Jeep Parts > Lift Kits > Skyjacker 4" Suspension Lift Kit

Skyjacker 4 Suspension Lift Kit Photo

Skyjacker 4" Suspension Lift Kit

Brand: Skyjacker
Features: Typical kit includes:

  • Coil springs
  • Skyjacker shocks
  • Bumpstop extensions
  • Extended lower control arms
  • Transfer case lowering kit
  • Rear trackbar relocation bracket
  • Pitman arm
  • Front and rear swaybar links

Owner Reviews

Skyjacker 4" Suspension Lift Kit

Avg. Customer Rating: (2.5 Stars) Average Customer Rating
Number of Reviews: 11 reviews

Write a review and share your thoughts with other Jeepers.



Skyjacker 4" Suspension Lift Kit - Reviews

Customer Rating Control arm bushings
Date: Sep 05, 2011
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Ohio)
So I put my Skyjacker lift on my 05 Wrangler X mind you its bone stock with 33 12.50 15 pro comp mud terrains. I had the lift on for 3 months and I understand its only a $500 lift. Well the bushings are rocked. I greased the fittings every week before off-roading and after off-roading just to get the mud and/or dirt water out. After they wore I got bad axel wrap and then the u-joints wore and the u-joints are as old as the lift. Its definatly not a lift for off-roading more like for looks than anything. If you want a quick lift just so you can squeeze on some rubbers go ahead but like anyone who owns a jeep once you go off and get dirty your going to want to go a little further just to see what you can take your jeep through. So with that being said buy or build a longarm if your going to get silly dont waste your money on this. Oh by the way you know this is a common problem with this kit when you call Skyjacker and explain to them why your calling and there like "how long has the lift been on for?" and they go "how offen do you grease the control arm bushings?" After you explain to them that its been on for three months!!! There rude and treat you like your retarded and dont know what your talking about but thats ok. Just dont buy there sh*t!! Easy as that.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Great bang for buck
Date: Dec 23, 2009
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Omaha, NE)
The Skyjacker lift has been hammered pretty hard here. Come on folks, if you want $1500 lift performance at a $500 price, it just doesn't exist. For a person going to 4" on a budget, this is a fine lift. The ride is good on the street, and it allows for good flex off road. I am happy with this lift so far, and have had minimal sagging over 6 months. My alignment has held fine with moderate wheeling, but it was absolutely necessary after installation. If you plan to wheel hard with this lift each weekend, look elsewhere. If you want a good lift at a good price to wheel once in awhile like many of us do, shop here.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating SkyJacker a waste of money
Date: Nov 17, 2009
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Illinois)
My Jeep already had the 4" Skyjacker on it when I bought it. I have already replaced the shocks trying to fix the ride, but fear its the springs sagging.

Again the control arms in mine are loose & worn, and the jeep will actually pull a wheel in the air if you take off hard in a turn! Plus all the grease zerks are pressed in, so when they no longer take grease I had to rip them out and drill & tap them for threaded ones.

This kit is junk...STAY AWAY!
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating 2004 Grand rides worse than '80 CJ
Date: May 08, 2009
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Portland, OR)
I didn't buy the 4" lift I just bought shocks. Wooops my bad I didn't realize the company (Skyjacker) would send me four bad shocks and a reciept that says "Jesus is lord" and "Jesus Rocks". The problem is Jesus would have sent me four good shocks, and not given me the two week run-around on trying to return the bad ones. They have told me to send them and they may replace them but I wont know for another two weeks and I have to pay $50 to ship them back. Do your self a favor and buy billstiens that are chrome plated with reserviors and a computer to adjust them, I have spent about the same amount they wouldv'e cost on my blown from the factory skyjackers. DO NOT BUY SKYJACKER procomps are made in the same factory and will have a no-hassle return.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Sag
Date: Jan 13, 2009
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Houston,TX)
This is highly overated kit. It is a starter kit at best. Rear coils have sagged about 1.5" in 10.5 months. It is coming out ASAP. If this is all you can afford it's better than stock but not much.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating P.O.S.
Date: Nov 02, 2008
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Boston, MA)
This lift should be illegal. The control arms suck. The shocks blow. The bushings squeek and wear fast. It is capable but it is just a bad lift in general.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Stability problems and sags on CJ
Date: Aug 14, 2007
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Los Angeles)
Been running a Rancho 2.5" on my CJ5 for 10 years. Decided to go to Skyjacker 4" to clear new 33's. After installation front only gained 0.5", rear gained 1.5". First road / trail trip totaling 230 miles and it has sagged 2.5" in rear since installation. Less stable on road than old Rancho setup (using same shocks too). Don't like it, don't have confidence in product. Will try for refund. Wish Rancho made a 4" CJ kit.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Didn't Expect Much...
Date: Aug 17, 2006
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Corvallis, OR)
I got the Skyjacker 4" lift when I first started getting into off-roading and looking back I didn't research enough. The lift is incomplete, and the staff at Skyjacker told me that because of the transfer case drop kit, that I would not have to get a Slip Yoke Eliminator Kit or CV rear driveshaft. They were WRONG and I was too inexperienced to know any better. After only about 4 mounths the u-joints in my rear driveshaft had been destroyed and they actually blew apoart on my way to the shop, and due to the fact that I was on the highway it also tore apart my muffler and severly damaged my transfercase. In the end the lift has performed just OK, it seemed like a huge increase of offroad ability at first but then as I got more into the off-roading world I realized how much the kit was licking. I realize that I should have done more research and got a second opinion about the SYE kit, but the fact that the people at Skyjacker asured me that I would not have to make any driveline modifications says something about there custmoer service and honesty. I would not recoment this kit.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Should've Got a Different One
Date: Jul 12, 2006
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Farmington, NM)
I've had my lift for about two years now. I've done moderate trail driving, mostly city. I've had to replace control arm bushings twice. Quick disconnects make noise on bumps. Control arms won't seem to stay tight enough. Skyjacker no help. Based on performance and customer service, I will never buy another Skyjacker product.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating its garbage
Date: May 06, 2005
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (ontario, canada)
i wanted a kit that would be a good starter to lifting my rig... i got a 'poser' lift, makes the jeep look good and can fit bigger tires, performs like crap! it hasnt even been 1 year and 3 hydro shocks are rusted right out and blown, skyjacker forgot all my stickers, the ride is extremely ruff on the highway, the disconnects were not drilled properly, and the zirc fittings on the lower control arms are extremely hard to get at (this may be do to the idiots that installed the kit...but probably not)... i highly recomend a different kit... anything has got to be better than this kit
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.
 
Customer Rating Great Beginners Lift
Date: Sep 21, 2004
Reviewer: A JeepReviews.com User from (Chapel Hill, NC)
This was the first lift I put on my TJ. It honestly did a good job on and offroad. After the initial break in period, it settled to 3.5". I wouldn't use the front trac bar bracket mine rusted and broke. Do yourself a favor and get a real adjustable trac bar like the RE1610. The only other thing to watch is your lower control arm brackets. The poly bushings at each end of the lower control arms can tear the brackets off.
 
This review is the subjective opinion of a JeepReviews user and not of JeepReviews.com.