was the most expensive lift in it's class, but I have no regrets on dropping that on this lift.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating OME - Smoother than stock ride
Date: Oct 01, 2004
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Chicago, IL)
After replacing the stock shocks/springs on my 04 Rubicon (stiffer than other TJs), I was amazed by the smoother ride. It also performs excellent offroad.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Jeep Wrangler TJ, Old Man Emu 4
Jeep Wrangler TJ, Old Man Emu 4" lift, 97-06, THE BEST
   $765.00
Jeep Cherokee Old Man Emu lift, 4
Jeep Cherokee Old Man Emu lift, 4" and 5". THE BEST!!!
   $845.00
Jeep Grand Cherokee Old Man Emu WJ 3.5
Jeep Grand Cherokee Old Man Emu WJ 3.5" lift kit,99-04
   $749.00
Old Man Emu Coil Spring HD (2939) Pair 4
Old Man Emu Coil Spring HD (2939) Pair 4" Lift Jeep TJ LJ
   $189.99
Old Man Emu Coil Spring (2946) Pair 4
Old Man Emu Coil Spring (2946) Pair 4" Lift Jeep TJ LJ
   $199.99
1987 - 95 Jeep YJ Wrangler Old Man Emu OME ARB Lift kit suspension leaf springs
1987 - 95 Jeep YJ Wrangler Old Man Emu OME ARB Lift kit suspension leaf springs
   $595.00